Review Detail

 
Invisible Ghosts Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Beautiful story about growing up and letting go

INVISIBLE GHOSTS was not what a book that I was expecting but one that I quite enjoyed. Rose has always blamed herself for her brothers' death, so spending the afternoons with him is no sacrifice for her. When their childhood friend, Jamie moves back to town Rose realizes just how much she’s missed out on, but leaving her brother behind is not an option.

I have never read a Robyn book but I absolutely get the hype after reading this one. INVISIBLE GHOSTS is a contemporary story mixed with some paranormal aspects and filled to the brim with geeky references. I loved Rose. She was funny and smart, but she has never dealt with the pain of losing her brother. And throughout the book, we see how she continues to choose the safety of her bubble over the unknown. Rose is a character that is instantly likable, and one that you root for. And what I love about this book is that its so character driven and you focus on her journey of holding on to the past or moving forward into uncharted waters.

Another thing I loved was the way it focused on grief and the part it plays in Roses life. Rose has always blamed herself for her brothers' death and has this fear of letting him go. She has also felt like she has to fill the space that he left. These scenes between Rose and her parents or Rose and Logan were really beautiful. A lot of them had me in tears. The idea of grief getting in the way of living a full life was so beautiful and the way that Rose has to choose was so sad but it was such an amazing moment. This story really is about love and hope and how to move forward after someone you love dies. Granted not everyone sees their loved ones in ghost form but I loved that aspect of this book as well.

Overall I thought this book was amazing. It was funny and had some really deep moments that brought tears to my eyes. This is the first Robyn Schneider book I’ve read but it will not be my last. And I highly recommend this one if you like contemporary and paranormal.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pirate Queen: The Legend of Grace O'Malley
A captivating retelling of the story of Grace O’Malley, the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Call It a Doomsday
There are many ways the world could end. A fire....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The moment I declared the last word, I felt a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

East
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Arianna This was an awsome book! When I first read about it I though, "eh, it..."
A Crooked Kind of Perfect
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Randi I did not read anything on this book prior to adding it to my list. I..."
A Crooked Kind of Perfect
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by greekzaz I love the book! :) It is an awsome book. I love how Zoe dreams of..."
Once Upon a Marigold
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Chaellee So cute!Beautiful love letters, an outcast princess and a charming lad raised by a troll-what could..."
The Beautiful Stories of Life: Six Greek Myths, Retold
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede Stories of Persephone and how her life and death affect our earth every year and Pandora..."
Dreadful Sorry (Time Travel Mystery #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jenna Dreadful Sorry is the best book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   A girl finds out that she is someho9w connected..."
Each Little Bird That Sings
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jenna Each Little Bird That Sings is a heartwarming story about a girl and her cousin and..."
Once Upon a Marigold
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Kyra So I picked this book up at the Scholastic Warehouse. It stood out to me because..."
A Crooked Kind of Perfect
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Chantele Ten year-old Zoe, is a girl who dreams of owning a piano. She also dreams of..."
Dreadful Sorry (Time Travel Mystery #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tori Phillips What an outstanding idea Reiss had in mind! Reincarnation has never been thought of like..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede Stellaluna is a baby fruit bat who, during a fight between an owl and her mother,..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede This book is funny, educational, and I like the way she writes the whole book in..."
Each Little Bird That Sings
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by tennisplayer i just reread the Each Little Bird that Sings for the second time and I loved..."
 
5.0
"This is the fourth book of the "Mr. and Mrs. Green" beginning reader chapter book series, and it is a..."
Rabbit & Squirrel: A Tale of War & Peas
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Julie M. Prince Rabbit & Squirrel are neighbors who never talk. They live in the same patch..."
Each Little Bird That Sings
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jo This is a beautifully written story about a young girl who lives with her family in..."
East
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jennifer This book, East, is one of the best books ever made. It also has a movie..."
A Crooked Kind of Perfect
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by jocelyn Zoe has big dreams. She wants to learn to play the piano, to play concerts at..."
East
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi Rose's mother Eugenia is painfully superstitious in all things, but nowhere does this show as clearly..."
Dreadful Sorry (Time Travel Mystery #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by readerCT This book was captivating. The story is so climatic. Every line Kathryn Reiss uses seems to..."