Review Detail

 
Young Adult Indie
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

A Fun, Entertaining Read

'My Senior Year of Awesome' by Jennifer DiGiovanni is a fun, entertaining story about main character Sadie and the issues she faces - or feels she faces - when she's voted most likely to marry Andy Kosolowski. Not the coolest guy in school, everyone thought Andy was destined to win Most Likely to Succeed, raising Sadie's suspicions that he had something to do with rigging the vote to get her attention.

Sadie would much rather have the attention of Dominic, a good-looking - but not quite as smart - guy who starts paying her some attention when they are paired together as lab partners. Along with her best friend, Jana, Sadie makes a list of some of the items they want to check off of what can only be called their high school "bucket list," and they proceed to work through them one by one. High school didn't seem so exciting until they find themselves embroiled in issues beyond what they could have expected. From taking on roles in the school play to trying to snag two guys to kiss in one night, Sadie and Jana explore high school in a way they never have, and not always with the best results. When Andy finds out about their list of things to do and sees how he fits into it all, Sadie finds she has some explaining to do. She never thought she'd have to explain herself to him, especially since she never even found him attractive, but when circumstances change, life - and the decisions she has started to make regarding hers - starts getting in her way.

DiGiovanni has captured a slice of high school life that is all too true. Circumstances can change at a moment's notice, crushes can come out of nowhere, parents can sometimes seem more childlike than their own kids, and life can throw you for a loop, but high school is high school, and Sadie and Jana, in trying to make the most of it, come upon some much needed perspective about their own lives and how to handle them going forward.

Fans of contemporary romance will really enjoy 'My Senior Year of Awesome' by Jennifer DiGiovanni. She keeps the pages turning with a creative and sweet storyline that reflects so much of what high school can be about when you're stuck in the middle of it.

Good Points
DiGiovanni keeps the pages turning in this sweet and enjoyable contemporary romance.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

It's Kind of a Funny Story
 
3.5
"A mature contemporary YA, set in New York City. The story is told in first-person present-tense, exclusively from the perspective..."
Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack #1)
 
4.7
"This first-person present-tense piece of historical YA fiction begins a bit like a Charles Dicken’s work—eighteenth-century London, poor destitute orphan,..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
5.0
"Definitely the reason why I decided to reread this was because of the show. and now that I finished reading..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
3.7
"Thirteen Reasons Why (stylised as Th1rteen R3eason Why) follows shy high school teenager Clay Jensen. Clay has received a..."
Tiger Eyes
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars A great and emotional read. A young teenage girl; Davey struggles with the loss of her father..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
" 4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane is..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.0
"I (Erin) bought this one as a “blind date” from Malaprops. They wrap books in brown paper and write things..."
 
4.0
"The Deathday Letter by Shaun David Hutchinson is a young adult standalone novel. This is not the first book by..."
 
3.3
"Nick O’Leary, the straight bass player in queercore punk band, is playing at a club in downtown Manhattan when he..."
 
5.0
"This is not one of my favorite books, it's a bit too sad for me. I will say that this..."
Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush #1)
 
3.3
"When I first read this book in 2010 I hated it. I thought it was overrated and boring. It also..."
The Dead Girls' Dance (The Morganville Vampires #2)
 
5.0
"This installment starts right where Glass Houses ended, which is great because now we have no time lapse to try..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.7
"I love this series more than life itself. Georgia is hilarious and someone we can all relate to. Non-stop..."
 
3.7
"As the title suggests The Diary of a Part-Time Indian is written in a first person episodic diary format. The..."
 
4.0
"This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2016/12/summer-by-jeff-mariotte.html Kerry is far away from home, working a summer job..."
The Sleeper and the Spindle
 
4.5
"The Sleeper and the Spindle is a short illustrated novel by renowned genius Neil Gaiman that spins a clever twist..."
 
4.7
"The plot in itself made me curious to read it. And the story itself gave me a roller coaster ride...."
 
5.0
"Stargirl is short, sweet, and it makes you look at the world in a whole new way. Everyone should read..."