Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Must Read

Subhi is a refugee. Born in an Australian permanent detention center after his mother and sister fled the violence of a distant homeland, Subhi has only ever known life behind the fences. But his world is far bigger than that—every night, the magical Night Sea from his mother's stories brings him gifts, the faraway whales sing to him, and the birds tell their stories. And as he grows, his imagination threatens to burst beyond the limits of his containment.
The most vivid story of all, however, is the one that arrives one night in the form of Jimmie—a scruffy, impatient girl who appears on the other side of the wire fence and brings with her a notebook written by the mother she lost. Unable to read it herself, she relies on Subhi to unravel her family's love songs and tragedies.
Subhi and Jimmie might both find comfort—and maybe even freedom—as their tales unfold. But not until each has been braver than ever before.

Good Points
Very important topic. Wonderful story.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Summer of Jordi Perez (And the Best Burger in Los Angeles)
 
4.7
"The Summer of Jordi Perez (and the best burger in Los Angeles) was such a great read. I warn you..."
The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distractions)
 
3.0
"YA Contemporary Romance, THE NEW GUY (AND OTHER SENIOR YEAR DISTRACTIONS) will be shortened to "THE NEW GUY" for this..."
Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys)
 
4.7
"Kissing Ted Callahan (and other guys) is as the cover would suggest super cute and swoony but my favorite thing..."
The Reece Malcolm List
 
4.0
"In spite of the fact that this is really not my kind of book, I ended up enjoying The Reece..."
The Reece Malcolm List
 
4.3
"I love this book! I love the humor and the real emotions underneath it. I love how the author managed..."
The Reece Malcolm List
 
4.7
"What I Loved: Reece Malcolm is Devan's Mitchell's mother, and this, along with four other facts, equals the sum total..."