Review Detail

 
Devils Unto Dust Featured
Young Adult Fiction
(Updated: April 22, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Devils Unto Dust

In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy 'Willie's' family, but a mysterious plague turns people into 'shakes' or zombie-like creatures. Her town Glory, Texas is almost a ghost town. A wall is around the city, keeping the shakes out. After Willie's father robs a shake hunter, she sets out to find him. She hires two hunters and leaves Glory, but finds that the desert holds more dangers than the shakes.

What worked: This novel kept me on the edge of my seat! Right at the start, I was captivated by Willie and her small Texas town. Willie comes across as hard and tough, but it's her love of family that keeps her going. After the death of her mother, she's the maternal presence in her sibling's life. Tough as nails, deep down Willie's love of her family keeps her going. I really liked Willie and how she'll do just about anything for her family in order to survive.

The starkness of the Texas desert, along with the almost hopelessness of not only the terrain, but the survivors is shown in vivid details. The whole premise of an infectious disease causing people and animals to kill and devour others is horrific. The zombie premise has been before, but I really liked the True Grit feeling going on in this book. And I usually don't like westerns! The battered down towns that Willie and her guides travel down are filled with danger and other encounters.

This novel hints at possible romances, but the stakes are high for Willie. She must find her dead-beat father to protect her younger siblings from the wrath of those who demand the stolen money. Readers get glimpses of the humanity that Willie still clings to even at a terrible reveal later in the book.

Nail-biting alternative history meets The Walking Dead, this novel will haunt readers to the very end.

Good Points
1. True Grit meets The Walking Dead
2. Willie is strong, courageous, and a total badass heroine
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
4.0
"This kept me on the edge of my seat for the whole 4 hours it took me to read it......"
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
3.0
"I must say, this was a big imporvement from Eagle Strike. I really didn't know what was going to happen..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alex W. Alex Rider the 14 year old spy is back. He is on a..."
Necropolis (The Gatekeepers #4)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Julie H. This series is perhaps a bit more suitable to a slightly older tween/teen than Horowitz's..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tyler Skeleton Key book rocks. it is the thrid book in the alex rider seris and..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi I didn't know what to expect of this book when I began, but I must say,..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi Skeleton key was exciting, book-round. Not that a book is round. But I was pleased to..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Allyssa Not to confuse this book with a (different) movie or band. Alex Rider is back in..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Emma L This book is almost ready to be made into a movie. It is action-packed and..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by joanne Out of all the Alex Rider books, I liked Scorpia the best. The excitement and power..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Arly I love this book. Alex has been unfairly treated by MI6. You can really identify with..."