Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Friendship, Kindness, and Empathy

'Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13' by Barbara Roman, illustrated by Vladimir Cebu, is a sweet and heartwarming story about the beauty of getting to know how ideas shape our lives. When Alicia is magically transported from a department store to Star Factory 13, she begins to learn about all of the different light bulbs and their purposes in the grand scheme of life, as well as the night sky. The fact that she nor the lightbulbs can leave until they are "ready" presents the power of certainty in one's life and how moving on and having things work out just as expected is not always the norm.

Friendship, kindness, and empathy are but a few of the themes at work in Roman's story. Each idea creates a different form of motivation within the characters, and allows Alicia to summon the courage to stand up for herself and others. A tale that brings with it a healthy dose of morals and symbolism, 'Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13' is not your average story, and the illustrations help bring it to life all the more.

Good Points
Friendship, kindness, and empathy are but a few of the themes at work in Roman's story. Each idea creates a different form of motivation within the characters, and allows Alicia to summon the courage to stand up for herself and others.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Barbara Roman Written by Barbara Roman
March 02, 2018
Dear Beth. Thank you so much for the lovely review. I just discovered it and am so pleased you took the time and care to review my book.

Best,
Barbara Roman
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Out in Left Field
 
2.0
"In this sequel to When the Sergeant Came Marching Home (which I haven't read; it didn't affect my comprehension) set..."