Filters
14 results - showing 1 - 14  
 
Ordering 
 
Details
Ratings
The Enemy Above
Kids Fiction 2491   0
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community of Ukrainian Jews are hiding from the advancing Nazis troops, and from the Gestapo, in a web of underground caves, and one officer in particular, Major Karl Von Duesen, is determined to catch or kill every Jew he can find--but...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
HiddenLikeAnneFrank.jpg
Kids Nonfiction 541   0
Jaap Sitters was only eight years old when his mother cut the yellow stars off his clothes and sent him, alone, on a fifteen-mile walk to hide with relatives. It was a terrifying night, one he would never forget. Before the end of the war, he would hide in secret...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hidden Gold - A True Story of the Holocaust
Young Adult Nonfiction 567   0
It's 1942, and the Nazis are rounding up Jews in the Polish town of Pinczow for transport to the Treblinka death camp. Leib and Hanna Gold thought they had more time to develop an escape plan. While Leib leaves to negotiate a hiding place, Hanna and their children, Shoshana, Esther,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose Under Fire (Code Name Verity #2)
Young Adult Fiction 1275   1
While flying an Allied fighter plane from Paris to England, American ATA pilot and amateur poet, Rose Justice, is captured by the Nazis and sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious women's concentration camp. Trapped in horrific circumstances, Rose finds hope in the impossible through the loyalty, bravery...
 
4.7
 
4.7 (1)
Prisoner B-3087
Prisoner B-3087 Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2655   0
Survive. At any cost. 10 concentration camps. 10 different places where you are starved, tortured, and worked mercilessly. It's something no one could imagine surviving. But it is what Yanek Gruener has to face....
 
4.2 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond Courage: The Untold Story of Jewish Resistance During the Holocaust
Kids Nonfiction 1096   0
In a stirring chronicle, Doreen Rappaport brings to light the courage of countless Jews who organized to sabotage the Nazis and help other Jews during the Holocaust. Under the noses of the military, Georges Loinger smuggles thousands of children out of occupied France into Switzerland. In Belgium,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Year of Goodbyes: A true story of friendship, family, and farewells
Kids Nonfiction 857   0
This book tells the true story of what happened to a 12-year-old girl named Jutta (Debbie Levy’s mother) in 1938. Actual entries in a posiealbum (autograph book) serve as stepping stones in a crucial year in history, when people of Jewish ancestry in Germany and Austria were systematically stripped of...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Memories of Anne Frank: Reflections of a Childhood Friend
Kids Nonfiction 1371   0
Hannah Goslar lived next door to Anne Frank in Amsterdam. In this touching memoir, as told to Alison Leslie Gold, Hannah recalls the funny, bright girl who suddenly disappeared from her life -- until they met again at a concentration camp.
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Guardian Angel House
Kids Fiction 759   0
Susan is afraid. It's 1944, and she knows the world has become a dangerous place for Jews. Now that the Nazis have invaded Hungary, nowhere is safe, including her home in Budapest. But when Mama decides to send Susan and her little sister, Vera, to a Catholic convent to hide...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hiding Edith: A True Story
Kids Nonfiction 948   0
Hiding Edith Tells The True story of Edith Schwalb, a young Jewish girl sent to live in a safe house after the Nazi invasion of France. Edith's story is remarkable not only for her own bravery, but for the bravery of those that helped her: an entire village, including its...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
No Pretty Pictures: A Child of War
Kids Nonfiction 876   0
The beloved Caldecott Honor artist now recounts a tale of vastly different kind -- her own achingly potent memoir of a childhood of flight, imprisonment, and uncommon bravery in Nazi-occupied Poland. Anita Lobel was barely five when the war began and sixteen by the time she came to America from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
14 results - showing 1 - 14  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pashmina
Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
How to Disappear
Vicky Decker has perfected the art of hiding in plain...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Penguins Love Their ABC's
Six of the most appealing penguins ever (featured in Sarah...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even Fairies Fart
Turns out nobody is perfect! Queens and kings; giants and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
Full of funny faces, underwater friends, and razzle dazzle seaweed...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found