Review Detail

 
Brightly Burning Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Brightly Burning

Seventeen-year-old Stella Ainsley wants to leave the poverty of her spaceship behind. So she applies for a governess job on another ship. When she's hired, she loves the luxury of the ship Rochester and is drawn to the nineteen-year-old captain Hugo. But there's secrets on board this ship. Dark ones. Ones that might involve Hugo himself.

What worked: Omg, I totally LOVED this retelling of Jane Eyre set in outer space. Stella is one of many orphans living on the Stalwart that is rumored to be on it's last legs. The real story though starts once she's on the Rochester. There's hints of a paranormal presence on board, but the reality is much worse. The mystery adds tension and readers will be glued to their seats, wondering what the dark secret is.

The chemistry between the brooding Hugo and Stella doesn't ignite until later on in the book. Stella doesn't quite know what to think of the young captain. It doesn't help that there are rumors of what happened to his parents. Stella finds herself drawn to him though. I found this relationship similar to Jane Eyre and even a little like Wuthering Heights. (Though this one doesn't end as tragically!)

Another plus has to be the world building. Each ship is it's own world. The Rochester is almost a luxury ship. The Liberty has streets with the names of past American presidents. I loved the technology and even the twists on a virus that is created to cull the populations in Outer Space. Rumor has it that Earth is going through another ice age. There's a little The 100 going on in this book too.

Kuddos also for having a very satisfying ending that doesn't leave readers frustrated. A perfect conclusion.

Captivating twist of Jane Eyre in the stars, this book will transport you to the far reaches of space with a timeless romance. Perfect for fans of Beth Revis. This story will not disappoint.

Good Points
1. Engaging retelling of Jane Eyre set in outer space
2. Brooding hero with Gothic feels
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Mend A Story of Divorce
Sophia, the fourteen-year-old author and protagonist, tells the heart-wrenching story...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
Welcome to the Forgotten Realms Endless Quest books, where you...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
Welcome to the Forgotten Realms Endless Quest books, where you...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
Click is the heroic story of a young girl who...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay Sweet
Summer in Sand Lake isn’t complete without a trip to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
The last place on earth Taylor Sorenson wants to be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courageous
Aiden is the son of a fisherman on the south...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II
In the early years of World War II, Josef Stalin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the Plot to Kill Hitler
Adolf Hitler’s Nazi party is gaining strength and becoming more...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
New Kid
Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Watch Hollow
Deep within the enchanted woods in the town of Watch...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Giant Days
Based on the hit graphic-novel series from BOOM! Studios, the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Unteachables
The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tales from the Inner City
Tales from the Inner City is a collection of incredibly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer Army
After Rogan Webber levels up yet again on his favorite...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eventown
The world tilted for Elodee this year, and now it’s...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found