Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Great read and a great reminder to trust your instincts.

In Sarah Dessen’s “Saint Anything,” the author shows what it’s like to be invisible in one’s own life. It is the teen who goes to school and interacts with a couple of close friends, but is virtually unseen by her family due to her brother’s actions. Her brother is the center of attention, and unfortunately, for all the wrong reasons.

Sydney accepts her place in her family until something horrible happens.

From there, she has to rebuild her life and figure out what it means to be seen by others. When she goes to a new hangout, she not only discovers amazing pizza, she also finds out what it means to be seen and to be heard. She may have felt invisible all these years, a girl in the shadow of her older brother, but now is the time that she learns to stand up and speak out for what she wants and what really matters to her.

Dessen writes a beautiful coming-of-age story showing the struggles and the reality of one teen and how she learns to build a life for herself. Done especially well is how our main character deals with a creeper. She is resourceful, funny, and unrelenting in her beliefs. In this, Dessen shows readers that even if you can’t name the feeling of what’s not quite right with a situation; your instincts are good and true. Trust them.

Good Points
1 - Great plot from start to finish - all loose ends were tied up.
2 - Great reminder to trust your instincts.
3 - Fun read to curl up and chillax.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Starswept (Starswept #1)
 
5.0
"Starswept was a really fascinating novel filled with adventure, music and romance. I loved the plot of the novel..."