Review Detail

 
Wayfarer Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

An Unforgettable Adventure!

I almost feel ashamed that this series is my first by Alexandra Bracken. It’s clear that she has a gift for creating elaborate worlds with the most captivating, yet relatable characters. Not to mention her rich writing style that flows so effortlessly you literally can’t take your eyes away from the pages.

If you have not read the first book there may be some tiny spoilers from that, but otherwise nothing will spoil this one for you!

Side note: If you haven’t read the first book, I highly recommend. It is fun, romantic, and beautifully written- you won’t regret it!


While I adored Passenger, I admit that it was slow at certain parts [note: slow does not necessarily mean bad, there just wasn’t a lot going on at certain parts of the novel]. Wayfarer, however, was anything BUT slow. From the beginning, my jaw was constantly hitting the ground from all the surprises and twists! So much was happening in the first 4 chapters, I could hardly stop to think for a second!

Etta is thrown into an unfamiliar territory, with unfamiliar people and forced to trust those who may ultimately betray her. Nicholas is forced to partner up with one of his worst enemies, to find the only person who has ever understood him. They have to find a way back together, while also stopping the one man who could destroy their whole world.

That’s all I can say about this book without spoiling, I’m sorry! What I can talk about, though, is:

Bracken tackling some major issues in this book. I often applaud authors who use their stories to continue to shed a light on racism/sexism/homophobia/etc, but Bracken deserves a standing ovation. The way she discussed racism through Nicholas’ character was so on point, and never sugar coated. She spoke on the difficult truth of racism and how people of color have been oppressed through all of history and even today.

There is so much that she spoke on that I couldn’t possibly write it all out, but mainly she spoke on sexism throughout history / today, white privilege, gender/sexuality, and of course racism. It takes a special kind of author [or maybe just one who does her research], to properly speak on these topics and I can gladly say that she did. As a woman of color, I truly appreciated how all of this was taken very seriously by Bracken.

OH! And we got new characters! So many too! While Passenger mainly focused on Etta and Nicholas, Wayfarer had a whole TON of new characters. Pretty much all of them are characters that would shock you, so I won’t say any names but trust me, you will be happily surprised!

Final Thoughts?

Bracken created a fast-paced, complex, exciting, and beautifully written sequel. I could list a billion reasons as to why you’ll love this book [or maybe just one: Sophia!], but just trust me and go out and try this series! It’s absolutely wonderful, completely new, and addictive in the best way possible.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
How To Hang A Witch
 
3.7
"Original Review Located: http://www.literarychaos.com/ Being the history buff that I am, I was so excited to read this novel...."
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
 
5.0
"I've never read something that was written as if it's for a movie screenplay! WHAT I LIKED ..."
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card
 
4.0
"What worked: This memoir is the account of an undocumented teen living in the US during the 90s. She gives..."
The Stars Beneath Our Feet
 
5.0
"When Lolly's older brother Jermaine dies, Lolly is filled with anger and guilt. He's uncertain about how to move forward..."
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: White people like me are unlikely to get this book or get much from it either. It’s..."
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
 
5.0
"I HAVE NEVER CRIED SO HARD READING A BOOK. Or laughed. Or laughed AND cried at the same time. I..."
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
 
4.7
"I was excited to be asked to read and review I AM NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER. I love stories..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Wild Bird
 
3.7
"What worked: Insightful tale of a rebellious teen who is sent to a wilderness survival camp in the middle of..."
Rickety Stitch and the Gelatinous Goo: The Road to Epoli
 
3.5
" In this lengthy graphic novel, we meet Rickety Stitch, who is an undying, animated skeleton who is unclear about..."
10 Things I Can See From Here
 
4.0
"What worked: This is an authentic portrayal of a teen who deals with severe anxiety. I know, as I deal..."
Two Boys Kissing
 
4.7
"Two Boys Kissing is an utterly unique novel, not only in its structure but in its innovative exploration of LGBTQI+..."
The Secret Life of Lincoln Jones
 
4.0
"Lincoln and his mother have left their home in another city to flee the mother's abusive boyfriend and moved near..."
Everyone We've Been
 
4.3
" UGH! I have so many feelings for this book! It’s so good and I’m really wondering why people aren’t..."
Beast
 
5.0
"What worked: I totally fell in love with this book. There are so many feels in this story-first love;..."
The Trouble with Twins
 
3.5
"A young girl's mother tells her the story of twins: Arabella Osgood, who was very pretty, and Henrietta, who was..."
Ninja Bunny: Sister vs. Brother
 
4.5
"Ninja Bunny is an adorable and funny story of sister vs. brother. With adorable illustrations and hand drawn letters, this..."
All the Bright Places
 
5.0
"I love this book. I’ve been on the look out for this book since I saw it on Netgalley but..."
The Case of the Girl in Grey (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 2)
 
4.5
"The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency is on their next big case. This time, they are investigating a mysterious engagement, possibly a..."