Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A

Journey of a girl finding her way in a world without sight. Also firmly a story of family and friend

I wanted to read Blind because I am drawn to books dealing with disability or mental illness. I wanted to get inside Emma's head and find out her story.

It is pretty agonizing for her, and I can only imagine the huge change that it would make on your life. She is angry, questioning what makes life worth living and exploring those things. The details seem so realistic... How she is so overwhelmed when she first goes back to school, all of the noise, not knowing who is talking to her, the crowds and everything being so much harder for her academically. She can't read the board, or pay attention as well because noise at times is like an assault to her.

She keeps opening her eyes and being surprised when she is still in the dark. It just endears her to me. After her accident, she was screaming and refusing to do anything and I think that is so realistic. I could see that being my reaction. But it starts to change and she gets the curiosity and drive to try to get back into the game of life when she gets a K9 buddy, a dog named Spark. He loves her just the same and it is a constant for her. He isn't a seeing guide dog persay, but he did have training.

I adored her best friend and sister Leah. They were by her side whether she wanted it or not. Logan (female best friend) tries to keep her up to date with what is going on and helps her from class to class. She wouldn't take no for an answer in her darker days and kept coming back to visit her. And speaking of her family, there are 7 kids. It is pretty unique to get to read about a family like that and I think it was a good element. From the younger siblings we get to see the tender moments and also the questions that no one else will ask, and from the older we see the support. Emma's parents are polar opposites but they make it work and they are present in kids lives even when they sometimes agree to disagree how to handle some of the issues that arise.

And the element of the teen missing and then found? It was an okay element for me, but I wasn't overly crazy about it. I think it did help to keep the town and other teens from school from focusing too much on Emma, and it gave her another tragedy to come alongside and realize that while being blind sucks, at least she is alive. It is also an avenue for the teens to get together, get to know one another better as well as finding their safe place to talk about tragedy.

The romance is pretty light in this one, but I was okay with it. During most of her dark time, I think that it would have been unrealistic. But I will say that the romance that was there wasn't quite the direction that I expected it to go, but I was still pleased with it, and think that it fit the tone of the book.

I really enjoyed watching Emma grow, the amazing family that she has, and the support from Logan (even though their friendship was tested, and that it evolved) and her other friends that she learned to lean on and begin to let in bit after bit. Emma was well on her way to figuring out how to live as a person who has lost her sight, as well as into a beautiful and strong person.

The ending was nice, and gave me completion. Though I wouldn't mind more time with these characters, and I was sad for the time to end, I like how it wrapped up and where it left me in Emma's story.

Bottom Line: Journey of a girl finding her way in a world without sight. Also firmly a story of family and friendship.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Eye of Midnight
 
5.0
"Straitlaced Maxine and the impish Will come together in this nostalgic action adventure that will appeal to parents and children..."
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
 
4.5
"Reading FLORA AND ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo was an absolute joy. Children’s books are usually full of everything that’s normally..."
Jane, the Fox & Me
 
5.0
"This was not at all what I expected. I discovered a story about self-esteem, and bullying, and cruelty...."
The Boy on the Porch
 
4.0
"The Boy on the Porch is a beautiful story about family and love. It feels like a fable in the..."
Red Shirt Kids
 
5.0
"Your upper grade school child will be totally enthralled while reading this magical, mystery adventure novel! Not only will they..."
Mermin
 
3.5
"This was certainly meant for younger readers! It had a cutesy feel to it, but it was still fun to..."
Heart of Stone (Verity Gallant Tales)
 
5.0
"This is the epitome of middle grade fantasy, if you ask me. Set in the most perfect seaside, cliff-dotted town,..."
Eighth Grade Is Making Me Sick: Ginny Davis's Year in Stuff
 
4.0
"On a whim, I checked out MIDDLE SCHOOL IS WORSE THAN MEATLOAF from the school library. It disappeared from my..."
Laugh with the Moon
 
4.0
"Thirteen-year-old Clare Silver's world has been turned upside down: her mother recently passed away and her father moved them to..."
The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)
 
5.0
"Holy Han Solo, I can’t believe I missed Star Wars Reads Day! In belated honor of the day, I checked..."
Big Splash! (The Grunt and the Grouch)
 
5.0
"This is just the kind of book kids love. Two trolls, Grunty and Grouchy, live together in the most disgusting..."
The Princess Trap
 
3.0
"It’s been a year since Princess Jenna learned that she was royalty and had her world turned upside down. Unfortunately,..."
The Secret Tree
 
5.0
"Yup, I judged a book by it's cover. Not badly, mind you, but I wanted to read this book strictly..."
Oddfellow's Orphanage
 
4.5
"ODDFELLOW'S ORPHANAGE is a charming, magical little book with the same kind of lyrical, otherworldly quality as the Series of..."
Mason Dixon: Fourth-Grade Disasters
 
3.0
"Mason is leery of starting fourth grade-- not only does it mean being away from Dog, whom he has come..."
Jasper John Dooley: Star of the Week
 
5.0
"Jasper John Dooley can't wait to be the Star of the Week at school. He gets to star in a..."
School. Hasn't This Gone on Long Enough? (Dear Dumb Diary #13)
 
4.0
"Jamie Kelly might be my middle school alter ego, and not just because of our last names. She hates math,..."
Vive Le Paris
 
5.0
"Esme Raji Codell's writing makes you feel good. She has the ear of a teacher who has sat in the..."
Nerd Camp (Nerd Camp #1)
 
5.0
"There's never been a better time to be a nerd. Computer geeks run the world, math rock is a thing,..."
The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)
 
5.0
"Put down whatever you're reading and pick up THE STRANGE CASE OF ORIGAMI YODA, the most delightful middle grade novel..."