Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

The ending is really sad :'(

Reader reviewed by Grace

Of Mice & Men is the story of George and Lennie, two migrant workers wandering in California. George is a small but caring man, who is left to take care of Lennie when his aunt dies. Lennie is a large man with the mind of a child and likes to pet soft, pretty things. When Lennie scares a girl by touching her dress, he and George run away and find jobs at a ranch. George constantly complains about having no freedom because of Lennie, but deep down he always takes care of Lennie and wants the best for him. They have a dream of owning a farm someday, but when the inevitable happens, it is George's moral responsibilty to do what he has to do.

I had to read this book for English class, and it's actually a very good book. The best part of it was the ending, which was very sad and kind of depressing, but eventually you will understand why George had to do what he did. There are many complex themes and foreshadowing in this book, and Steinbeck did a good job showing them. I think teens will find Steinback's narration of the story boring,the way I did, but really love the plot.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Ivy Written by Ivy
April 11, 2012
Yes, the ending was sad, but it was such a good ending!
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Ninja Bunny: Sister vs. Brother
A hilarious new Ninja Bunny adventure featuring a humongous carrot,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Lost and The Found
Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons from Mars
For fans of Dragons Love Tacos comes a fun, silly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Grandparents Love Me
From the illustrator of I Love Dad and I Love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Be the Change: A Grandfather Gandhi Story
In this breathtaking companion to the award-winning Grandfather Gandhi, Arun...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Five-Minute True Stories: Animal BFFs
Joker the dog loves to dive in and swim with...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Applesauce Weather
When the first apple falls from the tree, Faith and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Killer In Me
Hasn't he lived long enough? Why not? I could take...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The domed city of Evanescence is in ruins. With nowhere...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“It’s dark magic brings him back.” ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
Travel to the colorful and chaotic streets of India from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreams
Moving on is the hardest thing she’ll ever have to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller...
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Piper and Ash's story concludes in the fifth and final...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Piper is feeling a bit overwhelmed. With Seiya and Lyre...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
2015 Goodreads Choice Awards - Nominee in Best Fantasy ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)