Along for the Ride

 
0.0
 
4.3 (26)
2832   4

User reviews

Filters 1 reviews with 2 stars

26 reviews

 
(17)
 
(6)
 
(2)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.4  (26)
 
4.2  (5)
 
4.2  (5)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
(Updated: August 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0

Not My Cup of Tea

Before a few weeks ago, I had never even so much as picked up a Sarah Dessen book, let alone read one. And, to be perfectly honest, I wasn't all that impressed. I would have been very disappointed if I had paid full price for it. But I purchased it along with That Summer and a few other books (some good and some dreadfully bad) at a yard sale for 50 cents each.

As much hype as Sarah Dessen gets, I expected this to be really good. I read That Summer as well, and found them both so hauntingly similar that I just had to skim through them before writing this review to remember what happened in which book. Of course, they have their subtle differences, but it's the same basic story structure.

Plot: Auden can't sleep. Eli can't sleep. They go shopping at a gas station at night. Or ride bikes/learn how to ride a bike. That's about it. The story had enough to go deeper, but the part that had the potential to be gripping and emotional wasn't delved into enough, in my opinion.

There is a subplot of Auden helping her stepmother, Heidi, with her new baby. I found myself pitying Heidi quite often, but it's an over done story line. Dad leaves for younger woman, but he wants nothing to do with their kid.

Characters: Auden is your typical stressed-by-parents-with-impossibly-high-standards girl that I've noticed a lot of in this genre lately. That's not to say that she wasn't likable. I did find myself rooting for her and Eli to get together, though.

Eli has this great back story of why he's the typical brooding-mysterious-hot-coveted guy we all know so much, but, as I mentioned above, it could have been done better.

Maggie, Leah and Esther were good for a few smiles throughout the story, but over all they were just typical teenage girls with nothing to make them stand out. Maggie has this great guy in love with her and everyone knows but her (big surprise there, right?), but she's to busy crying about the guy who hooked up with Auden right after they broke up. Just more typical characters with typical story lines.

I loved her brother, Hollis. He's traveling all over Europe dating tons of girls. I almost laughed when Heidi points out who the girl he ends up with resembles. Almost.

Writing Style: There was nothing that stood out about the way Sarah Dessen wrote to me. It wasn't bad, but I didn't find it mesmerizing either.

Overall: It really wasn't my cup of tea. Normally, I'm a huge fan of chick lit and curling up with a good romance book. There was just nothing special. I didn't find myself wishing I was Auden or wishing the guys at my school were more like Eli. It was just all very typical; when I was finished, I put them right into my own yard sale box.

Was this review helpful to you? 
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
 
5.0
"THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the..."
A Place for Turtles
 
5.0
"Books like this need to be written and read. Turtles are beautiful animals, but they have a hard time..."
Superlative Birds
 
4.7
"SUPERLATIVE BIRDS is an interesting read. Each spread features an illustrated bird with a superlative, such as “smelliest” or “longest..."
Origami Bible Stories For Kids
 
5.0
"They really thought of everything. This origami kit is more than just folding paper, every part of it..."
Baby Astronaut (Baby Scientist)
 
5.0
"In a cute board book, older infants and toddlers are introduced to outer space and space exploration. BABY ASTRONAUT teaches..."
Lost in Outer Space: The Incredible Journey of Apollo 13 (Lost #2)
 
5.0
"Thrilling and epic, LOST IN OUTER SPACE tells the harrowing story of the Apollo 13 mission as they learn that..."
Lost in the Pacific, 1942 (Lost #1)
 
4.3
"LOST IN THE PACIFIC, 1942 is a true story of survival. During World War II, a plane is on a..."
Lost in the Amazon (Lost #3): A Battle for Survival in the Heart of the Rainforest
 
5.0
"LOST IN THE AMAZON is the incredible true story of a plane crash survivor who survived in the Amazon rainforest..."
Pre-K Extra Big Skills Workbook: Ready for Reading (Scholastic Early Learners)
 
5.0
"READY FOR READING is a great way to introduce reading to your preschooler. The tasks start off simple like finding..."
Rocket Man: The Mercury Adventure of John Glenn
 
4.3
"Not only was John Glenn the first person to orbit the Earth, a military veteran, and politician, but he was..."
Dream Big
 
5.0
"DREAM BIG is a celebration of life and achievement. Featuring simple language and bright, colorful illustrations of famous women, this..."
Baby Oceanographer (Baby Scientist)
 
5.0
"This adorable board book uses simple language to explain ocean-related concepts to older infants and toddlers. From the animals that..."
20 Recipes Kids Should Know
 
5.0
"20 RECIPES KIDS SHOULD KNOW is written by children, so it's appealing for children. The recipes include ones that any..."
Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in Hitler's Germany
 
4.7
" The Summer Olympics will take place again in July 2020, and all eyes will turn to Tokyo, Japan as..."
I Wish I Was a Polar Bear
 
4.3
"Did you know that polar bear adults live alone? Or that the only enemies polar bears have are other polar..."
I Wish I Was a Wolf
 
4.3
"In this beginning leveled reader, we are introduced to how wolves live. From packs to dens, short, easy sentences describe..."
Share Your Smile: Raina's Guide to Telling Your Own Story
 
4.3
"In this how-to book, complete with pages for readers to take notes and doodle, Telgemeier gives practical hints on the..."
Hello, World! Moon Landing
 
5.0
"This charming and informative book introduces the details of the first trip to the moon in 1969. HELLO, WORLD! MOON..."
Kindergarten Skills Workbook: Counting to 100
 
5.0
"'Counting to 100,' a Scholastic workbook meant for kindergarten preparation, does a fine job of engaging young children and making..."
Lost in the Antarctic: The Doomed Voyage of the Endurance
 
5.0
"LOST IN THE ANTARCTIC takes you on the doomed, yet brave journey of the ship called the Endurance and its..."