Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

An engaging plot and excellent tension make this perfect for mystery lovers

The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George follows young Becca King, a girl who can hear thoughts of others as she hides from her murderous stepfather on Whidbey Island. The mind reading paranormal element is interesting, and the author does a wonderful job of mixing teen angst and uncertainty alongside such a power. Becca is a well-rounded protagonist whose voice and actions, shown through third person narration, fits her age and situation perfectly. She is still growing into herself while she faces dangerous situations none would envy. Her gradual attempts in learning to trust people are endearing and will clearly lead to further character development as this series continues.

Surrounding Becca are extremely well done secondary characters. Though Derric doesn’t receive as much dialogue as other characters, he is nicely set up with an ideal amount of intrigue. Seth, Hayley, and Jenn all are distinctive and complex in their own right, and the mysteries behind each of their secrets will keep readers turning the pages well into the night. Seth’s grandfather, Ralph, offers several chances for a smile or two during the heat of the mysteries.

What shines in this novel is the plot. Twists, turns, and jaw-dropping surprises frequent the chapters. The mystery behind the island accident leaves most questions answered, while other mysteries are left in suspense for more books. The tension throughout the story is gripping and engaging, something mystery and suspense fans will greatly appreciate.

As much as I enjoyed the characters and plot, some areas of the writing feel weak. The dialogue comes across as a bit awkward and stiff at times, though the shifts in character focuses are handled well. The writing in the beginning doesn’t seem to match the flow of the second half, but the plot is definitely engaging enough to keep the reader invested.

Fans of Lauren Oliver’s Vanishing Girls and James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect series will find an exciting and engaging plot with complex characters in The Edge of Nowhere. The minor paranormal elements offer a refreshing twist for readers who like their suspense and mystery with a little something extra.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Glow
When thrift-store aficionado Julie discovers a series of antique...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Secrets
After an abrupt move across the country to San...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Tracker's Canyon
Thanks to his dad’s coaching, sixteen-year-old Tristan is one...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Book of Fire
Life outside the domes is not possible. At least...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Body Won't Break
The truth doesn’t always set you free. Orphaned as...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Gears of Fate
Centuries have passed since the Fey conquered Earth, forcing...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mother Cary's Butter Knife (Shadows & Light)
The smallest of three brothers, Keenan Mowat had a priceless...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
Did you know that the earth is covered in three...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The November Girl
I am Anda, and the lake is my mother....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Approximately Yours (North Pole, Minnesota)
Danny Garland is so out of Holly’s league. And...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Penny Lost
Penelope Grace, usually forgotten under the shadow of her...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Eveline
Sixteen-year-old Ivy Higgins is the only student at Carmel...
 
4.7
 
5.0 (2)
Good and Gone
When Lexi Green’s older brother, Charlie, starts plotting a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13
Where do light bulbs go when they burn out? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her music...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"An excellent follow up. The story: We meet Emma again when she is still in the early stages of..."
 
3.5
"An interesting plot with a lot of potential. The story: Katie has been raised by her mother and..."
The Good Citizen
 
4.3
"The story: In a futuristic society that oppresses immigrants and requires citizens, including children, to use guns to enforce..."
The Girl Who Saved Ghosts
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Saves Ghosts is as engaging, adventerous, and mysterious as the first in the series! There is murder,..."
The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts (The Unbelievables #1)
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts surprised me in a good way. I went in with very little expectations and now..."
Mother Cary's Butter Knife (Shadows & Light)
 
5.0
"I have never heard of this author or these books and I am so amazed that I haven’t. Not only..."
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
 
4.7
"Honestly, I loved everything about this book. It’s filled to the brim with facts and numbers about the universe we..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
Sunshine at the Academy: Book 1 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed this book. It's a futuristic coming of age novel reminiscent of Harry Potter although no magic is..."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Blood Oath (The Darkest Drae Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always enjoyed Kelly St. Clare’s series and I’ve always enjoyed Raye Wagner’s as well, but together, these authors are..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."
White (The Wings Trilogy, #1)
 
4.3
"With Claire's parents gone, she is uprooted and moves to Aurora with her sister. Here, she finds a new fascination..."
Stolen Secrets
 
4.3
"What worked: This is an amazing tale with an unique twist on the holocaust and the survivors. What I really..."
Somebody's Baby
 
4.3
"SOMEBODY’S BABY by Lurlene McDaniel is the perfect follow up to her novel LOSING GABRIEL, which I absolutely loved. I..."
White Rabbit
 
5.0
"Rufus just wants one day of semi-fun, something he hasn’t had since his ex-boyfriend, Sebastian, wrecked his heart. But then,..."
Goldeline
 
4.0
"Goldeline has found a rag tag family with Gruff and his bandits. They live in the forest and steal food..."