Review Detail

 
Dungeonology Featured
Young Adult Fiction
(Updated: April 16, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
N/A
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Fantasy Gaming Intro

Intricately illustrated and concise in explanations, this primer is a gorgeous and interactive addition to any D&D fan's collection.

The book is narrated by the bard-like figure known as Volothamp Geddarm (or just Volo), who serves as your cavalier guide to becoming a "true Dungeonologist." The tone is pleasantly engaging, laced with old-world fantasy charm and genial fair warnings. He begins logically with the formation of a well-rounded "adventuring party," explaining hero archetypes (fighters, rogues, clerics, wizards) and their variants (barbarians, bards, druids, paladins, rangers, sorcerers, warlocks, etc.) He then breaks down the nine races of characters, building on the range of possible abilities and dispositions. From there he expounds upon equipment, magic and magical items, treasure, maps... and the monsters and villains one is likely to face in this cooperative fantasy construct.

"A group of adventurers is known as a "party," and not just because they like to celebrate their success together in the end. Your party should be as close to you as your family--assuming your family can cast spells, kill monsters, and bring you back from the edge of death." ~Volo

If you enjoyed pop-up books as a child, your matured self is in for a treat! Starting at the table of contents, every other page has some sort of animate feature--from hidden inner folds to sub-booklets to utilitarian origami. Volo's Most Wondrous Map of the Sword Coast is a supreme highlight among many engaging aspects of this work--a full color fold-out with intense detailing, which manages to expand to at least three times the area of a single page. (With each page being 10 x 12 inches, the total surface area is impressive.) From an artistic standpoint, the book is lovely--containing a range of compatible styles--all featuring dynamic scenes and poses rather than simple static figure sketches.

The font choices are sometimes a touch small and/or more challenging to read than some readers may find comfortable. The actual rules of game play are not included, though this seems to be by design. Those whose interests are sufficiently piqued by the worldbuilding elements of this book should find it a much smoother transition into the actual game mechanics if they've first utilized this introduction.

Parental Note: As with anything involving role play gaming, this reviewer recommends children introduced be at least 12 years old (or at the developmental and psychological point of being able to clearly distinguish between reality and fantasy.) This book itself, while containing plenty of colorful graphics, is non-graphic as far as violent or suggestive imagery goes. (Kudos on the refreshing lack of scantily/impractically clad females!) A few of the monsters depicted could be considered morbid or unsettling to a young reader, but I refer back to my 12-year-old rule of thumb regarding appropriate audience.

Not an exhaustive guide by any means, but beyond adequate as an introduction to tabletop role play games--suitable for both the curious-but-unversed and for longtime enthusiasts.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

It's Kind of a Funny Story
 
3.5
"A mature contemporary YA, set in New York City. The story is told in first-person present-tense, exclusively from the perspective..."
Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack #1)
 
4.7
"This first-person present-tense piece of historical YA fiction begins a bit like a Charles Dicken’s work—eighteenth-century London, poor destitute orphan,..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
5.0
"Definitely the reason why I decided to reread this was because of the show. and now that I finished reading..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
3.7
"Thirteen Reasons Why (stylised as Th1rteen R3eason Why) follows shy high school teenager Clay Jensen. Clay has received a..."
Tiger Eyes
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars A great and emotional read. A young teenage girl; Davey struggles with the loss of her father..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
" 4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane is..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.0
"I (Erin) bought this one as a “blind date” from Malaprops. They wrap books in brown paper and write things..."
 
4.0
"The Deathday Letter by Shaun David Hutchinson is a young adult standalone novel. This is not the first book by..."
 
3.3
"Nick O’Leary, the straight bass player in queercore punk band, is playing at a club in downtown Manhattan when he..."
 
5.0
"This is not one of my favorite books, it's a bit too sad for me. I will say that this..."
Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush #1)
 
3.3
"When I first read this book in 2010 I hated it. I thought it was overrated and boring. It also..."
The Dead Girls' Dance (The Morganville Vampires #2)
 
5.0
"This installment starts right where Glass Houses ended, which is great because now we have no time lapse to try..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.7
"I love this series more than life itself. Georgia is hilarious and someone we can all relate to. Non-stop..."
 
3.7
"As the title suggests The Diary of a Part-Time Indian is written in a first person episodic diary format. The..."
 
4.0
"This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2016/12/summer-by-jeff-mariotte.html Kerry is far away from home, working a summer job..."
The Sleeper and the Spindle
 
4.5
"The Sleeper and the Spindle is a short illustrated novel by renowned genius Neil Gaiman that spins a clever twist..."
 
4.7
"The plot in itself made me curious to read it. And the story itself gave me a roller coaster ride...."
 
5.0
"Stargirl is short, sweet, and it makes you look at the world in a whole new way. Everyone should read..."