Review Detail

 
The Sidekicks Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis

I think the author wrote this book with his tears--and I don't say that to be funny. This book is sad, like really sad.

I'm not quite sure what the author's goal was here--but if it was to make me feel sad, for a person and/or persons that do not exist--mention accomplished.

A group of friends lose the one person that keeps them together--and they wander around trying to figure out both the lost of their friend--but also how they still (if at all, if ever) fit together.

To be fair, the book is written brilliantly, and the characters are awfully realistic.

Their feelings and emotions really come through. This is however, in my opinion, a mood read.

While contemporaries have the tendency to be more serious, this is one of those books you need to be in the mood for--otherwise I think there won't be a true appreciation for what the book has to offer.

Again, the characters are solid, the story moves effortlessly, its just sad, and well--it kind of brought me down--despite the semi-happy ending.

Things to look forward to: Seamless, and realistic point of views. Raw, and gritty emotion.

Things to watch out for: Heart-wrenching sadness. Bring tissues.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Krista My Name is Number 4 was a book I received from LibraryThings Early Reviewers program. It..."