Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Next Summer Review

I cannot wait to get my hands on the third book and see whats going on in the girls' lives.

Good Points
I bought Next Summer by Hailey Abbott and I am writing an honest review.

Next Summer is the second in the Summer Boys saga by Hailey Abbott, and since it is the second book I am not going to tell you what the book is about because there were a lot of spoilers. I will tell you about the characters though.

All of the characters are obviously returning characters, the main characters are sisters Ella, and Kelsi, and then their cousin Beth. The sub characters are George (I can’t tell you his role in the story because it’s a major spoiler!) Adam, Tim, and Jeremy (whom are new characters except for George)

Lets start off will Ella when we meet Ella in the first book she is labeled as basically a slut I guess you would say nobody calls her this to her face it’s just an accepted fact. She’s always fawning over guys and she can’t go a day without having one which of course causes problems for her. The sub character associated with Ella is the life guard Jeremy whom she meets through her cousin Beth. Jeremy is definitely not her type he’s completely shy and he likes to get to know a girl before he does “things” if you know what I mean so it is fun to watch how thins between these two fan out.

Next we have Ella’s older sister Kelsi who is single and trying to not be such a bore which she is according to her sister. I like Kelsi though the way she is normally she’s her own person very smart and she knows how to handle herself in certain situations but the only thing that sucks is that she is taken advantage of very easily because she’s so nice and easy going. The character associated with her is Tim. They meet at the annual beginning of the summer bon fire but they don’t exactly hit it off which makes their story interesting to read about as well.

Lastly, there is the cousin Beth. Now It’s going to be a little tough to talk about Beth and the guys associated with her without giving away spoilers so I’m going to try my hardest to say very little about all three of them. Beth is a sweet girl but she is very naive, she doesn't seem to see the good she has right in front of her which you’ll see if you read the book. The two guys associated with her are George who we meet in book one I happen to love George he is so adorable and funny and just all around amazing so it is sad that we don’t get to see a lot of him in the book but you know I’ll get over it. The second guy is Adam whom Beth meets on the beach while surfing because she accidentally gets ahead of herself and lets the tide pull her out to far, so yes this means that Adam is also a lifeguard and came to Beth’s rescue. Adam is a new character in this book so there was some getting used to. But I have to say for reasons I didn’t really enjoy the parts of the book he was in so I can’t say much about him.

Overall the book gets a 5 out of 5 stars because the crazy drama in the book had me turning pages non stop! I don’t know what it was but I could not put the book down not even in class which was not good but ya know a girls got to get her reading in.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Little Penguin Stays Awake
 
5.0
"All Little Penguin wants to do his fly like all of the other birds. His only hope is wishing on..."
Be Brave Little Penguin
 
5.0
"BE BRAVE LITTLE PENGUIN tells the story of Pip-Pip who is the smallest penguin in the group and is afraid..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Penguins Love Colors
 
4.5
" I could not be more obsessed with this book! I mean, just take a look at that cover and..."
Penguins Love Colors
 
5.0
"PENGUINS LOVE COLORS is such a bright colorful lovely story about six penguins who want to surprise their mother. They..."
Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups
 
4.0
"Little Penguin has a major dilemma. After a night of feasting on chili, the Little Penguin gets the hiccups. The..."