Review Detail

 
Eerie Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Supernatural Monsters

Let's dig into EERIE, a YA Paranormal/Supernatural Romance novel. It is centered around a girl named Hailey, whose sister has been found brutally murdered. But that isn't all that's strange about her. She gets dreams at night, and monster hunts her by day. In the beginning, the book has captured my attention and I follow along its plot until I reach the end. And it isn't as much as a roller coaster as I thought it would be.

The perspective of the novel is told from third person. The book flips from narrator to narrator, and each one of them provides an unique look of the book's world. Hailey is the outsider, the one who has never really known the world of the supernatural/paranormal and provides the audience surrogate. Asher is an outworldly Envoy, whose motives are clear but actions are not. Finn, a former friend of Hailey's, is pulled by multiple strings, and his path is so muddled by chances, fate, and opportunity but lit up by love. Out of all these heads and perspectives, I prefer Finn the most, who is very complex but also the most human.

The story starts with a mystery and continues with the supernatural. Hailey herself is hunted by an immoral, immortal monster devoid of feelings but desperate enough to kill. The concept, the world building, the setting the book has is intriguing, and I would love the author to dive much deeper into the world. There's so many questions I have in my mind, and I'm unfortunately unable to gather any answers. But the author does a great job of diving into the smaller but also endearing details of the story.

There's a love triangle in this book. Of course, I have favorites (who doesn't?) and I have already told you who they are (Team Finn). Asher is an Envoy, who is said to be incapable of feeling anything. But he feels something for Hailey. Though Asher and Hailey's relationship remains to be a huge part of the book, I find Finn and Hailey much more fascinating thanks to its flawed, imperfect nature. Besides, the relationship of Fin and Hailey is much more equal when you compared to Asher and Hailey.

The plot largely centers around Hailey. For the exposition, it unfolds steadily as you go through the novel, and everything that the story has built up goes crazy in the climax. I freely admit that the ending is chaotic. Nothing is certain, and the book ends at a sudden, too sudden note. I'm left frantically flipping the pages for the answers once again.

Overall, EERIE is an unique novel about dreams, monsters, and feelings. Developed on a strange, almost dream-like world, EERIE is for those who enjoy romance with a dash of the forbidden.

Rating: Three out of Five

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sonia Pennington  Mrs. Dallas's book is probably the best thing I've read in a long while. This..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ryan Gibbs Phantom Island: Wind is probably one of the best books I've read, in a long..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sara Lightfoot From the beginning Phantom Island indulges its reader with the drama of a teenage girl,..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lindsey Johnson Phantom Island, I've never felt more involved in a book ever in my life...."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Angie Brown Phantom Island : Wind is very possibly the best book I have ever read. It's..."
Windchaser (Phantom Island #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amelia Phantom Island is a perfect book whether you're 40 or 10 or a girl or a..."