Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Dramatic.

There are so many things in this book that made me angry. But I feel wrong for being angry because the circumstances are less than desirable and they could’ve been prevented and the outcome of this book could have been avoided.

But teenagers are stupid and think that the way things are in high school is how the rest of their life will be and they make drastic, life changing decisions. For the worst.

But I’m still angry about Janie being a horrible friend and making people, particularly Micah, do what she wanted. (This reminded me of whatsherface from Paper Towns and I HATE that book).

I’m angry that Micah allowed her to act as such, thus potentially ruining a good friendship with Dewey.

Dewey, who had a very limited vocabulary outside of curse words, was one of the only people I could stand.

Janie and her group of jerk friends, especially Ander. (The hell kind of name is that anyways?)

Ander, rapists and overall douchebag, playing the blame game on everyone but himself (which is guess is how all rapists think).

Back to Micah, who also blames himself because he has been so brainwashed by Janie that he constantly hates himself.

How about the lack of parents in all of this? None of these kids felt comfortable enough to confide in a parent (much less the police) about the things going on in their lives.

Besides all of that, this was a very well written book. And sadly, it’s almost too realistic because situations like this do actually happen.

I sped read this, partially because it was a consuming read, partially because it made me uncomfortable and I wanted to finish it quickly.

This Is Where the World Ends is a tragically real look at what happens when you have toxic friends. A quick read that will appeal to fans of John Green or Nova Ren Suma.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Roary the Lion Roars Too Loud (Wee Beasties)
Help little ones learn how to use their inside voices...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Haunted
Clean slate. That's what Hendricks Becker-O'Malley's parents said when they...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Art of Losing
On one terrible night, 17-year-old Harley Langston’s life changes...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond a Darkened Shore
The ancient land of Éirinn is mired in war....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Step-Spinsters
Once upon a time, in a land far, far...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Glamour of Midnight
Fae bounty hunter Loftin’s life depends on him finding...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just For Clicks
Mommy blogs are great . . . unless the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Enough: Stories of Being Young and Black in America
Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
i am Elephant, i am Butterfly
When sixteen-year-old Simone Wheeler is accepted into the elite Camp...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mike
MEET FLOYD. He's a tennis star. Possibly good enough to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unconventional Warfare (Special Forces, Book 1)
Discover the secret missions behind America's greatest conflicts.Danny Manion has...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Again, But Better
Shane has been doing college all wrong. Pre-med, stellar grades,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Summer of '69
With his girlfriend, Robin, away in Canada,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stick Cat: Two Cats and a Baby (#4)
Now that their owners are married, Stick Cat and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Waking Nightmare (Hello Neighbor #2)
It's been four months since Nicky Roth has seen his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Blood Spell
 
4.0
"Based loosely on the tale of Cinderella, The Blood Spell is the fourth standalone installment for the Ravenspire series of..."
The Haunted
 
3.0
"Hendricks and her family buy an old building in Drearford, New York after an incident. Her family 'hopes' this will..."
Just For Clicks
 
5.0
"Claire and her twin sister, Poppy, are ‘internet famous’. Every part of their lives have been blogged, photographed, and recorded..."
Obsidian (Lux #1)
 
5.0
"That's why I love paranormal romances :D"
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I'm a sucker for YA and Friends to Lovers romance, and Kasie West is one of my favorite YA author..."
Alienated (Alienated #1)
 
4.7
"I think I fell in love! Aelyx and Cara’s romance is of the slow-burn kind.... simply swoony! The..."
P.S. I Like You
 
4.7
"Be yourself, even when you don’t fit in! Two teenagers who both felt like something was missing in their lives..."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
5.0
"NYC will never be the same after reading this great Urban Fantasy... Even my heart will never be the same..."
Catching Jordan
 
4.7
"It's sooooo cute!!!!!! I shipped Jordan and Sam pretty much from page 1. I can't praise this book enough...."
The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1)
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely amazing! Beautifully written and compelling, with memorable characters. I was completed invested in each of them!..."
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I've read this book twice now, and I can't stop thinking about it. I feel madly in love with Charlie,..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
4.7
"Twilight is the epic love story of Edward and Bella. Forget any vampire romance you have read before, Twilight is..."
The Art of Losing
 
4.3
"Seventeen-year-old Harley has been dating Mike for a couple of years, and being his girlfriend gives her a status and..."
Midnight Angel
 
5.0
"Such a fantastic book. The story: Naomi is the daughter of harsh parents. They're part of a cult and..."
Beneath a Sinister Moon
 
5.0
"Wow besides the awesome title Beneath A Sinister Moon the inside of this book is even better. Things I wanted..."
Within the Darkest Hollows
 
5.0
"If you thought Book 1 Between the Bleeding Willows was great you haven't read nothing yet. Within the Darkest Hollows..."
Between the Bleeding Willows
 
5.0
"After Cassidy Ravanaugh's boyfriend Jace dies she goes to find a ring that he had been wearing. but get gets..."
Black Enough: Stories of Being Young and Black in America
 
5.0
"See more of my reviews on The YA Kitten! My copy was an ARC I got from the publisher as..."
Winner Take All
 
4.3
"The phrases “beautiful disaster” and “bad romance” but NOT the well-known novels that use those phrases for their titles. Five..."
Fresh Ink: An Anthology
 
4.0
"Anthologies have such a special place in my heart. The art of the short story is undervalued and it’s just..."