Reviews written by Michael Thal

2 results - showing 1 - 2  
 
Ordering 
 
Michael ThalMichael Thal   May 09, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Midwest Book Review says:

In the "The Legend of Koolura" Michael Thal takes young readers on an adventure that couples magic super powers with the everyday life of intermediate grade students. Through his main character, Koolura Akopyan, a young sixth grade girl, Thal explores the complexities of school kid friendships, the adjustments needed to...

Young Adult Fiction
Michael ThalMichael Thal   May 07, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Psychologist speaks out

It's not often that a book aimed at "Young Adults" makes me want to cry. Michael Thal managed this with his story of David, a violin virtuoso who suddenly went profoundly deaf the day after his twelfth birthday. Goodbye Tchaikovsky is excellent on many levels. ...

2 results - showing 1 - 2  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Pirate Queen: The Legend of Grace O'Malley
A captivating retelling of the story of Grace O’Malley, the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Call It a Doomsday
There are many ways the world could end. A fire....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The moment I declared the last word, I felt a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Uncle John's Smell-O-Scopic Bathroom Reader for Kids Only!
 
5.0
"This book is chock full of trivia guaranteed to keep any child interested for hours on end. From typical bathroom..."
Justin Bieber: Just Believe
 
3.7
"What I loved: This is a great primer for newer, younger Bieber fans. Brooks and Hodgin take us through Justin's..."
One Direction: Quiz Book
 
5.0
"What I loved: You can't go wrong when you pair photos of everyone's favorite boy band with lots of quiz..."
Taylor Swift: The Story of Me
 
3.0
"What I loved: There is a lot of information about Taylor Swift out there, but this book keeps all..."
One Direction: Straight to the Top
 
3.3
"What I loved: While this isn't the most comprehensive book about One Direction on the market, it's a great..."