Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Reader reviewed by Grace

Of Mice & Men is the story of George and Lennie, two migrant workers wandering in California. George is a small but caring man, who is left to take care of Lennie when his aunt dies. Lennie is a large man with the mind of a child and likes to pet soft, pretty things. When Lennie scares a girl by touching her dress, he and George run away and find jobs at a ranch. George constantly complains about having no freedom because of Lennie, but deep down he always takes care of Lennie and wants the best for him. They have a dream of owning a farm someday, but when the inevitable happens, it is George's moral responsibilty to do what he has to do.

I had to read this book for English class, and it's actually a very good book. The best part of it was the ending, which was very sad and kind of depressing, but eventually you will understand why George had to do what he did. There are many complex themes and foreshadowing in this book, and Steinbeck did a good job showing them. I think teens will find Steinback's narration of the story boring,the way I did, but really love the plot.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 19, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

The ending is really sad :'(

Reader reviewed by Grace

Of Mice & Men is the story of George and Lennie, two migrant workers wandering in California. George is a small but caring man, who is left to take care of Lennie when his aunt dies. Lennie is a large man with the mind of a child and likes to pet soft, pretty things. When Lennie scares a girl by touching her dress, he and George run away and find jobs at a ranch. George constantly complains about having no freedom because of Lennie, but deep down he always takes care of Lennie and wants the best for him. They have a dream of owning a farm someday, but when the inevitable happens, it is George's moral responsibilty to do what he has to do.

I had to read this book for English class, and it's actually a very good book. The best part of it was the ending, which was very sad and kind of depressing, but eventually you will understand why George had to do what he did. There are many complex themes and foreshadowing in this book, and Steinbeck did a good job showing them. I think teens will find Steinback's narration of the story boring,the way I did, but really love the plot.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Ivy Written by Ivy
April 11, 2012
Yes, the ending was sad, but it was such a good ending!
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)