Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Love the premise

Billie McCaffrey is a gender fluid teen who lives in a small Kentucky town. Even though she is the daughter of the town's preacher, she is living life by her own terms. This is to chagrin of both her father and the rest of the town of Otters Holt.
At the beginning of 'Dress Codes for Small Towns' Billie is at a lock-in with her best friends . Billie and her friends ( who she calls them the hexagon) do something that results in major damage to the church. This and the future of the town's fall festival is the main focus of the characters in DCFST.
I went into 'Dress Codes for Small Towns' having heard really great things about it. DCFST does have many original concepts such as a teen who can't quite pin down her sexuality, the dynamics of small town America, and loving parents that are not perfect.

What I Loved:

I found that Stevens has a John Green type writing style. It moves the story along quickly and is easy to read. I love Billy and her diverse set of friends. Her friends all have different personalities and different backgrounds. I also love that a small southern town is represented (something I don't see a lot of in ya literature). One major positive point is that the story stresses that you need to be true to yourself before pleasing anyone else. I love that the teens work together to try to save the town's fall festival. I like that Billie couldn't quit pin down who she was and who she loved.

What Left Me Wanting More:

To keep the comparison to John Green going, I found other similarities between Steven's writing style and John Green's. One element of this similarly is they both include a phrase or nickname that they think is really funny and then they proceed to use it over and over and over in the story. For example Billie calls her friends the hexagon. She constantly uses this term instead of just saying my friends. Another example of this is when Billie and her friend's name their whiteboard Einstein and then proceeded to talk about Einstein constantly. I'm not sure if it's just me, but I find these things annoying and they tend to distract from the flow of the story.

My Final Verdict:

I found 'Dress Codes for Small Towns' to be new and refreshing. The premise is original and has not been overdone in ya literature. I tore though the DCFST quickly. I love the setting and the characters. I can defiantly understand why so many readers love 'Dress Code for Small Towns'.This review was originally posted on The Book return...

Good Points
Easy to read.
Small Southern Town
Unique premise
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Summer of Jordi Perez (And the Best Burger in Los Angeles)
 
4.7
"The Summer of Jordi Perez (and the best burger in Los Angeles) was such a great read. I warn you..."
The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distractions)
 
3.0
"YA Contemporary Romance, THE NEW GUY (AND OTHER SENIOR YEAR DISTRACTIONS) will be shortened to "THE NEW GUY" for this..."
Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys)
 
4.7
"Kissing Ted Callahan (and other guys) is as the cover would suggest super cute and swoony but my favorite thing..."
The Reece Malcolm List
 
4.0
"In spite of the fact that this is really not my kind of book, I ended up enjoying The Reece..."
The Reece Malcolm List
 
4.3
"I love this book! I love the humor and the real emotions underneath it. I love how the author managed..."
The Reece Malcolm List
 
4.7
"What I Loved: Reece Malcolm is Devan's Mitchell's mother, and this, along with four other facts, equals the sum total..."