Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Climb the most isolated mountain in the world!

After their disastrous climb in The Edge, Ethan, Alessia and Peak are looking for some adventure that is a bit safer. Ethan is now Alessia's bodyguard, appointed by her mother, who is now the ambassador to Myanmar. When they learn about Hkakbo Razi, an alpine mountain on the border with China, they are intrigued, especially since it's never been accurately measured. It seems like an uncomplicated journey, so they take off, but soon run into trouble. They have a porter, Lwin, and his elephant, but both of them are unreliable and a little bit dangerous. When Alessia has to spend some time in a village fighting malaria, the group runs into Nick Freestone, a botanist who is collecting samples. In exchange for the climbers' help in obtaining samples from trees, he offers to take them to the mountain. They let Lwin go, but he's not happy, and soon the military is on the group's tail, looking for Lwin, who had killed his girlfriend with a sling shot and stolen the elephant. They manage to pay them off and get on their way. Freestone visits a friend who is a trader, and this friend take Peak to visit a high powered, somewhat shady, but ultimately decent businessman, Chin. He was also a mountain climber, and offers them a new battery for their satellite phone and help if they run into an emergency. There are no shortage of challenges on the trail-- sabotaged bridges, a reappearance of Lwin, but also some unexpected help from old friends. When they reach the mountain after their difficulties, there is still plenty to overcome, even when Peak's father makes a surprise appearance. Will all of them survive what turns out to be a more treacherous climb than is expected?

Good Points
I don't have any desire to ever climb a mountain (or travel in space!), and books like these are part of the reason why! Smith has so many fantastic, sometimes gross details of how hard an experience this would be! From being eaten alive by bugs in the rain forest to having to eat bugs and the occasional roasted python, Ascent is a vivid description of parts of the world students will probably never travel. I have to say that I side with Peak-- I'd still be wearing long nylon pants hoping that it keeps me from getting even more bug bites.

Peak's struggles with his past, especially letting another climber pass him in Peak and the precarious relationship he has with his father, add a layer of emotional depth that will appeal to slightly older readers. His sweet off-and-on romance with Alessia, as well as their support of one another through difficult times, is also a nice touch.

The different groups that the climbers run into are interesting as well, from corrupt Burmese soldiers who take bribes as a matter of course to Chin, whose help ends up being invaluable, to old friends from the past who show up for mysterious reasons. In some ways, it's unlikely that Peak would run into so many of them, but some, like the father of one of the PEACE climb members who died, add a nice sense of closure and make for a very rich story.

The first Peak Marcello adventure, Peak, came out in 2007 and has been a huge hit every year with my readers. I'm going to need to buy yet another copy because it is worn out. With this third book, Peak's adventures have become a series that readers who love Gilman's The Devil's Breath and Pam Wither's books about extreme sports will go through at a pace fast enough to outrun an avalanche!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Changing Faces: Happy Halloween!
It’s Halloween and all the different creatures have come out...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Itsy Bitsy School Bus
A fun and playful back-to-school twist on the popular nursery...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Spy Little Hearts
Perfect for Valentine's Day or any day--search-and-find fun from bestselling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Spy Little Bunnies
This bestselling board book now has a shiny new holographic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Peep, Peep, I Love You
An adorable lift-the-flap springtime and Easter story, full of sweet...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lift the Flap: Look Who's Mooing!
What sounds do a cow, chicken, and more farm animals...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Archive of Magic: Explore the Film Wizardry of Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald
Newt, Tina, Queenie, and Jacob, the beloved heroes of Fantastic...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Magical Adventure Colouring Book
Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Magical Advent ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chicken Talk
The chickens on the farm have a message for their...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sea Bear: A Journey for Survival
Lindsay Moore’s remarkable and beautifully illustrated picture book follows a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré
Follow la vida y legado of Pura Belpré, the first...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Remarkably You
New York Times bestselling author Pat Zietlow Miller celebrates individuality...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Our Little Love Bug! (Heart-felt Books)
You're the precious gift we dreamed of. You...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bird Watch
From the author of the acclaimed Tap the Magic Tree!...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What About Harry?
From New York Times bestselling illustrator Derek Anderson comes the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roary the Lion Roars Too Loud (Wee Beasties)
Help little ones learn how to use their inside voices...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Light of Asteria: Kailmeyra's Last Hope
 
5.0
"Everyone should pick up a copy of this novel, and read it, then poke Elizabeth to write and get the..."
Hugo Read This!
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jim Colbert Swarrow's vivid imagery in this book is disturbingly enticing. The suspense makes it a difficult..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Lia Rachel lives on The Property with her mom, who housekeeps for the owner, Ms. Moore, a..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by stickman I happened to pick up a copy of this book in a garage sale and..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Erica The Siren Kiera Cass Release Date: July 9, 2009 Pages: 276 Rating: 5 stars "You must..."
Merit The Greyhound: The Racing Years
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Cindy I loved this book. At times I wished I could scoop Merit up into my..."
Merit The Greyhound: The Racing Years
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tracy This story was just fantastic.  It was very well written and kept me engaged the entire..."
Merit The Greyhound: The Racing Years
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Shannon I loved this clever book. It is told through the eyes of Merit the Greyhound from..."
Silver Shoes
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by TheBookworm Silver Shoes By Paul Miles Schneider Pub. Date: February 2009 3.5 out of 5 stars PG..."
In The Nick of Time
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Emmy This is the story of Andy, a 13-year-old boy who, after the death of his quirky,..."
In The Nick of Time
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by KD In the Nick of Time, by J Lee Graham is one of the best books I've..."
In The Nick of Time
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by AWFoster In the Nick of Time by J. Lee Graham is a very good read. I enjoyed..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Max Fifteen-year-old Madeline Hickman has a sister, Barbara, who's getting married. Barbara is also a heavy..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by J. Mitchell Peace I Ask of Thee, Oh River is the story of a troubled girl, Tiffin..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jamie The author was doing a book signing at the local library that I just happened to..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Emily I'm a huge fan of Twilight. I loved the book and movie. It was very romantic...."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Oscar I have assigned Summer Job as required reading to my seventh graders. It definitely gets them..."
 
4.0
"Set in 1965, Mr. Touchdown is a story about segregation and integration, but also about friendship and courage. Eddie Russell,..."
Amber
 
5.0
"Amber Lee is almost ten years old. She lives with her mother and the two of them have been moving..."
Dragons for Kris
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Elaine Pietsch Dragons for Kris is a great book for all young readers, but especially for boys...."