13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelope #1)

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.2 (80)
17031   5

User reviews

80 reviews

 
(33)
 
(35)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.2  (80)
 
4.3  (4)
 
4.0  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
81 results - showing 51 - 60  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

my mysterious aunt!

Reader reviewed by Edith

13 little blue envelopes was a very interesting book. i loved the way the author described the places when Ginny gets to each place. the way Paris and Rome was described painted an exotic picture in my mind while i read it. i wish i had money to hop on a plane and fly to either place! It was really romantic when Keith showed up. i wish that there was a sequel to this great book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Not Your Typical "Chick Lit"

Reader reviewed by co-chan

This book is not what you would expect by looking at the cover. You might dismiss it as "just another teen romance", but it's not. It's the journey of a girl to unravel the mystery that is her late aunt. Along the way she may meet her love interest, but that relationship does not overwhelm the story
This book is more for girls 13+.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Fun and Adventurous

Reader reviewed by ambeen

I love love love Maureen Johnson. I have only read The Bermudez Triangle before (also reviewed here on this blog) but her blog (link to the right) is hilarious and I'm slowly reading her novels. Slowly because I have so much other crap to read for school and then the ARCs I happen to snag. Anyway, 13 Little Blue Envelopes was a really great novel from Maureen.

The idea of traveling throughout Europe on your own is something everyone wishes they were brave enough to do. And we all envy the ones who are brave enough. The novel shows that it is possible for anyone to do things that scare them or things they don't believe they could do. We can be brave while still being ourselves. It is a great message and a great book.

I highly recommend it and Maureen's other novels.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A Crazy Trip to Europe

Reader reviewed by the book muncher

One day, Virginia Blackstone, or Ginny, receives a letter from her dead aunt with instructions to go to a Chinese restaurant. There, Ginny receives a bundle of twelve letters, for a grand total of thirteen, thus naming the novel. Four simple rules are laid down by Peg, Ginnys aunt, and there are more instructions enclosed in each letter, to be opened at a specific place and time. All Ginny needs to do to begin her journey is fly to London. And so she does.

Ginny embarks on a crazy, all-over-the-place trip that takes her around Europe, to places that were significant to her aunt Peg. Along the way, she meets a playwright and used-to-be-thief named Keith, who she maybe falls in love with, many old friends of Peg, some new friends in various cities, and even an uncle she never knew she had. And during this journey, Ginny learns a lot about herself and her aunt Peg.

I found 13 Little Blue Envelopes to be a very well-written novel. Maureen Johnson is an amazing author and has proved herself again. I especially liked traveling with Ginny to all those amazing European cities and feeling like I was there beside her. Ginny's relationship with Keith is especially cute too. There were some parts of the book where I was a little confused, but the issue was always cleared up soon after. The idea behind the novel is original, and I found myself wishing I had a crazy aunt to send me on a strange trip to Europe. This was a realistic and very enjoyable read. I highly recommend this, and other Maureen Johnson books.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

This Book Is Amazing!

Reader reviewed by Hope

Ginny is off on a once-in-a-lifetime oppertunity: viewing the world outside her hometown and even the United States.

The one thing kind of wrong with this picture: she's folling directions found in thirteen little blue envolopes given to her after her [kind of] crazy dead aunt sent her.

13 Little Blue Envolopes will make you feel like you are going along with Ginny on this trip, you will feel what she feels, see what Ginny sees, and overall, just feel like you are traveling with her.

This is one of my favorite books, and I would recommend this to everyone. It might seem slow to begin with - it did with me - but it gets very interresting, and I found I couldn't put it down after the first few chapters.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Great!

Reader reviewed by Mary

13 Little Blue Envelopes = 13 Big Adventures

Ginny receives a pack of letters and some money from her now deceased Aunt. Her Aunt wants her to open only one letter at a time and do/go what/where they tell her. Ginny is soon launched into a series of adventures that she will never forget...


This book is a funny and entertaining novel. Throughout the whole novel you will find yourself guessing at the purpose of all the envelopes. The end of the book was a little unsatisfactory but it couldn't have ended any other way. It was a great read!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Great Read

Reader reviewed by Alexis

This was a good book. She gets an envelope and it tells her where to go to get her next clue. I thought this book would be dull, but it kept me reading till it was finished. I can't believe someone would actually make sure they completed a task before they continued on with their journey. I would be so scared! READ IT!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

What will she find?

Reader reviewed by Vicky

I love this book because it shows what can happen when you go on a cross-Europe trip, while also making it comical.

In this book, Ginny gets directions from her dead aunt to pack light and go to an address in Europe. While there, Ginny opens each letter only after she completes the tasks in the first ones. She meets an actor named Keith after having to be an anonymous donator to an artist. She shows him the evelopes and he decides to go some places with her. Together they go to a famous artists' house. At the train station, Keith tells Ginny about his life.

Later on in the book, Ginny meets new friends, and sees Keith again and again periodically throughout the book. Soon she realizes that the secret her aunt holds is not the only that she finds, but she also finds love as well. But what is the secret her aunt holds?

This book provided mystery and excitement, causing me to read it and finish it in one night. I fell in love with this book after one of my friends recommended it to me. I highly recommend it to anyone who reads romance.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Superb!

Reader reviewed by Mary

Ginny's aunt has died. But she's left something behind. 13 Little Blue Envelopes-each sets a task and the next should not be opened until the task is complete. The story is hilarious and entertaining. You will wish that her adventures would never end. While the ending isn't entirely satisfying it is the right ending for the book.

Maureen Johnson's writes the books excellently and Ginny is a believable character.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Excellent!!!

Reader reviewed by Samantha

This book is about a girl named Ginny. Her favorite aunt dies, but she is then sent a package from her aunt! She ends up being able to travel alll around europe, and meeting some good and bad people along the way. It is a great book and I recommend to everyone!

Was this review helpful to you? 
81 results - showing 51 - 60  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9  
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found