Review Detail

(Updated: July 02, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Life Inside My Mind

This is a raw, honest portrayal of YA authors struggles with mental health. Thirty-one authors share their stories which include experiences with depression, OCD, PSTD, bipolar disorder, chemical addiction, and anxiety. Each story doesn't hold back and in doing so shows that it's okay to admit you struggle with mental health. By doing this, the stigma against mental health is decreased.

Some stories:

Ellen Hopkins's shares the story of her taking care of her grandchildren from her meth addicted daughter. This heart-wrenching tale shares one of her grandchildren's struggles with mental health. Mostly though this tale shows the power of hope and love.

Jennifer Armentrout's story rang so true to my own struggles with depression. That one person's battles might not be someone else's and we shouldn't be quick to judge others who don't have similar experiences.

Jessica Burkhart's tale is very honest and raw on anxiety and the daily battle with a prescription.

Melissa Marr nails how it is to live with PSTD.

Tara Kelly's portrayal of living with anxiety includes things that have helped her like mediation, yoga, and exercise. But I totally love how she mentions knowing that there's no magic cure and to be okay with that.

Finally, I loved how Cindy Rodriguez points out the discrepancy of how movies, TV shows, books don't show Latinos struggling with mental health issues with the reality. National health organizations report Latinxs are at a higher risk for depression than other minorities, but most of those with mental health issues don't get treatment.

There's other stories of author's struggles with anxiety that resonated so much with me. It really helps to know that you're not the only one who might deal with mental health issues. I also loved that these authors were able to share their own experiences.

Unflinching look into YA authors who deal with their mental health issues. By doing this, hopefully it will open up a honest and nonjudgmental discussion about mental health and lessen the terrible stigma that continues to follow it.

Good Points
1. Raw, honest portrayal of YA authors struggles with mental health
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Little Penguin Stays Awake
 
5.0
"All Little Penguin wants to do his fly like all of the other birds. His only hope is wishing on..."
Be Brave Little Penguin
 
5.0
"BE BRAVE LITTLE PENGUIN tells the story of Pip-Pip who is the smallest penguin in the group and is afraid..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Penguins Love Colors
 
4.5
" I could not be more obsessed with this book! I mean, just take a look at that cover and..."
Penguins Love Colors
 
5.0
"PENGUINS LOVE COLORS is such a bright colorful lovely story about six penguins who want to surprise their mother. They..."
Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups
 
4.0
"Little Penguin has a major dilemma. After a night of feasting on chili, the Little Penguin gets the hiccups. The..."