Reviews written by Lorrie

67 results - showing 1 - 15  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   September 08, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Phenomenal

I am honestly floored by The Hate U Give. Everything about this novel touched me in irrevocable ways and I like to think that my eyes have been opened even further to the issues POC face, not only in America, but across the world too. From the...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   August 16, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Monstrously Interesting Fantasy

This Savage Song is a uniquely peculiar novel that cleverly combines magic, monsters and music. Dark, violent and monstrous, the novel is a real slow-burn that leaves you wanting to know more. I really had no idea what to expect going into this novel. I have only...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   July 29, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

An unique take on a classic story

Fairytale retellings are notoriously difficult to pull off – at least so far as this reader is concerned – but Marissa Meyer managed to successfully do just that by expanding on the humdrum classic that is Cinderella with a fresh cast, captivating setting and world-building, and an extraordinary plot. ...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   July 18, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A life-affirming, heartbreaking novel

I think we all know what to expect from a book entitled They Both Die at the End; nevertheless, reading the actual novel was an anxious experience: my eyes were glued to every page, waiting for the ball to drop, for something terrifying to happen. You expect the book to...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   June 02, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Unique and intriguing!

Tara Sim’s debut novel was a delightful, utterly unique tale with a steampunk twist. The story was magical, the characters sweethearts, and the writing simply eloquent. For my first steampunk novel, this was a treat! In an alternate Victorian world where time is regulated by mechanical clock...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   May 24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

One word: INCREDIBLE

I am still reeling from the perfection that was this book. One of Us is Lying is a refreshing take on the YA contemporary/mystery, loosely inspired by The Breakfast Club, but with a hint of murder, scandals, and romance. This remarkably well-written novel has fast become one...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   May 24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A fun and surprisingly dark adventure

Royal Bastards was one of my most anticipated releases of 2017. An epic fantasy adventure with a hint of history and a whole lot of magic, Andrew Shvarts debut was a wild, hilarious ride that I could not put down. The novel follows Tilla, the bastard of...

LorrieLorrie   May 17, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Impressive and wonderful

If These Vicious Masks was an impressive novel, These Ruthless Deeds is an exceptional one. I don’t think it is possible for me to fault the novel in anyway. The storyline is fast and intriguing, the characters lovable and entertaining, and the writing flawless. I think I spot a new...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   May 17, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A masterful novel of murder, scandal and romance

I am still reeling from the perfection that was this book. One of Us is Lying is a refreshing take on the YA contemporary/mystery, loosely inspired by The Breakfast Club, but with a hint of murder, scandals, and romance. This remarkably well-written novel has fast become one...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   May 09, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0

A semi-satisfying conclusion, but mainly disappointed

To invoke Ross Geller, I think Sarah J. Maas and I need to go on a break. A Court of Wings and Ruin is perhaps the most highly anticipated novel of 2017. I know it, you know it, your old neighbour who doesn’t even know what YA...

LorrieLorrie   April 24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0

A disappointing conclusion

The fourth and final book in The Raven Cycle was perhaps one of the most highly anticipated YA novels of 2016. I pre-ordered the novel months in advance and screamed in joy when it finally arrived. My family knows better than to speak to me when I read, so I...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   April 24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Unique, tender and sweet

This book was touchingly beautiful. Cath was a perfect protagonist and I connected with her quite intimately. Despite the heartbreak, the book was also funny and I loved the inclusion of quotes from the Simon Snow series and Cath's fan fiction. Also, be prepared to cry a lot. ...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   April 24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Disappointing

I am definitely going against the grain with my review of The Upside of Unrequited, but hear me out. I enjoyed the novel, but did I like it as much as Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda? Sorry, but no. It’s probably unfair to compare these books...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   April 24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0

Underwhelming and disappointing

The second and final book that began with The Wrath and the Dawn was a underwhelming ending to an intriguing story. In the sequel, Shahrzad and Khalid are separated after a devastating attack on the capital city. Shazi finds herself in the midst of the enemy’s army...

Young Adult Fiction
LorrieLorrie   April 03, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A heartbreaking yet hopeful journey ... with aliens

We Are the Ants follows Henry Denton in the worst year of his life. His mother is struggling to keep the family together; his brother is a college dropout with a pregnant girlfriend; his grandmother’s Alzheimer’s is progressively getting worse; his boyfriend committed suicide the previous year, and the guy...

67 results - showing 1 - 15  
1 2 3 4 5  
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
How To Hang A Witch
 
3.7
"Original Review Located: http://www.literarychaos.com/ Being the history buff that I am, I was so excited to read this novel...."
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
 
5.0
"I've never read something that was written as if it's for a movie screenplay! WHAT I LIKED ..."
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card
 
4.0
"What worked: This memoir is the account of an undocumented teen living in the US during the 90s. She gives..."
The Stars Beneath Our Feet
 
5.0
"When Lolly's older brother Jermaine dies, Lolly is filled with anger and guilt. He's uncertain about how to move forward..."
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: White people like me are unlikely to get this book or get much from it either. It’s..."
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
 
5.0
"I HAVE NEVER CRIED SO HARD READING A BOOK. Or laughed. Or laughed AND cried at the same time. I..."
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
 
4.7
"I was excited to be asked to read and review I AM NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER. I love stories..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Wild Bird
 
3.7
"What worked: Insightful tale of a rebellious teen who is sent to a wilderness survival camp in the middle of..."
Rickety Stitch and the Gelatinous Goo: The Road to Epoli
 
3.5
" In this lengthy graphic novel, we meet Rickety Stitch, who is an undying, animated skeleton who is unclear about..."
10 Things I Can See From Here
 
4.0
"What worked: This is an authentic portrayal of a teen who deals with severe anxiety. I know, as I deal..."
Two Boys Kissing
 
4.7
"Two Boys Kissing is an utterly unique novel, not only in its structure but in its innovative exploration of LGBTQI+..."
The Secret Life of Lincoln Jones
 
4.0
"Lincoln and his mother have left their home in another city to flee the mother's abusive boyfriend and moved near..."
Everyone We've Been
 
4.3
" UGH! I have so many feelings for this book! It’s so good and I’m really wondering why people aren’t..."
Beast
 
5.0
"What worked: I totally fell in love with this book. There are so many feels in this story-first love;..."
The Trouble with Twins
 
3.5
"A young girl's mother tells her the story of twins: Arabella Osgood, who was very pretty, and Henrietta, who was..."
Ninja Bunny: Sister vs. Brother
 
4.5
"Ninja Bunny is an adorable and funny story of sister vs. brother. With adorable illustrations and hand drawn letters, this..."
All the Bright Places
 
5.0
"I love this book. I’ve been on the look out for this book since I saw it on Netgalley but..."
The Case of the Girl in Grey (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 2)
 
4.5
"The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency is on their next big case. This time, they are investigating a mysterious engagement, possibly a..."