Reviews written by Jazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer

26 results - showing 1 - 15  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   November 14, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Good and Gone by Megan Frazer Blakemore

Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother, Charlie, is in a slump. One day he was away at school, the next, he's a permanent fixture in the house, on the couch, and in every crevice...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   November 13, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Release by Patrick Ness

Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated. Release is a sort-of coming-of-age story. Our MC, is out of the closet, sort of. He has one foot in, and one...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   September 26, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton

While this read wasn't incredibly action-packed, there was something incredibly powerful in it. Adam is crazy. At least that's the way he sees it. He hears voices, and sees things that only exist inside his mind. By society's standards he'd be considered crazy. But medically speaking,...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   September 26, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Trell by Dick Lehr

This book lives up to all it claims to be. Gripping and thrilling, indeed it was. I loved the juxtaposition of the past and the future. While the story is told in the now, It feels like you're right there with them every time they talked...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   July 05, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Secret History Of Us

Ahh, good ol' amnesia, and accidents. Nothing like a story that you have to piece together. Makes me feel like Sherlock Holmes--and I love Sherlock Holmes. In the case of this book, I was Sherlock Holmes,--who deduced the entire mystery of the story in a short couple...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   June 28, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Remember Me Forever

This is one of the very few books that I found it hard to say farewell to. With characters that gave me something to root for, and something to long for--I definitely found it hard to say goodbye. This is one of those series, that I think...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   June 26, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Missing

With strong characters, a deserving hero, and heroine--I'd want to give this five stars--but the points in which it failed--makes it impossible for me to do so. What I liked:Again the strong characters, every character had their own believable story. I rooted for every character--well aside from...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   March 24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Vigilante

This story's strength and focus is female empowerment, and while I am always here for female togetherness--the lack of realism in this novel dragged down an otherwise decent read. Hadley's best friend is dead. She committed suicide after battling the after effects of being raped. After being...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   January 11, 2017
(Updated: January 11, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Thriller With A Great Setting, and Intriguing Characters

The setting of this book did not disappoint. I could envision this part of Africa in my mind--although I don't believe the actual city the author chose is real, but still. It was like a part of it was with me while I read. This one was...

Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   January 05, 2017
(Updated: January 05, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Quirky Mystery, Reminiscent of the Scooby Doo Gang, Only Smaller...

We Knew It Was You is a quirky mystery with characters that are both the worst and the best at solving crimes. These characters have on emission, and that is to stop crimes--but not put themselves in danger, at least not to much. Benny and Virginia aren't...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   January 04, 2017
(Updated: January 04, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

An Adorable, Swoon-Worthy Read

People may think me harsh when it comes to reviews. But, I like to think that I'm just honest. I don't know about you but I definitely want to read a review that is true to it's word, literally. I don't want to read a review by a reviewer I...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   January 02, 2017
(Updated: January 02, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Important, Timely, and Heart-breaking-ly Tragic

I really wanted to be articulate here. I wanted to make sure that I didn't say anything to sway anyone from this book. I wanted to make sure that I did the book justice. I had so many, "I want to make sure's," that I almost talked myself out of...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   December 05, 2016
(Updated: December 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Stunning, gritty debut with a shocking ending.

At the core of this story, is a stunning and realistic tale of poverty, and hardships. Jackson does an amazing job of painting a true to life picture, of life in "prison," and the struggles of a young girl, just dealing with a lot. Needless to say...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   December 05, 2016
(Updated: December 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

An heart-pounding mystery with an ending that unfortunately falls flat.

A heart-pounding mystery that keeps you on the edge of your seat, until you fall right off, flat on your face with disappointment. This book did so well until it got to the end. Let's talk about the story a bit first... Five boys went into the...

Young Adult Fiction
Jazmen Greene, Staff ReviewerJazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer   October 26, 2016
(Updated: October 26, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Baby? Oh, Baby...

The Baby was not at all what I was expecting. The cover paints this picture, as if this book was to be a lighter contemporary--when it fact it's not all that light. It tackles more serious topics than it does anything fun. True to the title, The Baby is...

26 results - showing 1 - 15  
1 2  
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."