Review Detail

 
Geekerella Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Adorably Geeky!

Oh my geeky feels! I am in love. Ridiculously in love with Ashley Poston's Geekerella. This book is a fun rendition to every single person out there who has ever loved and have been part of a fandom. Absolutely perfect!

What I Loved:

Cinderella is one of my all-time favorite fairy tales and I'm always happy to jump into a new spin, just like Geekerella's. This is a modern retelling, similar to Hillary Duff's A Cinderella Story movie, but much more entertaining and relatable to us geeky lovers. It has the horrible step-mother and step-sisters who Elle is forced to comply every demand, but with the fun twist of being a fandom-obsessed blogger, daughter of the ExcelsiCon creator of said fandom, and finding herself exchanging texts with none other than the actor who will play the main lead in the new Starfield reboot.

In "real" life, Elle absolutely hates the idea of Darien playing Carmindor, the Starfield hero since he seems to be just a popular heartthrob playing the part only for the money. However, Darien is as much of a fan as Elle, though he has to constantly struggle with the prejudice and expectations of the public. When they start texting each other, completely unaware of their true identities, they start to feel a connection and have the chance to truly be themselves. Sparks fly, feelings ensue, and an adorable romantic fairy tale takes place between the two.

When it comes to made-up fandoms inside books, I often struggle to feel invested in them as much as the characters, but this time, I fell madly in love with Carmindor and Starfield to the point of wanting to believe that it's a real Sci-Fi series. Elle and Darien speak so passionately about this fandom that it's hard not to feel for it, to dream of one day watching the new reboot with Darien in it (and also to see the old episodes!).

Author Ashley Poston constantly shares a few quotes from the Starfield series and I can't stop myself from sharing my favorite one:

"Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite." - Federation Prince Carmindor

Oh, why does this quote make my heart swell so much? Geekerella truly ignited my geek-loving soul, its aim went true and struck me in a way that no book had done in such a long time. I am madly in love with the characters, Elle's and Darien's love story, their passion and vulnerability at being the odd ones out. And not only Elle and Darien, but also the other supporting characters that made this story even more magical. Like Darien's assistant Gail or Elle's coworker in the Magic Pumpkin food truck, Sage. This is a book where everyone (good) could be themselves and stand out on their own.

Final Verdict:

Forgive all my fangirling, but I really cannot stop raving about this book. Geekerella may very well be my favorite read of the year so far. It's absolutely magical, romantic, and perfect for all of us geek at heart. Trust me on this one, you definitely want this book to be at the top of your TBR pile!

Good Points
Funny, swoon-worthy, absolutely worth the read!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"This is a book that you wish you could just sit down and read without interruption! Keeps you..."
Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."