Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
"I'm a bad ass. A bad ass who bakes when he's depressed." Kaleb Ballard

I've been trying to put into words exactly how I feel about this book and honestly, to say, "I LOVED.THIS.SO.HARD" just doesn't seem like enough. This has been one of my MOST ANTICIPATED reads of 2012 and when I found out it would be told from Kaleb's POV? I wasn't sure my heart would be able to take it. That snarky, bad boy from The Hourglass who bakes when he's depressed had me before he finished tying the strings on his apron that says, "Kiss The Cook"! *fans face*

Timepiece picks up where Hourglass left off with the evil Jack Landers on the run and taking people's memories with him when goes. Michael and Em are still lighting stuff up when they touch and Kaleb is back to working his magic with the ladies, leaving his trademark trail of broken hearts behind him.

Things are far from normal though and in the middle of night of fun, a new enemy slips in with a warning. If Jack isn't caught soon, time as they know it could be changed resulting in devastating consequences for the future. The Hourglass recruits will have to pool their unique abilities in order to find Jack and the information he's stolen but will it be enough? Will they be able to catch him before it's too late?

When the recruits' search comes to a standstill they call for backup. Enter Lilly. (Girlfriend needs her own theme song, like how Darth Vadar has his entrance music.)

It's no secret that Em's BFF, is made of pure awesomesaucilitasauce but she has a power all her own. She is one hot tamale and when she joins forces with the other recruits, it's as if a tiny storm cloud has swept through taking our boy Kaleb's ability to think straight with it. She makes it abundantly clear she is not on Team Kaleb nor will she put up with his bad boy behavior. Lilly also doesn't let him wallow in his empathetic ability and when things get bad and his natural inclination is to run, she makes him face his demons head on. She makes him see that he is good. (We love her for this!) This feisty little Cubano is exactly what our resident badass baker boy needs.

As the search for Jack intensifies, so does the friction between Kaleb and Lilly and pretty soon, Em and Michael aren't the only ones setting off sparks. *fans face* Old threats, new enemies and possible allies emerge but it's hard to tell who can really be trusted. With so many things out of whack, The Hourglass has to look within itself for some answers. Nate and Dune try to school the others on the science of time travel that had me laughing so hard I snorted! Raise ya hand if you wanna enroll at The Hourglass and major in a certain "ology"? *RAISES HAND* *giggles*

This book is so full of awesome and for a sophomore attempt, Myra hits it out of the park! The twists and turns left me on the edge of my seat with my heart in my throat. I thoroughly enjoyed Kaleb's voice and while I always love his snark, there are moments where his tenderness is so touching, it broke my heart and left me a useless puddle of tears and snot. *sniff*

Just when I thought I figured how it would end, Myra threw a curve ball that made me gasp, "Hells Bells!" but was the perfect segue into the next book. GENIUS! It does leave me wondering though, if Hourglass was told from Em's POV, and this was Kaleb's, will the next book will be told from someone else's POV? Say...Michael? If so, HOW COOL would THAT be? ;D
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor April 28, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Timepiece had me laughing, crying, gasping, and CLUTCHING MY CHEST!

"I'm a bad ass. A bad ass who bakes when he's depressed." Kaleb Ballard

I've been trying to put into words exactly how I feel about this book and honestly, to say, "I LOVED.THIS.SO.HARD" just doesn't seem like enough. This has been one of my MOST ANTICIPATED reads of 2012 and when I found out it would be told from Kaleb's POV? I wasn't sure my heart would be able to take it. That snarky, bad boy from The Hourglass who bakes when he's depressed had me before he finished tying the strings on his apron that says, "Kiss The Cook"! *fans face*

Timepiece picks up where Hourglass left off with the evil Jack Landers on the run and taking people's memories with him when goes. Michael and Em are still lighting stuff up when they touch and Kaleb is back to working his magic with the ladies, leaving his trademark trail of broken hearts behind him.

Things are far from normal though and in the middle of night of fun, a new enemy slips in with a warning. If Jack isn't caught soon, time as they know it could be changed resulting in devastating consequences for the future. The Hourglass recruits will have to pool their unique abilities in order to find Jack and the information he's stolen but will it be enough? Will they be able to catch him before it's too late?

When the recruits' search comes to a standstill they call for backup. Enter Lilly. (Girlfriend needs her own theme song, like how Darth Vadar has his entrance music.)

It's no secret that Em's BFF, is made of pure awesomesaucilitasauce but she has a power all her own. She is one hot tamale and when she joins forces with the other recruits, it's as if a tiny storm cloud has swept through taking our boy Kaleb's ability to think straight with it. She makes it abundantly clear she is not on Team Kaleb nor will she put up with his bad boy behavior. Lilly also doesn't let him wallow in his empathetic ability and when things get bad and his natural inclination is to run, she makes him face his demons head on. She makes him see that he is good. (We love her for this!) This feisty little Cubano is exactly what our resident badass baker boy needs.

As the search for Jack intensifies, so does the friction between Kaleb and Lilly and pretty soon, Em and Michael aren't the only ones setting off sparks. *fans face* Old threats, new enemies and possible allies emerge but it's hard to tell who can really be trusted. With so many things out of whack, The Hourglass has to look within itself for some answers. Nate and Dune try to school the others on the science of time travel that had me laughing so hard I snorted! Raise ya hand if you wanna enroll at The Hourglass and major in a certain "ology"? *RAISES HAND* *giggles*

This book is so full of awesome and for a sophomore attempt, Myra hits it out of the park! The twists and turns left me on the edge of my seat with my heart in my throat. I thoroughly enjoyed Kaleb's voice and while I always love his snark, there are moments where his tenderness is so touching, it broke my heart and left me a useless puddle of tears and snot. *sniff*

Just when I thought I figured how it would end, Myra threw a curve ball that made me gasp, "Hells Bells!" but was the perfect segue into the next book. GENIUS! It does leave me wondering though, if Hourglass was told from Em's POV, and this was Kaleb's, will the next book will be told from someone else's POV? Say...Michael? If so, HOW COOL would THAT be? ;D

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Claire Johnson, Editor Written by Claire Johnson, Editor
May 01, 2012
That Nate and Dune part was one of my all-time favorite parts of any book, EVER. :)
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)