Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Great Fantasy

I was surprised that a book as sprawling and epic as this one is only book one in the series. It makes me giddy to think that we are going to continue on with the characters and world that I found myself instantly drawn into. The Burning Sky speaks well to the fantasy lover that I am and I loved how it mixed with historical fiction. Although it is a fantasy world there are elements of the real world mixed in. It was executed well as we drift between the two. There were a few points when I would get confused for a second but then as I continued reading my mind straightened out.

There are so many things I loved about the book but I especially enjoyed the character of Titus. He is not your typical prince. Rather than being unaware and protected in a bubble from the outside world, Titus is very well acquainted with the art of war. I’m not just meaning in the practical sense of the word but as well as political. He knows who and who doesn’t report to Atlantis and how to hold his cards close to his chest. He is also extremely clever and has not gone into action without having a plan and there is always a back-up plan brewing in his mind as well. I’m glad that he is also able to use mage powers and is not completely reliant on Iolanthe to save the world. He is able to add a little of his own contribution.

Iolanthe is also a character I enjoyed. It’s not often though that I like the main lead guy over the girl. Iolanthe is also clever and quick witted. We are talking about a girl who can fool a bunch of boys into thinking she is a boy. Not only that but be able to do things she had never even heard of before attending Eton college. Iolanthe is well aware of her powers but doesn’t quite understand the magnitude of who she is and who she has value to. In the book we see her really grow as she leaves her small town world.

The romance was completely adorable in this book. It made me smile at how adorably smitten the two of them are. There was just something innocent and pure about it. Like that first crush in high school. I love when the prince throws her off her feet or when she compltely astounds him.

I loved this book and I think if you are fan of fantasy mixed in with a little historical fiction you will love it too.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Jasmine Written by Jasmine
November 06, 2013
Adorable romance! I feel like "adorable" isn't something we often get in YA and I usually prefer it to loads of kissing.
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Children of Exile
Rosi must decide what she’s willing to risk to save...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Teeth of the Gods
Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Alfonso Jones
Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unearthed
From the New York Times best-selling author duo Amie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Boyfriend Agreement
Fake boyfriends are hard work. When 16-year-old Bella’s dream...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
Eighteen-year-old twins Adina and Tovah have little in common...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Believarexic
Asking for help is only the first step. ...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Graveyard Shakes
Katia and Victoria are sisters and scholarship students at a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Star Renegades
In the tradition of Star Wars, a galaxy-hopping space adventure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Tiny Perfect World
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers how...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last to Let Go
A twisted tragedy leaves Brooke and her siblings on their...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretty Dead Girls
Beautiful. Perfect. Dead. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
By a Charm and a Curse
A kiss is never just a kiss. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Naondel (The Red Abbey Chronicles #2)
Booklist called Maresi “utterly satisfying and completely different from standard...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Water Paint
Her mother died when she was twelve, and suddenly Artemisia...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Solo
 
5.0
"Told entirely in verse, Solo is a story full of love, loss, addiction and music. Like Kwame Alexander's previous books,..."
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
 
4.3
"A stirring, tuneful tale of familial ties—those that bind and those that constrain. This contemporary Middle Grade book..."
Wild Swans
 
4.0
"4.7 out of 5 stars! An emotional and captivating read. Filled with real life issues that are affecting most teenagers..."
Frozen Charlotte
 
5.0
"Sophie seems to have very bad luck when it comes to the supernatural, but she's never entirely sure that unexplained..."
Unforgivable
 
5.0
"Marcus saved Evie's life, and now she never wants to see him again. UNFORGIVABLE picks up right where INVINCIBLE left..."
Promises (New Beginnings #2)
 
3.7
"What I Loved: PROMISES by Michelle Lynn is a sweet and quick read. Let me first point out that..."
Choices (New Beginnings #1)
 
3.7
"What I Loved: CHOICES by Michelle Lynn is a sweet and quick read. Let me first point out that..."
Swan Boy
 
4.7
"Swan Boy by Nikki Sheehan made me incredibly angry. When the lead character, Johnny, moves with his family, he is..."
Suffer Love
 
5.0
"It's well-known that parents are scarce in YA literature. Either they're dead, or they're absent, or they're around but strangely..."
Losing Gabriel
 
4.7
"Losing Gabriel by Lurlene McDaniel is a story full of love, loss, and hope. The book follows the lives of..."
Don't Get Caught
 
4.0
"10:00 tonight at the water tower. Tell no one. -Chaos Club When Max receives a mysterious invite from the untraceable,..."
Don't Get Caught
 
4.7
"Max Cobb stars in this caper "Don't Get Caught"! In this fun and prank filled novel, Max Cobb along with..."
Suffer Love
 
3.3
"This book was told in the dual POVs of Hadley and Sam, two teenagers struggling with the consequences of choices..."
One Paris Summer
 
4.0
"Comment beau! One Paris Summer is a lovely summer read perfect for fans of The Statistical Probability of Love at..."
Suffer Love
 
4.3
"I have no words for this book. I’m having a hard time trying to express my thoughts about the book...."
Anything You Want
 
5.0
"Taco is an exuberant high school junior who is addicted to Maggie, a wild cheerleader whom he is dating. Her..."
Thicker Than Water
 
4.0
"Cecelia “CeCe” Price used to blend in at her school. Then, she became a drug dealer after watching her brother..."
Pretending to Dance
 
3.3
"Molly is settled and ready to adopt a baby with her loving husband in San Diego. When the adoption process..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
N/A
"When they were seven-years-old, Emmy and Oliver were best friends. Then Oliver’s dad kidnapped him and he wasn’t heard from..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
3.7
"If there’s anything you’re going to take away from this book, or a few other Robin Benway books, is that..."