Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A World Where Books are Burned

ASH AND QUILL is the third installment of The Great Library Series. Jess and his group of friends live in a time where it's illegal to own books and they must be burned. It's sort of like the Prohibition except ten times worse and I would hate to live in a society where books weren't allowed, which is another reason I appreciate that Jess is a runner--someone who delivers books to those who are willing to pay. It's essentially the Black Market, but with books.

ASH AND QUILL starts off with Jess and his gang fleeing London, only to become imprisoned in Philadelphia. Their only bargaining chip is that they know how to build a machine that will break the Library's rule. Jess and his gang face many bumps in the roads they travel, but they all remain strong and true to who they are. I absolutely loved that.

There's a lot of action in this book right from the beginning and it kept me hanging on each line. There's also going to be two more books which is very exciting news! I really loved all of the characters in this book. Jess and Morgan have a sweet romance going on and I hope there's a lot more of it to come. I hope to see it develop and more scenes of only them. But even though I like them all, Thomas would have to be my favorite and the cliffhanger has me DYING for the fourth one. I don't want to give any spoilers but it is awesome.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of Rachel Caine and dystopian novels. It is an interesting take on a world where books are banned and I enjoyed every moment of it. Can't wait for the next one.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Revenge of the Witch (The Last Apprentice #1)
 
4.0
"A mature middle-grade fantasy—sporting a medieval feel and steeped in an eerie English folklore ambiance which, at times, drifts over..."
Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)
 
5.0
"Blue Lily, Lily Blue was another great addition to The Raven Cycle! It was an amazing novel filled with fantasy,..."
Bad Girl Gone
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Echo Stone wakes up and finds herself in a dark house with other kids. Middle House is the home..."
Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)
 
5.0
"I love this book, I even think it’s my favorite Shadowhunter book of them all! (Which is really saying a..."
Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2)
 
5.0
"This book was amazing! So amazing! And so heart-breaking. I’m a mess, I need the third book NOW! The..."
Shadowhouse Fall The Shadowshaper Cypher series (Book 2)
 
4.3
"I'm a huge fan of diverse novels, especially ones that are set in the paranormal world. I was beyond excited..."
Loved (House of Night Other World series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Zoe and the Nerd Herd from the House of Night Series have returned for another adventure in LOVED. All of..."
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
 
4.5
"If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting..."
Omega (Omega #1)
 
4.0
" Omega is an addictive, engaging adventure that effortlessly combines fantasy, greek mythology, and dystopia. Not only does our MC..."
Eerie
 
3.3
"if you look through my books here in goodreads, the paranormal genre does not belong here. but this book drew..."
Eerie
 
5.0
"Book 2 promises to just as good 8D with several new surprises ;)"
The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl #3)
 
4.3
" As the last book in the Haunting of Sunshine Girl trilogy, The Sacrifice of..."
The Awakening of Sunshine Girl (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl #2)
 
4.3
" The Awakening of Sunshine girl is the thrilling sequel to The Haunting of Sunshine..."
The Haunting of Sunshine Girl
 
3.7
" The Haunting of Sunshine Girl is an intriguing novel capturing ghosts and the other world in a perfectly..."
Eerie
 
5.0
"This book captured me from the very start! I fell in love with all of the characters...I fell in love..."
Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3)
 
5.0
"I have spent a week trying to put together a coherent review for this book and I've still got nothing...."
Lost in Starlight
 
5.0
"Must-Read YA Series! "A dash of intrigue, a dollop of deceit, and a delicate love story makes Lost in Starlight..."
The Faerie War (Creepy Hollow Book 3)
 
5.0
"In THE FAERIE WAR, Violet wakes up with the reptiscilla and can’t remember a thing. When she drank the Forget..."
The Faerie Prince (Creepy Hollow Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE FAERIE PRINCE starts off exactly where I wanted: with Violet waiting for Nate. After her heart was broken in..."