Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Standout In The Field Of Unrequited Love

Geeky Perfection. That's the best label I can think of for The Geek's Guide to Unrequited Love. This book is a sweet, hilarious, and totally epic ride about friendship, fandom, Comic Cons, self-discovery, and of course, dealing with unrequited love.

Graham is a self-proclaimed geek in love with his best friend, Roxana. After debating countless of times of how and when he should finally profess his love, the answer comes to him when it is announced that their favorite comic author will have a Q&A session in the upcoming New York Comic Con. From then on, Graham plans it all. He will show Roxy that they could be more than best friends by spending three special days full of the things that they love the most in the world. Except, things not always go as planned.

My expectations for this book were really high after seeing its fun and colorful cover a couple of months ago, and I'm beyond pleased to say this book definitely delivered. You won't hear me say anything bad about it because I loved it from front to back. It's entertaining, incredibly sweet, and a total page-turner. One minute I was reading chapter one and the next thing I knew I was rating it its well-deserved five stars (even wishing to go to a Comic Con soon!).

Our superhero (because that's what he is in a non-literal way), is one of the best male main characters I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Graham's dedication to prove himself worthy of Roxy's love is so sweet, he made ME fall in love with him right from the start. Not to mention that he is also funny, a talented writer, and a great friend to have around.

Sarvenaz Tash not only created a great lead character, but also brings to life incredibly authentic characters in this book. All of them are fun and the kind you want to have in your life. I liked how the author even proves with one character how stereotypes of the "popular and pretty" kind often get it all wrong. Really well done.

And to those who are a geek at heart (like me) will find that this book is a splendid window towards all the fun that takes place inside a Comic Con. So many great references, but my favorite part of all was the one about The Princess Bride. Fans of this classic will be highly amused!

Final Verdict:

The Geek's Guide to Unrequited Love is a delightful story about the pros and cons of taking the next step into an unrequited love. It will take readers on a fast-paced journey of self-discovery and of looking forward to new possibilities. We need more books just like this one!

Good Points
A great male POV. Funny, sarcastic, and endearing!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

2 results - showing 1 - 2  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Jazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer Written by Jazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer
May 18, 2016
I was just looking at this book somewhere. I can't recall where, and I was saying to myself I am going to love that story. AND NOW I KNOW. I need to get this!
In reply to an earlier comment

Melissa Robles, Instagram Manager Written by Melissa Robles, Instagram Manager
May 20, 2016
Ah you do, Jazmen! I got the best feels from this book.
2 results - showing 1 - 2  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."