Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Kaleb Ballard flirts, drinks, and self-destructs his way through life, and who could blame him? His mother is in a coma, thanks to Jack Landers, his father recently came back from the dead, but their relationship is strained, and if Kaleb doesn't do something to dull his empathetic abilities, he gets an unending stream of everyone's most private emotions running straight into his brain.

But when Jack returns and the damage to the space-time continuum grows, a mysterious (and dangerous) organization threatens the Hourglass teens with unthinkable consequences if they can't find Jack and make things right. Kaleb chooses to step up to the plate.

I can't give away any other details without spoilers because this plot is a tightly woven gem full of twists and the kind of surprises that leave you gasping for breath as you frantically turn the page to see what happens next. I was kept on the edge of my seat the entire time.

The character and emotional arcs are just as polished and lovely as the plot. I love, love, LOVE Kaleb's voice. I mean love like ... maybe I'd even trade every pair of stilettos I own just for the chance to have lunch with him. The journey past the flirty Kaleb and deep into the damaged, self-destructive Kaleb is riveting, and I found myself cheering him on because I really wanted him to get his happily ever after.

The worldbuilding and setting are just as suberbly handled in TIMEPIECE as they were in HOURGLASS. I felt like I was living inside the story, and I appreciate that the physics Myra uses to support her time travel abilities is based on real science. I bought the premise of this book from the very first word.

TIMEPIECE is a heart-pounding thrill ride full of humor, emotional insight, and a heaping dose of heart. I highly recommend it.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Complete Package

Kaleb Ballard flirts, drinks, and self-destructs his way through life, and who could blame him? His mother is in a coma, thanks to Jack Landers, his father recently came back from the dead, but their relationship is strained, and if Kaleb doesn't do something to dull his empathetic abilities, he gets an unending stream of everyone's most private emotions running straight into his brain.

But when Jack returns and the damage to the space-time continuum grows, a mysterious (and dangerous) organization threatens the Hourglass teens with unthinkable consequences if they can't find Jack and make things right. Kaleb chooses to step up to the plate.

I can't give away any other details without spoilers because this plot is a tightly woven gem full of twists and the kind of surprises that leave you gasping for breath as you frantically turn the page to see what happens next. I was kept on the edge of my seat the entire time.

The character and emotional arcs are just as polished and lovely as the plot. I love, love, LOVE Kaleb's voice. I mean love like ... maybe I'd even trade every pair of stilettos I own just for the chance to have lunch with him. The journey past the flirty Kaleb and deep into the damaged, self-destructive Kaleb is riveting, and I found myself cheering him on because I really wanted him to get his happily ever after.

The worldbuilding and setting are just as suberbly handled in TIMEPIECE as they were in HOURGLASS. I felt like I was living inside the story, and I appreciate that the physics Myra uses to support her time travel abilities is based on real science. I bought the premise of this book from the very first word.

TIMEPIECE is a heart-pounding thrill ride full of humor, emotional insight, and a heaping dose of heart. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Claire Johnson, Editor Written by Claire Johnson, Editor
April 30, 2012
I totally agree with you. TIMEPIECE feels real and I instantly felt a part of the story.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)