Review Detail

 
Young Adult Indie
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

All the Feels!

Legacy of Light by M. Lynn, Michelle Bryan picks up right where the first one left off. *Please note that if you have NOT read Prophecy of Darkness there are spoilers from that book in this review. Read at your own risk.* Trystan and Rissa are mourning the loss of Davi in their own ways, but they must go on. They have a mission: to return magic to Dreach-Sciene. But it isn’t simple and their journey has only just begun.

Prophecy of Darkness ended with some major cliffhangers: Davi’s death and true identity, the execution of the king, and the questionable nature of the Tri-Gard. I honestly was nervous opening this book. Second books tend to be a bridge between books in a trilogy. I’m happy to report that Legacy of Light does not fall prey to SBS (second book syndrome). In fact, I liked it even more than the first…if that’s possible! There are many twists and turns in the plot, along with some great character growth that culminates in a fantastic ending.

Trystan’s character continues to be an easy one to love. In the first book, he transitioned from the pampered prince to Toha. With his father’s death, he begins to make the reluctant transition to king of Drech-Sciene. He struggles, not so much with the pressures of king – he was born for that – but the loss of his father and best friend. With those losses, he also lost his sister. Rissa is in a very dark place. Her POV scenes were hard to read. She’s hurting that much! I ached for her and Trystan, for all they lost and all they are fighting for. It’s so much, almost too much to expect of a young king and his sister.

Trystan and Rissa have a long and hard journey in this book. Not only do they find out about their father’s murder, but that the kingdom believes them dead as well. They must fight for their kingdom AND complete the mission their father sent them out on. Magic is needed back in Dreach-Sciene, the sooner the better. The land is dying and their people along with it. I found myself cheering them on, cringing at the things they must do, and aching for their people and their hunger. The twists and turns in this book coupled with the action/fight scenes make it a quick read and one I was thoroughly invested in. The imagery is vivid, putting the reader right in the middle of the dying kingdom.

Overall I loved Legacy of Light. It was a dark turn in the story, but it proved to also be a strong companion to the first book. All the characters continued to grow and evolve to their new situations. The loss and hurt they felt, I felt as the reader. And Davi….don’t get me started. His whole arc has broken my heart and I’m honestly shocked at the turn! I’m SO excited that the last book in this series comes out in August…not such a long wait. If you’ve read the first book in the series, I highly recommend you read this one ASAP. It doesn’t disappoint!

*This review first appeared on Mom with a Reading Problem: https://www.momwithareadingproblem.com/2018/05/review-legacy-of-light-by-m-lynn-michelle-bryan/

Good Points
-Progression/Character Growth for all main characters
-So many twists and turns it is impossible to predict the ending
-Strong companion to Prophecy of Darkness
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
 
5.0
"THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
"Elidi is a Goddess, or she will be when she ascends but to do that she must survive an attack..."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
 
5.0
"Lemon's story focuses on finding an identity when you don't have one. She has to overcome her unforgettable name and..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."