Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
(Updated: February 13, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Powerful and Heartbreaking

You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone was one of the last books I read in 2017 and I couldn't have chosen a better book to wrap up my year with. It's a powerful yet heartbreaking tale between twin sisters at odds with each other, while they face the life-shattering test of Huntington's disease that has already taken over their mother's life.

This book... I don't even know where to begin! It hits all the right chords and I loved every second, as tough as it may have been to read. I also learned so much from it, that's for sure. I had no idea about Huntington's disease, how it slowly begins to erase a person's ability to take care of themselves, and then have to rely on others until they cease to exist. It's such a terrible condition and it makes me wish there could be a way to fight it off completely. To this date, there's no cure.

Our main characters, Adina and Tovah, have grown up knowing they have the big possibility of inheriting the disease, as they have watched their mother succumb to it. They've been terribly affected, but each one has had their own method of dealing. One diving further into her medical studies and Judaism, while the other passionately improving her Viola-playing skills. However, neither can't stand to be near each other, their differences proving more difficult to surpass and for them to really accept what is happening to their family, and what may happen to one of them if not both.

And as a nightmare, one of the sisters tests positive. Imagine the guilt and relief of not testing positive? Imagine the anger and unfairness of now having this degenerative disease? Of being fated to lose herself like how she has watched her mother fall right before her eyes, unlike her sister? Incredibly tough to deal.

As someone who has a sister who almost feels like a twin, I felt so much for Adina and Tovah, and for the hard road ahead. Despite the differences, it's very apparent how scared and vulnerable they feel, of not knowing what to do or how to act, and how much they need each other to keep moving on.

This book really tugged my heartstrings and I must warn it does have some triggering scenes in regard to suicide, as you might expect, but ultimately it is an inspiring and important read with hard themes that I believe the author handles really well.

With that said, I also enjoyed how You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone gives a wider view of Judaism from practicing and non-practicing perspectives. I loved learning more about the culture from Tovah's point of view, while also respecting Adina's choice of not practicing as the religion expects. Both points are interesting takes, which in the end prove that it's okay whichever way we decide to manage our faith.

Final Verdict:

You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone is so much more than a heartbreaking story, though. It's a book about dealing with the unfair curves that life throws at you, while leaning on those closest to you to push through. Yes, there's a bit of romance and first love, but ultimately, it's more about family bonds, and to me, that's what makes it stand out.

Good Points
Sisterhood, First love, Huntington's disease awareness
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen
 
4.0
"Ernestine and her little brother Charleston are trying to bring on the zombie apocalypse. After doing a spell, they believe..."
Return of the Vinetropes
 
5.0
"What a unique and wonderful story told by a gifted writer! What I loved most is that there's something for..."
Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island (Emily Windsnap #7)
 
4.0
"Emily, her family, and her friends are off on a relaxing vacation. Emily promises her friend Shona and her boyfriend..."
The Tale of Angelino Brown
 
4.0
"When Bert discovers the tiny angel named Angelino in his pocket, he doesn't know what to think. Bert takes Angelino..."
The Journey of Little Charlie
 
5.0
"THE JOURNEY OF LITTLE CHARLIE features a boy named Charlie who is forced to grow up quickly. When Charlie's dad..."
Wonder
 
4.5
" Aiming on the younger end of the Middle Grade spectrum, Wonder is the story of a disfigured 5th grader..."
The Nutcracker Mice
 
4.0
"THE NUTCRACKER MICE is a very adorable retelling of the Russian Nutcracker, but from a smaller perspective. Esmeralda the mouse..."
Horizon
 
4.0
"When their plane crash lands, Caleb, Molly, Yoshi, Javi, Anna, Oliver, Kira, and Akiko find themselves stranded in a jungle...."
Tiny Little Rocket
 
5.0
"'Tiny Little Rocket' by Richard Collingridge immerses young readers into a journey through space. Through a front-row seat in the..."
When I Grow Up
 
4.5
"'When I Grow Up' by Tim Minchin, and illustrated by Steve Antony, is a fanciful story about the excitement of..."
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans
 
5.0
"SAMANTHA SPINNER AND THE SUPER SECRET PLANS takes you on a historical adventure as Sam and her brother Nipper search..."
Fairy Mom and Me
 
4.5
"Ella has the coolest mom ever because she's a fairy. Magic and all. The best part? Ella will be a..."
Time Tracers
 
5.0
"Taj is confused when he wakes up to what's supposed to be the first day of summer break, but instead,..."
Better Together (Heartwood Hotel, #3)
 
5.0
"When Mr. Heartwood takes a break, Mona the maid feels like she needs to step up to make sure nothing..."
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."