Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Excellent

The Last Magician was a magical and exciting novel set in 1902 that featured time-travel, magic and gangs in New York City! I loved the setting of novel, the strong female characters and the way the novel just drew me in from the start!

The characters were great, well described and had a lot of unique and different abilities. I liked how the story was told from different character's perspective instead of just one or two and how each of them react to situations differently.

I liked Esta, she was stubborn, determined and quick to adapt. Harte was a mysterious character at first, but as more about him was revealed, I grew to like him too. Dolph Saunders was really interesting. He was the leader of Devil's Own and had a way of getting things done. I also liked Viola and her daggers, Jianyu and Tilly too.

Lisa Maxwell did a great job with creating a story that is unlike any other, with different view points, mystery, magic and twist and turns that will leave the reader wanting more!

I really enjoyed reading The Last Magician and think anyone who likes magic will enjoy it too!

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
4.0
"This kept me on the edge of my seat for the whole 4 hours it took me to read it......"
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
3.0
"I must say, this was a big imporvement from Eagle Strike. I really didn't know what was going to happen..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alex W. Alex Rider the 14 year old spy is back. He is on a..."
Necropolis (The Gatekeepers #4)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Julie H. This series is perhaps a bit more suitable to a slightly older tween/teen than Horowitz's..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tyler Skeleton Key book rocks. it is the thrid book in the alex rider seris and..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi I didn't know what to expect of this book when I began, but I must say,..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi Skeleton key was exciting, book-round. Not that a book is round. But I was pleased to..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Allyssa Not to confuse this book with a (different) movie or band. Alex Rider is back in..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Emma L This book is almost ready to be made into a movie. It is action-packed and..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by joanne Out of all the Alex Rider books, I liked Scorpia the best. The excitement and power..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Arly I love this book. Alex has been unfairly treated by MI6. You can really identify with..."