Review Detail

 
The River's Edge Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Edge of Something Real

Tina Sears' debut novel, The River's Edge, is the kind of novel that will bring readers to the edge of something real. Following the protagonist, Chris Morgan, during the summer of 1976, this novel is at times bright with the beauty of first love, friendship, and family, while maintaining a sense of secretive danger. which is compelling.

While the beginning of the novel introduces young adult readers to a time they may not know, Sears has painted such a realistic picture of summer in the 70s that may juxtapose the experiences of readers. But through these differences of time and place there is still the beautiful, but untouchable mean girl (Julie), the sweet boy next door (Reds), and a cast of other characters who offer a sense of escape for Chris as the summer carries on. Because Chris must hide a dangerous secret from both family and friends.

Tina Sears brings readers to the edge of childhood innocence and takes them across the line into the brutality of sexual assault. Such is handled with tact and care. In the vein of Ellen Hopkins, this debut author tackles topics which (still) too often appear as taboo within the YA literary world. Sears is unafraid to show the monsters in real life, but does so with careful consideration for her main character, Chris. This is not the kind of book that is gratuitous by any means, yet it shows just enough of the disturbing side of family secrets and sexual assault to convince the reader that Chris's fear is justified throughout the story.

Life continues on even as tragedy happens, just as it does in the real world beyond these pages. Chris's parents are struggling with the idea of divorce back home, her mother on the verge of her own darkness and depression. And then there is Reds, who is such a welcomed breath of innocence in a story that loses such to the act of violence.

Throughout this summer of dance marathons and underage drinking, falling in love, and drowning in darkness, there is the river. The unpredictable way it flows forward, waters raging, serves as a sort of metaphor within the story. Chris's life becomes unpredictable, her own self raging at the fact that something has been stolen by someone she trusts. And we learn what has been taken can't be given back.

Despite the realization of what sexual assault takes from a person, especially one so young, there is also the revelation that there is bravery in overcoming such scars: "We all have our scars to carry with us. Scars are a sign of bravery."

Throughout the course of this stark and authentic narration told from Chris's first person point of view, the reader grows closer to the urgency and terror that she feels, which only pushes the story forward at a fast-paced speed. While the content may disturb, readers will need to know that Chris is okay.

This is the kind of novel that offers an extra element of poignancy because of the times in which it is told. Without cell phones and other such technology there is the added element of isolation that takes Chris on the path to awakening. Such seems to be understood by the author and used as a tool to bring a story of this caliber to light.

Perfect for fans of Ellen Hopkins, this novel is one filled with sweetness and sensibility, terror, truth, and above all else, bravery, and love. Chris is the kind of character who can help victims of similar situations to feel connected, while also bringing empathy to readers who may not understand such horrors.

The River's Edge is a haunting novel that resonates long after the last page, and Tina Sears is an author to watch in the future for further works that will contribute the same catharsis to our ever-darkening world.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Onyx and Ivory
They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond a Darkened Shore
The ancient land of Éirinn is mired in war. Ciara,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
People several generations ago talk about what they were doing...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Storm Runner
Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mother Tongue
On the day she brings her sweet little sister,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being scarred by an unimaginable lie, Erik commits...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
"I'm here to take you to live with your...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
safe_image.jpeg
Twins raised far from the darkness are the key...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Mermaids
A HOT EX-BOYFRIEND, A DETERMINED SWIM STAR, AND A...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
Mother Tongue
 
5.0
"As MOTHER TONGUE by Julie Mayhew begins, eighteen-year-old Darya envisions the bits of freedom she'll enjoy once her little sister,..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.7
"Consider this a sort of D&D primer for intro-level youth. Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.0
"Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after the beloved choose-your-own-adventure books of yore. It also features a vast..."
Parasite Life
 
4.7
"Jane is stuck in a creepy old house with her invalid mother. She has no idea why her mother is..."
Hearts Unbroken
 
N/A
"There are a lot of entry-points to the storylines in Cynthia Leitich Smith's Hearts Unbroken. I recommend this book especially..."
With Malice
 
5.0
"I loved this book, it kept me thinking afterwards for days. "The truth is how you tell it," take that..."
IF I FIX YOU
 
5.0
"The book is more like a 4.5 but I am going to give it a 5 star read because the..."
Enchantée
 
4.0
"After the death of her parents to smallpox, Camille Durbonne struggles to get by with her younger sister Sofie. One..."
The Penderwicks at Last
 
5.0
"THE PENDERWICKS AT LAST is the last in the series of Jeanne Birdsall's books about the Penderwick family. In this..."
Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms)
 
5.0
""Ever the Hunted" is an incredible YA fantasy with a touch of romance. The story begins with Britta, starving and..."
Bud, Not Buddy
 
4.7
"Bud not Buddy is awesome! im in year 9 and im reading it in school for an assignment. On the..."
The Star-Touched Queen
 
3.3
"I enjoyed this rich world. I felt like I was there seeing the lure with my own eyes. I loved..."
Elixir (Covenant Series #3.5)
 
4.7
"This was so refreshing, to see a little snippet into the almost perfect Aiden's head, we get to see how..."
Stone Cold Touch (Dark Elements #2)
 
5.0
"This installment picks up just a few weeks after Roth has sacrificed himself at the end of White Hot Kiss...."