Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Wonderful Epic Fantasy

Alison Croggon’s THE NAMING: BOOK ONE OF PELLINOR is a high fantasy tale that draws from and rivals some of the classics in the genre. The book’s central character, Maerad, is a sixteen-year-old slave, and she has resigned herself to that fate—until she’s found by Cadvan, a Bard who discovers (much to his surprise) bardic talent in her. Cadvan helps Maerad escape the land where she has been enslaved, and their flight and subsequent adventures are the beginning of a four-book series that promises to become one of my favorites.

THE NAMING incorporates all the themes that make the fantasy genre wonderful. Good battles Evil, magic and power both heal and corrupt, seemingly simple characters discover amazing abilities, and nature and the land are characters in and of themselves. Rather than make the story seem formulaic and tired, Croggon adds new dimensions and twists that keep the plot fresh and the world she has created vibrant. The action scenes are well done, and the world of Annar is one I look forward to revisiting as I make my way through the rest of the books in the series—including a prequel that has just been released! I have few complaints about THE NAMING, but if forced to come up with a negative it would be that some of the descriptions run overlong. Feeling that way could just be a result of wanting to rush to get to the action sequences though.

Fantasy is one of my favorite genres, and I’m astounded that this series was first released fifteen years ago, and I haven’t had a chance to read it until now. I really wish it had been available when I was a teen and immersing myself into the worlds of Tolkien, Brooks, and LeGuin because I love that the hero of prophecy and the main character in THE NAMING is a young girl who promises to be a Bard of previously unheard-of power. I’m also thrilled that the book doesn’t bog itself down in an as-yet unnecessary love story. (I have nothing against romance in my epic fantasy novels, and I suspect one will evolve through the course of this series, but I can’t think of a way it wouldn’t have felt forced in THE NAMING.) The world building is well-done, and the premise that the story was drawn from real ancient texts from an almost-forgotten land allows Croggon to offer supporting “documentation” at the end of the book that helps flesh things out in a creative way.

My thanks to the publisher and YA Books Central for a copy of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.

Good Points
A strong female protagonist

Great world building
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Ordinary, Extraordinary Jane Austen
 
5.0
"ORDINARY, EXTRAORDINARY JANE AUSTEN takes you into the life of Jane Austen who was an ordinary girl that did an..."
Love, Santa
 
5.0
"LOVE, SANTA was so beautifully written and is the perfect way to tell your little one the truth about Santa...."
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
 
4.7
"Honestly, I loved everything about this book. It’s filled to the brim with facts and numbers about the universe we..."
Code It! Create It!: Ideas & Inspiration for Coding (Girls Who Code)
 
5.0
"Interested in coding but not sure what products or activities you could do with it? Look no further than this..."
Let's Investigate with Nate #2: The Solar System
 
5.0
"Felix, Rosa, Braden, and Wendy are investigating with Nate again and this time it's all about the solar system. They're..."
Busy on the Farm
 
5.0
"BUSY ON THE FARM teaches about the different tasks to maintain a farm. The first thing is how to make..."
The Ultimate Guide to Gardening (Craft It Yourself)
 
5.0
"Don’t let the name intimidate you—this guide is as extensive as it is accessible. The book features 111 pleasingly..."
Ranger Rick: I Wish I Was a Lion
 
4.5
"Ranger Rick: I Wish I Was A Lion was a fun, educational, and an interactive book that is perfect for..."
Ultimate Explorer Guide: Explore, Discover, and Create Your Own Adventures with Real National Geographic Explorers as Your Guides!
 
5.0
"I’ve said it many times now, but I absolutely love National Geographic’s books for children. Each one is very different..."
I Am a Secret Service Agent: My Life Spent Protecting the President
 
4.0
" Emmett was a young, impressionable boy growing up in the South when President Kennedy was assassinated. The event made..."
Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
 
5.0
"In LET'S INVESTIGATE WITH NATE, the doors of the Science Museum become a portal to another world, but only an..."
42 Is Not Just a Number: The Odyssey of Jackie Robinson, American Hero
 
3.5
"Jackie Robinson was an exceptional man, and in 42 Is Not Just a Number, Doreen Rappaport shows readers why he..."
Gobi: A Little Dog with a Big Heart
 
2.7
"I don’t think I’ve ever read a dog story without either crying or grinning through it. GOBI: A LITTLE DOG..."
100 Things to Be When You Grow Up
 
5.0
"This is one of the many “100 things” books I’ve read by National Geographic, and like with all the rest,..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Awesome Jokes for Kids (Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids) Paperback
 
3.7
"This book includes a number of Knock Knock jokes as well as a large number of one liners such as..."
KLUTZ Circuit Clay Science Kit
 
5.0
"Hours of step-by-step projects--endless sculpting and light-up possibilities. This electrical sculpture kit contains four colors of conducting clay (purple,..."
My Clay Critters
 
5.0
"More fun than barrel of sea-monkeys! With six air-dry colors, a carving tool, 49 insert pieces, and an Idea..."
The Klutz Book of Knots
 
4.0
"This fun guidebook comes with everything you need to practice knot tying. The easy to follow illustrations will have young..."
Make your Own Soap
 
4.7
"Of all the Klutz activity kits, of which there are many, this one is probably one of the more active—and..."
A Kid's Guide To America's First Ladies
 
4.3
"How does a First Lady train for a job that has no job description—or even a salary? A job that..."