Review Detail

 
Kids Indie
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0

Great Middle-grade Treasure Hunt

‘Keys to the Sun’ tells the adventures of two brothers, Lucas and Parker Chase. They are in New Orléans to visit a family friend ‘Aunt Ruby’. While there they and a new friend, Nicole(Cole), find a map that leads them on a treasure hunt around the French Quarter.
.
What I loved



What Left Me Wanting More

First off, this book read like a middle-grade novel but with there were a few words that would be inappropriate for this target age. The clues and the treasure hunt around the city left me often confused. The descriptions of the layout of ‘Twilight Oaks’ was very intricate and really didn’t add much to the story. I also didn’t understand how the kids figured out many of the clues they found.
I was not at all ready for the paranormal elements of the story. They felt out-of-place and as if they were part of another book. I would have enjoyed the story more if the paranormal elements were just left out.
The clueless and self-absorbed behavior of Parker and Lucas’ parents made little sense to me. They never seemed to care much what their teenagers were up to. I also just never really understood ‘Aunt Ruby’s’ behavior throughout the story.

My Final Verdict

‘Keys to the Sun’ explores a fresh and interesting premise of a treasure hunt in NOLA. The story has a fascinating premise and incorporates some great NOLA history into the adventure.

Good Points
I loved the idea of a hidden map that gives clues to a hidden treasure. I also loved that the story incorporated a lot of New Orléans history. An example of this is the haunting story of the casket girls who arrived in the city with casket trunks and then promptly disappeared.
I found the prose well done and easy to read. I did also love the characters of Cole, Parker, and Lucas and I loved brother’s interaction with each other.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

I Believe in A Thing Called Love
 
4.7
"As someone who's deeply obsessed with K-dramas, reading this book was absolutely enjoyable. I was constantly reminded of some scenes..."
The Winner's Curse (Winner's Trilogy #1)
 
4.7
"Kestrel is the general's daughter and she gets to live the high life because of the land her father stole..."
The Row
 
4.3
"This book is one of the books I've been looking forward to reading. Even since I read the book description..."
Monstrous Beauty
 
3.0
"I don't read many books involving mermaids. Not since I was little, anyways. But these mermaids aren't how I..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.0
"In the year 1818, Alasdair Finch lives in a world where men have mechanical parts and live hidden away with..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.3
"This was one book I enjoyed thoroughly. I saw the cover and was interested right away. The tagline, all's fair..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
5.0
"I absolutely adored Rebel Mechanics. The voice is so strong throughout the story, and there is a perfect amount of..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
3.0
"For a school assignment, Laurel must write a letter to someone who has passed away. She chooses Kurt Cobain because..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
4.0
"Reading Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira was a somewhat strange experience. I knew from the start that..."
The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy #2)
 
5.0
"R.I.P. Kathy Lynn Frank Who died from an overdose of feels and a broken heart. May she come back..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
3.7
"Love Letters to the Dead is written exactly the way it sounds – as a series of letters. I’ve had..."
The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy #2)
 
5.0
JenJen
"This book ripped my heart out in that-this is an amazing second book-kind of way. (Here's hoping the final book..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
3.0
"For a school assignment, Laurel must write a letter to someone who has passed away. She chooses Kurt Cobain because..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
4.0
"I have conflicting feelings for this book. Love Letters to the Dead was great while I was reading it, but..."
The Winner's Curse (Winner's Trilogy #1)
 
3.7
"MY OPINION This is such an overly hyped book. Everyone is giving this book 5 glowing stars. And then..."
Unremembered (Unremembered #1)
 
4.3
"Unremembered was a roller coaster ride of a story, and I loved it. I don't even like roller coasters. ..."
52 Reasons to Hate My Father
 
5.0
"This was my favorite book of the month. So touching and so funny. I finished it and gave it too..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
5.0
"What I Loved Was Everything: Much of the time, I know, give or take a star, what I’ll be rating..."
Love Letters to the Dead
 
5.0
"Unique twist on a tale of lost and acceptance. I loved the premise of a teen writing letters to..."