Review Detail

 
RoseBlood Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Blown Away!

Why is there so much hate for this book?! I don't understand! My mind can't compute why everyone is not in love with this book! It's great. It's a bit slow to start but once it picks up... I could not stop reading. I read it mostly in one day. I just couldn't stop.

I think this is a new trend coming but when it switched POVs it switched from first and third person. I actually like this trend as it's so much easier for me to follow, I feel the book flows better. So I loved that touch. Rune was first POV and Etalon was third. So I know who I was reading as soon as it started.

I just loved how easy that was to catch one. Some books that switch POVs leave me confused as who I'm reading about. Anyone else ever get that?

The plot was sweet, romance, and at times creepy. I love this retelling. I have been in love with The Phantom of the Opera for years. I remember watching the movie years ago and then reading the book and soaking up everything I could find. So this hits home with me and makes me love it more. The world felt so real, the author did a great job at bringing this whole tell to life.

Etalon is so swoon worthy. I can see why Rune fell for him.

If you've not read this book yet than you need to. It's great! Just get past the first part and it's such a worthy read. I wish it just wasn't a standalone, I want more. Though it all does wrap up nicely and no loose ends. It's been such a long time since I read a great standalone. So go out and get this book!

******Know before you buy! This has been labeled problematic. Though honestly, I'm sure every book is going to get this label as everything offends someone. This is being labeled as such for the use of the term gipsy. Just letting you guys know.******

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

It's Kind of a Funny Story
 
3.5
"A mature contemporary YA, set in New York City. The story is told in first-person present-tense, exclusively from the perspective..."
Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack #1)
 
4.7
"This first-person present-tense piece of historical YA fiction begins a bit like a Charles Dicken’s work—eighteenth-century London, poor destitute orphan,..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
5.0
"Definitely the reason why I decided to reread this was because of the show. and now that I finished reading..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
3.7
"Thirteen Reasons Why (stylised as Th1rteen R3eason Why) follows shy high school teenager Clay Jensen. Clay has received a..."
Tiger Eyes
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars A great and emotional read. A young teenage girl; Davey struggles with the loss of her father..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
" 4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane is..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.0
"I (Erin) bought this one as a “blind date” from Malaprops. They wrap books in brown paper and write things..."
 
4.0
"The Deathday Letter by Shaun David Hutchinson is a young adult standalone novel. This is not the first book by..."
 
3.3
"Nick O’Leary, the straight bass player in queercore punk band, is playing at a club in downtown Manhattan when he..."
 
5.0
"This is not one of my favorite books, it's a bit too sad for me. I will say that this..."
Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush #1)
 
3.3
"When I first read this book in 2010 I hated it. I thought it was overrated and boring. It also..."
The Dead Girls' Dance (The Morganville Vampires #2)
 
5.0
"This installment starts right where Glass Houses ended, which is great because now we have no time lapse to try..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.7
"I love this series more than life itself. Georgia is hilarious and someone we can all relate to. Non-stop..."
 
3.7
"As the title suggests The Diary of a Part-Time Indian is written in a first person episodic diary format. The..."
 
4.0
"This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2016/12/summer-by-jeff-mariotte.html Kerry is far away from home, working a summer job..."
The Sleeper and the Spindle
 
4.5
"The Sleeper and the Spindle is a short illustrated novel by renowned genius Neil Gaiman that spins a clever twist..."
 
4.7
"The plot in itself made me curious to read it. And the story itself gave me a roller coaster ride...."
 
5.0
"Stargirl is short, sweet, and it makes you look at the world in a whole new way. Everyone should read..."