Review Detail

 
Geekerella Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Adorably Geeky!

Oh my geeky feels! I am in love. Ridiculously in love with Ashley Poston's Geekerella. This book is a fun rendition to every single person out there who has ever loved and have been part of a fandom. Absolutely perfect!

What I Loved:

Cinderella is one of my all-time favorite fairy tales and I'm always happy to jump into a new spin, just like Geekerella's. This is a modern retelling, similar to Hillary Duff's A Cinderella Story movie, but much more entertaining and relatable to us geeky lovers. It has the horrible step-mother and step-sisters who Elle is forced to comply every demand, but with the fun twist of being a fandom-obsessed blogger, daughter of the ExcelsiCon creator of said fandom, and finding herself exchanging texts with none other than the actor who will play the main lead in the new Starfield reboot.

In "real" life, Elle absolutely hates the idea of Darien playing Carmindor, the Starfield hero since he seems to be just a popular heartthrob playing the part only for the money. However, Darien is as much of a fan as Elle, though he has to constantly struggle with the prejudice and expectations of the public. When they start texting each other, completely unaware of their true identities, they start to feel a connection and have the chance to truly be themselves. Sparks fly, feelings ensue, and an adorable romantic fairy tale takes place between the two.

When it comes to made-up fandoms inside books, I often struggle to feel invested in them as much as the characters, but this time, I fell madly in love with Carmindor and Starfield to the point of wanting to believe that it's a real Sci-Fi series. Elle and Darien speak so passionately about this fandom that it's hard not to feel for it, to dream of one day watching the new reboot with Darien in it (and also to see the old episodes!).

Author Ashley Poston constantly shares a few quotes from the Starfield series and I can't stop myself from sharing my favorite one:

"Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite." - Federation Prince Carmindor

Oh, why does this quote make my heart swell so much? Geekerella truly ignited my geek-loving soul, its aim went true and struck me in a way that no book had done in such a long time. I am madly in love with the characters, Elle's and Darien's love story, their passion and vulnerability at being the odd ones out. And not only Elle and Darien, but also the other supporting characters that made this story even more magical. Like Darien's assistant Gail or Elle's coworker in the Magic Pumpkin food truck, Sage. This is a book where everyone (good) could be themselves and stand out on their own.

Final Verdict:

Forgive all my fangirling, but I really cannot stop raving about this book. Geekerella may very well be my favorite read of the year so far. It's absolutely magical, romantic, and perfect for all of us geek at heart. Trust me on this one, you definitely want this book to be at the top of your TBR pile!

Good Points
Funny, swoon-worthy, absolutely worth the read!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
 
5.0
"I had high hopes for MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: EXPLORERS, PRESIDENTS, and TOILETS after reading Dan's other book and..."
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
 
5.0
"MY WEIRD SCHOOL FAST FACTS: SPACE, HUMANS, AND FARTS makes learning more interesting and fun. Using the weird-but-true theme is..."
Fragile Chaos
 
5.0
"When Cassia is unwillingly sacrificed to the War God, she's shocked when it's someone she's already met. Theo doesn't want..."
Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."