Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Tense, action-packed addition to the Ravenspire series

THE TRAITOR PRINCE is the latest installment in C.J. Redwine’s series of companion novels set in the Ravenspire world, each transforming a classic tale into something new and magical. This time, The False Prince and The Prince and the Pauper tales are combined to inspire the story of Javan, crown prince of Akram. After ten years devoting himself to his studies at a faraway boarding school, he is ready to return home and make his father proud. Before he can do so, an imposter takes his place, which leaves Javan, the true prince, abandoned in Maqbara, a dangerous prison where inmates must fight killer beasts, and each other, in an area. Sajda, enslaved by Maqbara’s warden, might be the only one who can help him…but she’s fighting battles of her own.

With each addition to the Ravenspire world, I am newly stunned by the fresh takes Redwine spins on familiar tales. The story is a breathtaking combination of action, romance, and so much tension that I felt the urge to meditate several times, just to keep my heart rate regular. Though we see little of Akram’s kingdom, as Javan is locked in prison for much of the novel, Redwine never fails to craft a detailed and immerse setting, weaving in broader details of magical creatures and laws, as well as key minor details like the atmosphere of the prison. Readers will find no challenge playing out each scene in their head.

While I thoroughly enjoyed all the main character in this series, Javan and Sajda might be my favorite yet. Their romance, as is often with Redwine’s novels, is a perfect slow burn. Javan and Sajda are both grieving, hurt, and lost in different ways, but they slowly find a source of comfort and understanding in each other. Javan is a heartwarming mixture of kind, soft, and honorable, even as his circumstances worsen and worsen. Sajda is fierce, lonely, elegant, and unbelievably powerful. Together, they make a surprising but stunning team. I particularly appreciate how realistic their romance is, all the way through the end of the story. They never lose their individual identities and complexities, even as they grow closer.

Likewise, the villains are some of the darkest yet. Rahim, the imposter prince, is absolutely chilling, and he has what makes a villain so scary: an understandable motive. The Ravenspire novels are truly an embodiment of the idea that your choices are what define you rather than your circumstances. Though the warden’s origins aren’t as fully explored, as Rahim is the primary antagonist, she is just as compelling and frightening, both abusers of power and authority.

THE TRAITOR PRINCE showcases Redwine’s beloved staples, immense talent, in-depth characterization, and clever world-building. Fans of the Ravenspire books will not be disappointed, and new readers will have no trouble sinking into this fantasy world even without reading the previous companions. I impatiently await the next magical journey.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
 
4.7
"Insightful, engaging, and downright fun! LEGO hits on all the learning styles in this brilliantly interactive science primer. ..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."