Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

The ending is really sad :'(

Reader reviewed by Grace

Of Mice & Men is the story of George and Lennie, two migrant workers wandering in California. George is a small but caring man, who is left to take care of Lennie when his aunt dies. Lennie is a large man with the mind of a child and likes to pet soft, pretty things. When Lennie scares a girl by touching her dress, he and George run away and find jobs at a ranch. George constantly complains about having no freedom because of Lennie, but deep down he always takes care of Lennie and wants the best for him. They have a dream of owning a farm someday, but when the inevitable happens, it is George's moral responsibilty to do what he has to do.

I had to read this book for English class, and it's actually a very good book. The best part of it was the ending, which was very sad and kind of depressing, but eventually you will understand why George had to do what he did. There are many complex themes and foreshadowing in this book, and Steinbeck did a good job showing them. I think teens will find Steinback's narration of the story boring,the way I did, but really love the plot.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Ivy Written by Ivy
April 11, 2012
Yes, the ending was sad, but it was such a good ending!
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Silent
For fans of The Book Thief and Raiders of the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
House of Furies
An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfall
A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. Keep calm and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History of Hilary Hambrushina
Hilary has one goal for her first year in junior...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Posted.png
From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kat Richardson isn’t running away from grief; she’s just hiding...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wonder of Us
Riya and Abby are: Best friends. Complete opposites. Living...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Slope Rules
Fifteen-year old Cally accepted her fate as one of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex, Approximately
In this delightfully charming...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
31618483.jpg
A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Maybe, just maybe, if I can convince Dad that I’m...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)