Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Interesting, but many issues

I’m in two minds about this novella. While there was a part of me that was intrigued by the general premise, there were still too many moments of confusion and poor characterisation for me to fully immerse myself in the story.

One of my issues is the world building, or lack thereof. The novel starts after the conclusion of a major battle, with Tashi, the protagonist, and their best friend on the run. We don’t actually discover what happened until further in the novel, which is not usually an issue for me, but combined with the inclusion – but no explanation – of magical elements, I found myself confused for a majority of the book. The reader is not even told why the two cultures – the Thim and the Myeik – were even at war in the first place.

However, I did enjoy the general idea behind the magical system – that certain people can be inhibitors which means that they are bonded for life to the soul of an animal. But when that animal dies, the human is left in a comatose state until they succumb to starvation. Unfortunately, the execution of this idea wasn’t the best, and the world building altered frequently, to the point where I couldn’t follow along without re-reading pages.

Like the world building, the plot was puzzling. Nothing much happened for a good portion of the novella, and then we discover the central plot point at the very end. I’m not saying that’s necessarily a bad thing, but as nothing really happens, my attention span was sidetracked.

I was quite annoyed by the characters, especially Tashi. While I am so so so hyped beyond words that Tashi is genderfluid, they were incredibly indecisive. They were incapable of making any decisions, and when they finally did, they changed their mind a minute later. It got quite annoying, especially in a book that is only 180 pages long. Also, I am seeing an alarming rise of YA “spies” who are just terrible spies. Tashi sneaks out to see their bonded tiger – despite being in the middle of a monastery filled with invaders – they pull a prank on a high-ranking member of the enemy’s army, and they forget to look for clues in the enemy commander’s room while the commander is away, until reminded by a friend. Just … come on.

I can’t comment on whether the explanation of the gender fluidity was done well as I am not gender fluid myself, but the author did talk about Tashi’s identity frequently, and how angry they were at being forced to change their image while in hiding. There are a few instances of misgendering, but it is always called out and corrected. What I did love about this novella is how normal sexuality and identity is viewed – there’s no shaming or judgement from other characters. They simply accept Tashi for who they are.

However, I did have an issue with the romance, and that’s probably my main issue with the novella. The love triangle felt quite unnecessary, and basically came out of nowhere. Tashi did state that they were in love with their best friend, Pharro, but as soon as they met Xian, they fell in lust with the enemy commander. I did enjoy Xian’s character though – how he was both sadistic, but had moments of vulnerability – and I can see how Tashi would be drawn to him, but there were also many moments where I just found their scenes cringy. I also didn’t understand how Tashi could be so in love with Pharro, when the reader is never really shown their relationship, aside from Tashi commenting on their crush. Just because characters are childhood friends doesn’t mean an author can get away with not properly developing a romance between them.

I think the issues I found with the novel could have been fixed if the book were longer. Writing a novella-length fantasy with complex cultures, politics, and magical systems doesn’t work too well with just 180 pages. There’s either too much info dumping or lack of proper explaining for the reader to fully engross themselves in the story. Will I be reading the next novella in the series? I think I might. The novella ended on a little cliffhanger, and I do want to know what happens next.

Good Points
Check out other reviews on my blog: thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Wild Queen: The Days and Nights of Mary Queen of Scots
 
3.7
SamSam
"The Wild Queen is another Carolyn Meyer historical fiction. I have read a few of her other Young Royal books..."
Walking with Dinosaurs: A Reusable Sticker Book
 
5.0
"A fun addition to any dinosaur lovers book collection. This book, full of reusable stickers, is based on the..."
Enchanted
 
4.3
"there's a sequel coming, with Sunday's sister, Saturday!"
The Twice Lost (The Lost Voices Trilogy #3)
 
4.7
"The story of a brave and sweet mermaid, Luce, who wants to change the ways of her fellow mermaids from..."
Waking Storms (The Lost Voices Trilogy #2)
 
4.3
" Finally, a sequel that didn't disappoint! I've been having some serious issues with sequels lately, so I'm..."
Enchanted
 
5.0
"Enchanted is, like its namesake, enchanted. In the beginning, I hadn't really known what to expect from Enchanted. I..."
Illuminate (Gilded Wings #1)
 
4.0
"I, like many others, took the time to read some of the reviews posted by other readers. Even though the..."
The Wicked and the Just
 
4.0
"I only had a vague idea of what this book was about and I wanted it that way. This book..."
Tyger Tyger (Goblin Wars #1)
 
4.0
"I've grown to love books that are fairy tale like. Anything passed down from mythology has me instantly hooked! This..."
Illuminate (Gilded Wings #1)
 
3.0
"Haven Terra is the stereotypical high school girl who is constantly overlooked. In fact, everything about her is ordinary—other..."
Blind Spot
 
1.0
"I've been tricked! Bamboozled! Played! *goes to look up other synonyms for tricked* Cheated! Conned! Deceived! Duped! Flimflammed (that's my..."
Tyger Tyger (Goblin Wars #1)
 
5.0
"What I loved most about this story was the way each character is so clearly different from one another. This..."
Illuminate (Gilded Wings #1)
 
4.7
"Aaaand, huge sigh of relief/accomplishment. Illuminate is one hefty book and I was really afraid to start it because I..."
Enchanted
 
5.0
"I adored this book. It's no secret that I love fairy tales. But do you know how few retellings..."
Enchanted
 
4.7
"I have read quite a few fairy-tale re-tellings this year and it was a very pleasant experience.All of them were..."
Hound Dog True
 
5.0
"I truly wish that I had been able to read Hound Dog True as a child. Linda Urban's writing is..."
Enchanted
 
4.7
"I do love my fairy-tale stories and when I come across a retelling of not one fairy-tale, but a few..."
Populazzi
 
3.7
"Likely, you have discerned that there are in fact myriad ways in which this little scheme could go south, and..."
The Wicked and the Just
 
4.3
" The first thing that struck me about this book was what a complete brat Cecily is. I guess this..."
Ladies in Waiting
 
3.0
"Ladies in Waiting is set during the reign of Charles II. What the book has taught me about history is..."