Review Detail

 
The Waking Land Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

wonderful

“The Waking Land” is an enthralling YA fantasy that follows Elanna Valtai. The prologue shows us Elanna’s nightmares over the life-changing event that altered the course of her life. Elanna was only 5 years old when the Ereni king came to her house and attacked her family, holding a gun to her head and threatening her parents. He took her captive and treated her somewhat like a daughter, indoctrinating her into the Ereni way of life. Elanna is Caerisian and the other young courtiers won’t let her forget it. Caerisians are seen as backwards, ignorant, and pagan. Caeris and Eren used to be the same land but the people were divided long ago, and after a bloody war, Eren captured Caeris and exploited its riches. Caeris was ruled by three- the mountain lords, the elected king, and the steward of the land with a balance of power and strong respect/reverence for nature.

Magic has been outlawed across the empire- not just in Eren/Caeris, and magicians are tortured and killed. Elanna not only tries to hide that she is from Caeris but also that she carries magic. She desperately wants to fit in, so much so that it appears she may have Stockholm Syndrome, believing all the lies that have been fed to her over the last fourteen years and hating Caeris, her family, and her people. Early in the book, the king who had taken her captive is poisoned and dies, leaving her not only uncertain about her future but a victim of the king’s daughter and new queen Loyce, who has always hated her, and her sadistic lover, Denis. Loyce and Denis accuse Elanna of murder and witchcraft (although they do not know that she has any power). Luckily, some of her father’s people have come to save her and escort her away to Caeris. Elanna resists them at every step, seeking any other option, as she has been raised to hate Caeris. We slowly watch her transform to understand the lies that have been told to her and appreciate the truth of the events that led to her capture.

Elanna also begins to understand that her magic is unique and special, tying her to the land as the steward (a position currently held by her father) also called the Caveadear. The story begins to take some twists and turns as we learn more about why her family was threatened and she taken captive when she was five years old, as well as the history of Eren, Caeris, and the powers at play in the laws and nature. This is not a short book and the pace is surprisingly perfect with how we watch Elanna grow and learn. The content seems to fit a whole trilogy of books, and I liked that it was all in one novel rather than divided as has been the trends these days. It does take longer to read than others, but I absolutely enjoyed every minute of it- the explanations and content were really right on target.

The romance is also really strong; although there is an instant attraction, we see the relationship grow and develop, and I really enjoyed the couple who emerges. While on this topic, I would mention that there is explicit sex (one scene) in the book. That, along with the violence and bloodshed of war, would make this book more appropriate for older young adult or new adult readers. There is emotional and physical torture as well as violent deaths that may not be appropriate for younger readers.

There are several really fantastically developed and strong characters, including some really great stand-out females, like Elanna, Victoire (who I wish we got to hear even more about), and Rhia. This is a really fantastic book, and I really hope to see more in this series, as I am not yet ready to let these characters go. Perfect for fans of “The Girl of Fire and Thorns” series, this was an engaging and thought-provoking coming-of-age story set in a beautifully-developed fantasy world. I look forward to seeing more from this talented author!

Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Leading Edge of Now
Just when Grace is beginning to get used to...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
9 FROM NINE WORLDS
The Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard trilogy...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
I Do Not Trust You
Memphis "M" Engle is stubborn to a fault, graced...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
RIPPED- a Jack the Ripper Time-Travel Thriller
When a museum trip turns funky, Katie Lennox is...
 
5.0
 
4.8 (5)
Queens (The Wielders of Arantha Book 2)
A cosmic game of chess is underway, and the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pride
Pride and Prejudice gets remixed in this smart, funny,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Story of B
The Story of B combines Daniel Quinn's provocative and visionary...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Tales: Beauty and the Beast: A Modern Retelling
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Tales: The Snow Queen: A Graphic Novel
Follow Gerda on an adventure to find her friend Kay,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
DARK TALES: THE CALL OF CTHULHU: A Graphic Novel
In this Dark Tale, dead Cthulhu waits dreaming... ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Tales: The Hound of the Baskervilles: A Graphic Novel
Eliminate the impossible, and whatever remains, however improbable, must be...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
NOTES FROM MY CAPTIVITY
Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
#Murdertrending
@doctorfusionbebop: Some 17 y. o. chick named Dee Guerrera was...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unstoppable Moses
Moses and his cousin Charlie were best friends, wisecracking pranksters,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
51HTvQF3B2L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Alien meets Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds in this thrilling...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Ashes of Roses
 
4.3
"My opinion on the book is it was exciting all the way through the book. There was not a dull..."
 
N/A
"When Zachary Beaver Came To Town is a good book and has good characters. This story is about a kid..."
 
3.0
"Toby and Cal best friends. Nothing exciting never happens in Antler Texas, But this time the fattest boy in the..."
Stranger with My Face
 
4.7
"I am a big fan of Lois Duncan and I think this book is great and I will be looking..."
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy
 
5.0
"his book really made me think about life and people. I enjoyed reading it very much. I just..."
The Ruby in the Smoke (Sally Lockhart #1)
 
3.0
"I thought that this book had a great plot, with the idea of some excellent characters. But the writing style..."
Deenie
 
4.3
"It amazing this is a must read for teen girls everywhere"
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy
 
3.3
"All Turner Ernest Buckminster wants to do is light out for the territories. It’s his one hope for a new..."
145th Street: Short Stories
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jolie I recommend Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter because Pollyanna is a character who always looks on..."
145th Street: Short Stories
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jolie I recommend Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter because Pollyanna is a character who always looks on..."
As Long as We Both Shall Live (April Lancaster #1-2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Arian hey!OMG this is the best book ever.i love this book, but then agian who can't love..."
The End of Forever: Two Novels (Erin Bennett #1-2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Sandra S. This is the story between two sisters, Erin and Amy, and the bond sisters have..."
The End of Forever: Two Novels (Erin Bennett #1-2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Daisy A story about Erin Bennet, older sister to Amy Bennet. Amy and Erin are nothing alike...."
A Rose for Melinda
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Crystal To start off I LOVED this book!!!!! It was amazing in so many different ways! Soon..."
Killing Mr. Griffin
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by f00lishchick this book was pretty good! i thought it was going to be a boring book because..."
Motown and Didi
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by peacechik motown and didi showed me that even in the worst of times theres still a possibility..."
145th Street: Short Stories
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by vicky I really liked this book. It showed how life could be different in so many ways..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by AB Soldier's Heart was a very good book on what a soldier might have thought during the..."
Stranger with My Face
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Chaellee While alot of this novel can be figured out from the beginning, it's still rather..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by ReggieWrites Three words: I LOVE TOBY. She is my idol. I admire her strong-willed, sarcastic-snapping, down-to-earth self...."