Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Complete Package

Kaleb Ballard flirts, drinks, and self-destructs his way through life, and who could blame him? His mother is in a coma, thanks to Jack Landers, his father recently came back from the dead, but their relationship is strained, and if Kaleb doesn't do something to dull his empathetic abilities, he gets an unending stream of everyone's most private emotions running straight into his brain.

But when Jack returns and the damage to the space-time continuum grows, a mysterious (and dangerous) organization threatens the Hourglass teens with unthinkable consequences if they can't find Jack and make things right. Kaleb chooses to step up to the plate.

I can't give away any other details without spoilers because this plot is a tightly woven gem full of twists and the kind of surprises that leave you gasping for breath as you frantically turn the page to see what happens next. I was kept on the edge of my seat the entire time.

The character and emotional arcs are just as polished and lovely as the plot. I love, love, LOVE Kaleb's voice. I mean love like ... maybe I'd even trade every pair of stilettos I own just for the chance to have lunch with him. The journey past the flirty Kaleb and deep into the damaged, self-destructive Kaleb is riveting, and I found myself cheering him on because I really wanted him to get his happily ever after.

The worldbuilding and setting are just as suberbly handled in TIMEPIECE as they were in HOURGLASS. I felt like I was living inside the story, and I appreciate that the physics Myra uses to support her time travel abilities is based on real science. I bought the premise of this book from the very first word.

TIMEPIECE is a heart-pounding thrill ride full of humor, emotional insight, and a heaping dose of heart. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer Written by Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer
April 30, 2012
I totally agree with you. TIMEPIECE feels real and I instantly felt a part of the story.
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)