Reviews written by Nicholette Tilghman

120 results - showing 1 - 15  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  
Ordering 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   September 17, 2014
(Updated: September 17, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

History Sprinkled with Magic

I was initially interested in this book, since it centers entirely around the French Revolution and features the embellished story of the young princess Marie-Therese. This book does quite the job of inserting historical facts here and there in a way that I am sure would help any student learning...

Young Adult Fiction
Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   September 16, 2014
(Updated: September 16, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Utterly Gripping

You know how you just want to kill some characters for being way too curious, leading to their inevitable demise? As a warning, this is how you will feel, over and over again, with Emmeline...but can you really blame her? This story has so many curious mysteries about it that...

Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   August 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Grand Middle-Grade Fantasy!

AHHHH!! Can I give this a 6 out of 5 stars? From the first few pages, I just KNEW, knew deep within me, that I was going to love this book. And it turns out, I was right! Though I feel like The Luck Uglies suffers from it's title, which...

Kids Fiction
Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   August 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Simply Adorable Story-Telling

Uni the Unicorn, in one reading, completely captured the hearts of my girls, and it is definitely understandable: the fantastic and whimsical, and yet oh-so-beautiful and vibrant pictures deserve to be framed and put on the walls of any girls room. And the cute, well-written story has the best twist...

Young Adult Fiction
Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   August 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Get Inside of the French Revolution

In Madame Tussaud's Apprentice, we meet a young woman named Celie, whose life has been shattered due to the selfishness and neglect of the royalty of France. Thrust onto the streets, she befriends Algernon, and together they try to survive by stealing as a team. Once they get caught, however,...

Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   August 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Sometimes the Past is the Key to our Future

In The Time of the Fireflies, twelve-year-old Larissa Renaud immediately reveals her chaotic family life and her inner turmoil as a result by showing us her home (an old antique store), her worried and pregnant mother, and the deep scar that lines her face, a symbol of the bad luck...

Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   July 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0

Laughed into Marty's World

A fabulous glimpse into the sometimes crazy, always fun world of talent shows at school, Marty McGuire Has Too Many Pets was a great introduction to Marty McGuire, who already has a few chapter books out. I appreciated Marty's bravado and incredible love of animals, and as a child...

Young Adult Fiction
Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   July 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Southern Belle to Emulate

In Strands of Bronze and Gold, Jane Nickerson took on a retelling of the old tale of Bluebeard in a fantastic, mysterious, story, mixing elements of the gothic, the South, fairy tales, and murder-mysteries. It therefore follows that I would be instantly attracted to The Mirk and Midnight Hour, yet...

Kids Fiction
Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   July 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Different Look at Slave History

Jem is a slave who must escape to a freed-slaves colony in Florida, after being set into the care of Phaedra, a mysterious but toughened woman with whom he must travel and remain once they arrive at Fort Mose, which is held by the Spanish. As he learns to live...

Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   July 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

A Taste of Environmental History

I picked up John Muir: America's First Environmentalist, because I have always had a deep appreciation for the natural world and its preservation. I knew that Muir had founded the Sierra Club and that there was a backcountry trail near Yosemite named after him, but beyond that I had not...

Kids Fiction
Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   July 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Another Book that Inspires Empathy

I had the privilege of reading and reviewing The Secret Tree a couple of years ago, and so I was excited to dig into Switched at Birthday, which turned out to be another great book by Natalie Standiford. In it, we get the classic combination of the popular, pretty girl...

Kids Fiction
Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   July 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0

Why Not Aim Higher?

Though I am not a particular fan of the style of this book, many are. Peter Reynolds is a beloved illustrator by many, and his brother has written a short story to team with his work that, in a very small space, plants a seed of creativity and inspiration that...

Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   July 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Always Fun and Chuckle-Inducing

What can I say that hasn't already been said? The Pigeon Needs a Bath is as fun as (picture book) reading gets. A grumpy pigeon, in denial of his stench, not only finds that he does, indeed, need a bath...but he actually enjoys bathtime! And what little kid won't find...

Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   July 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

A Day of Fun with Dad!

Anna Dewdney's famous "Llama Llama" series is a treat to read and has always put a smile on my face. She covers the simplest, most basic, yet most pertinent aspects of parenting, so that the child and the parent reading are nodding their heads in understanding. She now has given...

Nicholette TilghmanNicholette Tilghman   July 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Find the Dragon, Explore His World

In Have You Seen My Dragon, a little boy's city springs to life through intricate black-and-white drawings, dotted throughout with bursts of colorful images, from ice cream cones to traffic lights. Not only will your child love finding the easy-to-spot dragon performing all sorts of silly antics, she will have...

120 results - showing 1 - 15  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Tom Gates: Extra Special Treats (Not) (Tom Gates #6)
 
4.0
"When Marcus Meldrew gets a Star Pupil Badge, Tom decides that he will try to mend his ways and earn..."
The Pudding Problem (Lyttle Lies #1)
 
4.5
"Sam doesn't tell the truth as much as he should, so his mother is not sure who broke her prized..."
Winter Wonders (Cupcake Cousins #3)
 
5.0
"After their adventures in Cupcake Cousins and Summer Showers, cousins Willow and Delia are back with their family in Michigan,..."
Applesauce Weather
 
4.0
"Faith and her brother Peter live with their parents on a farm that used to belong to their Aunt Lucy,..."
The Secret Daughter of the Tsar
 
4.3
"The Secret Daughter of the Tsar is a carefully woven tale of three lives, converging in a powerful ending that..."
The Forget-Me-Not Summer
 
4.0
"Marigold's father is a screenwriter, and she's very excited that she might be getting a real agent, after appearing in..."
Adventures with Waffles
 
4.5
"Translated from the Norwegian by Guy Puzey, first published in 2005. Lena and Trille live in a small coastal..."
The Midnight Door (Scare Scape #2)
 
4.5
"Just when Morton thinks that all of his Scare Scape toys are no longer going to attack him and his..."