Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A World Without You

I finished A WORLD WITHOUT YOU. My head is still spinning. I’m really not sure where to begin in telling you about this book. There are so many things I want to mention, but I don’t want to spoil even a tiny thread of the story for you.

First, so there is no doubt in your mind, I want you to know I really enjoyed reading this book. It is a book that will appeal to YA readers that like realistic fiction, romance, stories of mental illness and a hint of the supernatural. It has a little bit of everything. In my adult words, ‘A WORLD WITHOUT YOU is about mental health, but it is really more than that. It is about acknowledging, accepting and coming to terms with mental illness personally and in others.’

Because the narrator is a mentally ill young man, and it is based on real events, the author’s website calls this book a “semi-autobiographical story”, the book reminds me of CHALLENGER DEEP by Neal Shusterman, which I read earlier this year with my teacher book club. (CHALLENGER DEEP is a whole different discussion.)

To me, the best part of the book is being in Bo’s mind. When I first started A WORLD WITHOUT YOU, I was totally confused and off kilter, which is exactly how Revis wants the reader to feel. I was in Bo’s world where a constant reality does not exist. Every time I thought I understood Bo and his world, his reality would shift and my understanding of the events and characters would shift too. There were several times I needed to stop and reread to make sure that I was really following the story. Once again, Revis does an excellent job of making the reader on edge like reality is constantly shifting. If you feel uneasy and do not like the uncertainty of not knowing what exactly is going on in a book, you might be uncomfortable with this story. I know for me, if I had not read CHALLENGER DEEP earlier this year and experienced life through the mind of a mentally ill youth, this book would have been out of my comfort zone, and I probably would not have enjoyed it as much.

I love how Bo views each character and his sense of how unique each person really is. Because his own grasp on reality is so fragile, he accepts each person as an individual and doesn’t question the “superpowers” each character possesses. Through his narrative, Bo’s “understanding” of each character makes them seem real. The mix-up of personalities and characters’ “superpowers” keep the story flowing. The introduction of Phoebe adds a different perspective to Bo’s illness.

Bo’s obsession with finding Sofia is unnerving. It is a constant throughout the book. It reminds me of a little kid tapping a parent’s shoulder to get attention. Tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, “Mom,” tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, “Mom,”... I think it needs to be like that to give the reader the sense of intensitiy that Bo felt. Job well done!

I love the way the ending makes my head spin and still has me thinking. I would love to talk about this book with anyone that has read it! I think it is a discussion that would last through several cups of coffee and well into the night.

Revis’ description of the timestream had me speechless. I love the way Revis uses threads to illustrate Bo’s manipulation of time. This visual helped me understand what Bo was trying to accomplish.

As I was preparing to write this review, I happened on a piece of art titled Tangled Threads. This oil on canvas became my vision of Bo’s timestream in the later parts of the book. The art is by Jennifer Pinder. Please check out her website.



Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack #1)
 
4.7
"This first-person present-tense piece of historical YA fiction begins a bit like a Charles Dicken’s work—eighteenth-century London, poor destitute orphan,..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
5.0
"Definitely the reason why I decided to reread this was because of the show. and now that I finished reading..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
3.7
"Thirteen Reasons Why (stylised as Th1rteen R3eason Why) follows shy high school teenager Clay Jensen. Clay has received a..."
Tiger Eyes
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars A great and emotional read. A young teenage girl; Davey struggles with the loss of her father..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
" 4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane is..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.0
"I (Erin) bought this one as a “blind date” from Malaprops. They wrap books in brown paper and write things..."
 
4.0
"The Deathday Letter by Shaun David Hutchinson is a young adult standalone novel. This is not the first book by..."
 
3.3
"Nick O’Leary, the straight bass player in queercore punk band, is playing at a club in downtown Manhattan when he..."
 
5.0
"This is not one of my favorite books, it's a bit too sad for me. I will say that this..."
Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush #1)
 
3.3
"When I first read this book in 2010 I hated it. I thought it was overrated and boring. It also..."
The Dead Girls' Dance (The Morganville Vampires #2)
 
5.0
"This installment starts right where Glass Houses ended, which is great because now we have no time lapse to try..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.7
"I love this series more than life itself. Georgia is hilarious and someone we can all relate to. Non-stop..."
 
3.7
"As the title suggests The Diary of a Part-Time Indian is written in a first person episodic diary format. The..."
 
4.0
"This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2016/12/summer-by-jeff-mariotte.html Kerry is far away from home, working a summer job..."
 
4.7
"The plot in itself made me curious to read it. And the story itself gave me a roller coaster ride...."
 
5.0
"Stargirl is short, sweet, and it makes you look at the world in a whole new way. Everyone should read..."
Speak
 
3.7
" “I have never heard a more eloquent silence.” A noteworthy forerunner in the teen “Issues” subgenre,..."
Empress of the World (Battle Hall Davies #1)
 
4.0
" This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2016/09/empress-of-world-by-sara-ryan.html Nicola is taking a summer course in archaeology at..."