Review Detail

 
Latitude Zero Featured
Young Adult Fiction
(Updated: July 01, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Latitude Zero

Talk about whirlwind suspense, tension, and adventure that doesn't stop! I was hooked on the very first page of the latest Diana Renn novel. With all the talk lately on a lack of diversity in YA, this one is a perfect addition to that collection.

What worked: I loved how suspenseful and engaging this novel was! Readers are introduced to TV host Tessa who acts a little rebellious by riding 'Bandit' style in a cycling race for cancer. This act has her promptly fired from her children's TV show but that's not what gets to her. Right before the race, Juan Carlos, a cycling star, asks her to contact him as it's important. He dies before she can do this. At first she blames herself as she did cause a major accident during the race but later questions pop up on maybe there was much more to his death. She decides to go to Ecuador to find the truth even if that means it might put herself in danger.

One huge plus is the strong protagonist. Tessa is strong willed and doesn't give up. Her jerky former cyclist star boyfriend Jake shows his true colors more than a few times at the beginning and I'm glad that she has enough backbone to go with her gut feelings even if that means losing him. The story really comes to life when she journeys to Ecuador and volunteers with bringing bikes to the residences of this country. The Ecuadorian countryside is shown in brutal honesty from the rich residences complete with armed guards to the squalid of the poorer neighborhoods.

I liked the suspense and mystery on what might have really happened to Juan Carlos. The added possible romantic angle with Ecuadorian Santiago adds to the storyline. It's not over the top and she doesn't wait for him to solve the mystery but rather uses his help along the way.

Tessa is a great heroine that's strength adds much to this story. Renn doesn't just dwell on the Latin American country's corruption but equally shows others, like Tessa's host family, who want the best for Ecuador without doing illegal activities. The Spanish gives the story authenticity as it's right on. I can say this as I'm fluent in Spanish.

Another added bonus is readers get an insight into the world of professional cycling. Fascinating details along with other painful hidden glimpses into how this sport can be tainted by a few.

Fast-paced engaging adventure set in the world of professional cycling with a determined girl who sets out to resolve her friend of a wrongdoing. A must read for those who love suspense, adventure, and hints of romance set in a Latin American countryside.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Eye of Midnight
 
5.0
"Straitlaced Maxine and the impish Will come together in this nostalgic action adventure that will appeal to parents and children..."
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
 
4.5
"Reading FLORA AND ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo was an absolute joy. Children’s books are usually full of everything that’s normally..."
Jane, the Fox & Me
 
5.0
"This was not at all what I expected. I discovered a story about self-esteem, and bullying, and cruelty...."
The Boy on the Porch
 
4.0
"The Boy on the Porch is a beautiful story about family and love. It feels like a fable in the..."
Red Shirt Kids
 
5.0
"Your upper grade school child will be totally enthralled while reading this magical, mystery adventure novel! Not only will they..."
Mermin
 
3.5
"This was certainly meant for younger readers! It had a cutesy feel to it, but it was still fun to..."
Heart of Stone (Verity Gallant Tales)
 
5.0
"This is the epitome of middle grade fantasy, if you ask me. Set in the most perfect seaside, cliff-dotted town,..."
Eighth Grade Is Making Me Sick: Ginny Davis's Year in Stuff
 
4.0
"On a whim, I checked out MIDDLE SCHOOL IS WORSE THAN MEATLOAF from the school library. It disappeared from my..."
Laugh with the Moon
 
4.0
"Thirteen-year-old Clare Silver's world has been turned upside down: her mother recently passed away and her father moved them to..."
The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)
 
5.0
"Holy Han Solo, I can’t believe I missed Star Wars Reads Day! In belated honor of the day, I checked..."
Big Splash! (The Grunt and the Grouch)
 
5.0
"This is just the kind of book kids love. Two trolls, Grunty and Grouchy, live together in the most disgusting..."
The Princess Trap
 
3.0
"It’s been a year since Princess Jenna learned that she was royalty and had her world turned upside down. Unfortunately,..."
The Secret Tree
 
5.0
"Yup, I judged a book by it's cover. Not badly, mind you, but I wanted to read this book strictly..."
Oddfellow's Orphanage
 
4.5
"ODDFELLOW'S ORPHANAGE is a charming, magical little book with the same kind of lyrical, otherworldly quality as the Series of..."
Mason Dixon: Fourth-Grade Disasters
 
3.0
"Mason is leery of starting fourth grade-- not only does it mean being away from Dog, whom he has come..."
Jasper John Dooley: Star of the Week
 
5.0
"Jasper John Dooley can't wait to be the Star of the Week at school. He gets to star in a..."
School. Hasn't This Gone on Long Enough? (Dear Dumb Diary #13)
 
4.0
"Jamie Kelly might be my middle school alter ego, and not just because of our last names. She hates math,..."
Vive Le Paris
 
5.0
"Esme Raji Codell's writing makes you feel good. She has the ear of a teacher who has sat in the..."
Nerd Camp (Nerd Camp #1)
 
5.0
"There's never been a better time to be a nerd. Computer geeks run the world, math rock is a thing,..."
The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)
 
5.0
"Put down whatever you're reading and pick up THE STRANGE CASE OF ORIGAMI YODA, the most delightful middle grade novel..."