Review Detail

 
The Waking Land Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

wonderful

“The Waking Land” is an enthralling YA fantasy that follows Elanna Valtai. The prologue shows us Elanna’s nightmares over the life-changing event that altered the course of her life. Elanna was only 5 years old when the Ereni king came to her house and attacked her family, holding a gun to her head and threatening her parents. He took her captive and treated her somewhat like a daughter, indoctrinating her into the Ereni way of life. Elanna is Caerisian and the other young courtiers won’t let her forget it. Caerisians are seen as backwards, ignorant, and pagan. Caeris and Eren used to be the same land but the people were divided long ago, and after a bloody war, Eren captured Caeris and exploited its riches. Caeris was ruled by three- the mountain lords, the elected king, and the steward of the land with a balance of power and strong respect/reverence for nature.

Magic has been outlawed across the empire- not just in Eren/Caeris, and magicians are tortured and killed. Elanna not only tries to hide that she is from Caeris but also that she carries magic. She desperately wants to fit in, so much so that it appears she may have Stockholm Syndrome, believing all the lies that have been fed to her over the last fourteen years and hating Caeris, her family, and her people. Early in the book, the king who had taken her captive is poisoned and dies, leaving her not only uncertain about her future but a victim of the king’s daughter and new queen Loyce, who has always hated her, and her sadistic lover, Denis. Loyce and Denis accuse Elanna of murder and witchcraft (although they do not know that she has any power). Luckily, some of her father’s people have come to save her and escort her away to Caeris. Elanna resists them at every step, seeking any other option, as she has been raised to hate Caeris. We slowly watch her transform to understand the lies that have been told to her and appreciate the truth of the events that led to her capture.

Elanna also begins to understand that her magic is unique and special, tying her to the land as the steward (a position currently held by her father) also called the Caveadear. The story begins to take some twists and turns as we learn more about why her family was threatened and she taken captive when she was five years old, as well as the history of Eren, Caeris, and the powers at play in the laws and nature. This is not a short book and the pace is surprisingly perfect with how we watch Elanna grow and learn. The content seems to fit a whole trilogy of books, and I liked that it was all in one novel rather than divided as has been the trends these days. It does take longer to read than others, but I absolutely enjoyed every minute of it- the explanations and content were really right on target.

The romance is also really strong; although there is an instant attraction, we see the relationship grow and develop, and I really enjoyed the couple who emerges. While on this topic, I would mention that there is explicit sex (one scene) in the book. That, along with the violence and bloodshed of war, would make this book more appropriate for older young adult or new adult readers. There is emotional and physical torture as well as violent deaths that may not be appropriate for younger readers.

There are several really fantastically developed and strong characters, including some really great stand-out females, like Elanna, Victoire (who I wish we got to hear even more about), and Rhia. This is a really fantastic book, and I really hope to see more in this series, as I am not yet ready to let these characters go. Perfect for fans of “The Girl of Fire and Thorns” series, this was an engaging and thought-provoking coming-of-age story set in a beautifully-developed fantasy world. I look forward to seeing more from this talented author!

Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kai's summer changes when she gets a summer internship at...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
Zoe is just your average teenage girl expecting another average,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Frango & Chicken
Some things seem impossible, but with the right attitude and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby Lane
Ruby is overexcited again, and her brain is spinning creative...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Ghost
A gripping psychological thriller. Inspired by a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
From the critically acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
Texas: 1931. It’s the height of the Great Depression, and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voyage of the Dogs
SOS. Ship damaged. Human crew missing. We are...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Flying in a Cage
A song tugs inside me, like a string pulling...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
The energetic and zany duo Shorty and Clem are back,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
If you want to keep kids happily busy for hours...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Strange New World
Dahlia 16's life is a lie. The city of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Like Never And Always
Liv Burnham thinks nobody knows Morgan Frost like she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
Mystical relics. Powerful vampires. Strange allies. It's hell being...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)
After conquering the mountains in Afghanistan, Peak Marcello goes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Hollywood Hustle (Son of the Mob #2)
 
3.3
" Hollywood Hustle is a huge DISAPPOINTMENT. DON'T READ THIS BOOK. IT'S SUCH A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. DON'T EVEN BOTHER READING..."
Pop
 
4.0
"Marcus Jordon just moved from Kansas to upstate New York--Kennesaw, NY to be exact. A JV football star at..."
Jake, Reinvented
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by melissa this book truly embodies a remake. it tells the story of the great gatsby in a..."
Hollywood Hustle (Son of the Mob #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by kathy Although i didn't get the chance to read the first book i still thought that this..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Julie This book was a very fun read. it was funny and different. It was really realistic..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kyra Wallace Wallace is the star of his school. After scoring the winning touchdown in the championship,..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by PJR "no More Dead Dogs" is a light-hearted book about a middle school student who breaks tradition..."
Hollywood Hustle (Son of the Mob #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by undercover reader Vince Luca is finally going to practically be in heaven or so he thinks. Getting..."
Hollywood Hustle (Son of the Mob #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Noah Potash Vince is a film student in California, has a beautiful..."
Hollywood Hustle (Son of the Mob #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jenna A good follow-up to the first Son of the Mob book. Vince is off at college..."
Hollywood Hustle (Son of the Mob #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by abscae I have to admit, I was a little disappointed in this book. After the first one,..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jakle The Life thats what they call it when youre a mobster. But even for..."
Hollywood Hustle (Son of the Mob #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by linda At first Vince goes off to college happy to get away from his father's mob. His..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by timikay son of the mob, a boy who is givine everything, a prince, someone who got what..."
Jake, Reinvented
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Reading Teacher I teach The Great Gatsby to college students taking an introduction to literature course and..."
Jake, Reinvented
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by AThomson Jake, Reinvented has the potential to be a great bridge to The Great Gatsby. Like all..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by linda This was a hilarious book with an original and pretty great plot. Vince is trying to..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Keshia In Gordon Korman's "Son of the Mob" 17 year old Vince Luca has to deal with..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by two sided freek Despite this book's narration, which is from a boy, which in alot of cases..."