Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
(Updated: July 12, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Great Main Character

Mary Weber’s THE EVAPORATION OF SOFI SNOW follows the titular character as she navigates more challenges than any one teen girl should. Sofi’s father has died. Her mother is wedded to the company she built and runs. Oh, and aliens have brought their planet into Earth’s orbit, and they, the Delonese, have brought many positive things with them—but there’s still suspicion about what they REALLY want from the people of Earth.

Sofi and her younger brother are the key components to a gaming team that is involved in Earth’s Fan Fight games—a high-tech competition in which teams compete in challenges that sound like different levels in a video game. When things go wrong in the midst of the games, the powers that be say that Shilo has died, but Sofi is convinced that the Delonese have taken him to their planet. With the help of her former boyfriend, the attractive and politically savvy Miguel, Sofi sets out to rescue her brother amid all sorts of other plot twists and turns.

An engrossing plot and fascinating technology propel THE EVAPORATION OF SOFI SNOW. The Fan Fight games sound amazing, Sofi’s adventures as she escapes various situations kept me flipping the pages, and other than occasional political explanations, the action is non-stop.

Sofi is a fantastic character—a great blend of smarts, sass, and sensitivity—and I suspect we’ll see more of her since Sofi’s story seems to have a lot more to it. (Hooray!) My only complaints about the book are the lack of character development beyond the exquisite care given to Sofi, and some of the explanations for other characters’ actions didn’t quite ring true. That said, those imperfections are overshadowed by Mary Weber’s ability to write good action sequences, and her aptitude with world building. And the awesomeness of Sofi Snow, of course.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

Good Points
A fantastic main character

An engrossing plot
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
All The Crooked Saints
 
3.7
"Trust me when I say no one was more stunned than me when I enjoyed All the Crooked Saints. ..."
Legacy of Kings
 
2.0
"Legacy of Kings was not a bad book per se, but I found it a confusing, frequently boring one. Perhaps..."
Tempests and Slaughter
 
4.7
"I am a terrible fantasy fan. Why? Because I’ve never read a novel by Tamora Pierce. I am definitely..."
Nimona
 
5.0
"Oh my gosh!!!!!!! This is the cutest graphic novel I have read in a long time! Cute and entertaining and..."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"If you’re looking for an action-packed novel with a fierce female main character who is multifaceted, and the text is..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
3.0
"I’m in two minds about this novella. While there was a part of me that was intrigued by the general..."
Return of the Vinetropes
 
5.0
"What a unique and wonderful story told by a gifted writer! What I loved most is that there's something for..."
A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
 
4.0
"A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS is a collection of fifteen short stories, edited by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman. All..."
A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen #2)
 
4.7
" An enthralling, beautifully crafted YA fantasy—laced with Indian lore and memorable characterization. Gauri is a betrayed..."
Dark Breaks the Dawn
 
5.0
"In DARK BREAKS THE DAWN, Evelayn is the future queen of the Light Kingdom. As expected, she must prepare for..."
Eden Conquered
 
3.0
"EDEN CONQUERED by Joelle Charbonneau is the second book in a duology about royal twins competing for the throne. When..."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"No comment."
Abhorsen (Abhorsen #3)
 
4.0
"Picking up right where book #2’s cliffhangery ending left off, Garth Nix brings us the satisfying conclusion to his Abhorsen..."
The Queen Of The Tearling (The Tearling Trilogy, #1)
 
4.0
"An exceptional middle-fantasy debut, keyed to a New Adult audience. Kelsea is an unremarkable orphaned girl, long kept..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Scroll of Kings (The Lost Books #1)
 
4.0
"Alex is struggling as the apprentice to an elderly librarian at a castle filled with old, musty diaries and laundry..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Fire and Bone
 
3.7
"FIRE AND BONE by Rachel A. Marks is the beginning of a new young adult fantasy series. In many ways,..."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"Great strong woman character in Eelyn, I couldn't get enough of this book!"