Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

A Welcome Escape into Mystery and Fantasy

'The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis' by Hannah Hoffman is more than your run-of-the-mill fantasy story. When Billy and his friends find themselves transported to Pyranis after going to visit Billy's grandmother, rather than wondering how this happened and questioning anyone they can, they dive right into the adventure. In doing so, they meet Talia and Hugo, friends who help them make as much sense as they can about what they encounter, including bad guys who are hunting dragons. This prompts Billy and his friends to push themselves to do everything possible to protect the baby dragon that has come into their possession.

It would have been nice if the man who worked for Billy's grandmother had more explanation included about him. His ability to travel between worlds was made clear, but his purpose was not fully explored. It also was somewhat strange that even though Billy didn't seem to really know his grandmother since he mentioned recognizing her from a picture, that he talks about how she never mentions his grandfather. If he doesn't really know what she looks like, it likely stands to reason that he wouldn't talk to her much and therefore wouldn't know how often she talks about his grandfather.

The story uses simple words, but the author is a pre-teen girl, so this is not so unexpected. Even though there were times when more complex words may have helped the story become stronger, the simplicity of the words reflected the simplicity of the characters, and how they themselves didn't know much about their surroundings but were trying to make sense of it all as best they could. This is definitely a positive aspect of the story, as kids and pre-teens will find a stronger connection with the story and the ease with which it can be read and enjoyed.

In all, 'The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis' provides a welcome escape for readers who love mystery and fantasy. Hopefully Hoffman will continue her writing about Billy and the underwater archway that transports him and his friends to Pyranis. There are definitely more stories that can be told to explore everything Pyranis has to offer as well as Billy's family relationships.

Good Points
'The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis' provides a welcome escape for readers who love mystery and fantasy.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

I Believe in A Thing Called Love
 
4.7
"As someone who's deeply obsessed with K-dramas, reading this book was absolutely enjoyable. I was constantly reminded of some scenes..."
The Winner's Curse (Winner's Trilogy #1)
 
4.7
"Kestrel is the general's daughter and she gets to live the high life because of the land her father stole..."
The Row
 
4.3
"This book is one of the books I've been looking forward to reading. Even since I read the book description..."
Monstrous Beauty
 
3.0
"I don't read many books involving mermaids. Not since I was little, anyways. But these mermaids aren't how I..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.0
"In the year 1818, Alasdair Finch lives in a world where men have mechanical parts and live hidden away with..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.3
"This was one book I enjoyed thoroughly. I saw the cover and was interested right away. The tagline, all's fair..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
5.0
"I absolutely adored Rebel Mechanics. The voice is so strong throughout the story, and there is a perfect amount of..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
3.0
"For a school assignment, Laurel must write a letter to someone who has passed away. She chooses Kurt Cobain because..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
4.0
"Reading Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira was a somewhat strange experience. I knew from the start that..."
The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy #2)
 
5.0
"R.I.P. Kathy Lynn Frank Who died from an overdose of feels and a broken heart. May she come back..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
3.7
"Love Letters to the Dead is written exactly the way it sounds – as a series of letters. I’ve had..."
The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy #2)
 
5.0
JenJen
"This book ripped my heart out in that-this is an amazing second book-kind of way. (Here's hoping the final book..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
3.0
"For a school assignment, Laurel must write a letter to someone who has passed away. She chooses Kurt Cobain because..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
4.0
"I have conflicting feelings for this book. Love Letters to the Dead was great while I was reading it, but..."
The Winner's Curse (Winner's Trilogy #1)
 
3.7
"MY OPINION This is such an overly hyped book. Everyone is giving this book 5 glowing stars. And then..."
Unremembered (Unremembered #1)
 
4.3
"Unremembered was a roller coaster ride of a story, and I loved it. I don't even like roller coasters. ..."
52 Reasons to Hate My Father
 
5.0
"This was my favorite book of the month. So touching and so funny. I finished it and gave it too..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
5.0
"What I Loved Was Everything: Much of the time, I know, give or take a star, what I’ll be rating..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
5.0
"Unique twist on a tale of lost and acceptance. I loved the premise of a teen writing letters to..."