Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

An engaging plot and excellent tension make this perfect for mystery lovers

The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George follows young Becca King, a girl who can hear thoughts of others as she hides from her murderous stepfather on Whidbey Island. The mind reading paranormal element is interesting, and the author does a wonderful job of mixing teen angst and uncertainty alongside such a power. Becca is a well-rounded protagonist whose voice and actions, shown through third person narration, fits her age and situation perfectly. She is still growing into herself while she faces dangerous situations none would envy. Her gradual attempts in learning to trust people are endearing and will clearly lead to further character development as this series continues.

Surrounding Becca are extremely well done secondary characters. Though Derric doesn’t receive as much dialogue as other characters, he is nicely set up with an ideal amount of intrigue. Seth, Hayley, and Jenn all are distinctive and complex in their own right, and the mysteries behind each of their secrets will keep readers turning the pages well into the night. Seth’s grandfather, Ralph, offers several chances for a smile or two during the heat of the mysteries.

What shines in this novel is the plot. Twists, turns, and jaw-dropping surprises frequent the chapters. The mystery behind the island accident leaves most questions answered, while other mysteries are left in suspense for more books. The tension throughout the story is gripping and engaging, something mystery and suspense fans will greatly appreciate.

As much as I enjoyed the characters and plot, some areas of the writing feel weak. The dialogue comes across as a bit awkward and stiff at times, though the shifts in character focuses are handled well. The writing in the beginning doesn’t seem to match the flow of the second half, but the plot is definitely engaging enough to keep the reader invested.

Fans of Lauren Oliver’s Vanishing Girls and James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect series will find an exciting and engaging plot with complex characters in The Edge of Nowhere. The minor paranormal elements offer a refreshing twist for readers who like their suspense and mystery with a little something extra.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

She's So Boss
Whether you already have an idea for a business or...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wesley James Ruined My Life
Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
Once upon a time, a girl skipped into the forest...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Obsidian and Stars
In the sequel to Ivory and Bone—the prehistoric fantasy...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Maybe In Paris
Keira Braidwood lands in Paris with her autistic brother,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Revolt: Book Four of the Resistance Series
The Explosive Conclusion to the Award-Winning Resistance Series To...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
16 Ways to Break A Heart
Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Changes in Latitudes
A "road" trip romance that takes place at sea!...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
First We Were IV
A group of friends start a secret society in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Orphan is the highly anticipated sequel in the ORB trilogy....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The World Between the Trees
Jake Hunter has disappeared without a trace and when his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jupiter Storm
Only a week ago Grey Alexander thought she and her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alison Henry and the Creatures of Torone
After being picked on at school yet again, Alison Henry...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unbecoming
Three women. Three generations. Three secrets. ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Cruise
Ainsley never wanted to spend her summer on a fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eliza and Her Monsters
Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster....
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)

Latest Member Reviews

Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
5.0
"I devoured this novel in one sitting. Uglies is such a unique and compelling sci-fi adventure - it is almost..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
4.7
"I really loved this book. I found it very different in its approach to the YA dystopian genre. I loved..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
4.7
"This book is wonderful if you enjoy dystopian novels. If you love Divergent, The Hunger Games, or the Matched series,..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
3.3
"The world concept was just amazing. I did not love the story line. There just wasn't a spark there...."
 
4.7
"Sometimes freedom has a way of destroying things.. At first, i was really angry at what had happened to..."
 
5.0
" I know a lot of people complain that this book is worse than "Uglies" but I actually thought..."
The Secret Hour (Midnighters #1)
 
4.3
"An impressive series-starter. The concept was so unique and original, I had to give it a shot. The idea of..."
Extras
 
4.3
"I want to start off by saying that I really liked this book, but I felt like it was so..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
4.7
"If you liked the Hunger Games, this book is for you. As I read Tally YoungBlood's story, Katniss Everdeen was..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
5.0
"This world that Scott Westerfeld has created is amazing! Basically Uglies is about a society where at the age of..."
 
3.0
"The beginning was rough for me. It started out very fast paced. Tally is now in a special group who..."
 
4.0
"This book took me by surprise! I assumed that since Tally was turned into a “pretty-head” the book would be..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
4.0
"This book left me speechless! I could not put it down! Westerfeld’s vision was so clear, and the story line..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
5.0
"READ READ READ! I love this book. The Uglies is about a society that has their children, at age..."
Extras
 
4.3
"Wasn't expecting another book in the series but this was brilliant. Things have changed in the world- whether it's..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
5.0
"Loved the book. it was recommended to me by a few different people and hadn't really given it any thought...."
 
5.0
"The ending was the best part for me. I love the new Tally. Being the last special Special, I loved..."
 
4.3
"This was so much better than the first book. I totally loved it. I loved the new pretty words- it..."
Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
3.3
"This book was can be totally unengaging to me at times. I've seen this book on bookshelves but i didn't..."
Extras
 
4.3
"This book is set in Japan, a few years after the "mind-rain", when Tally Youngblood got rid of the "bubble-heads"...."