Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Kaleb Ballard flirts, drinks, and self-destructs his way through life, and who could blame him? His mother is in a coma, thanks to Jack Landers, his father recently came back from the dead, but their relationship is strained, and if Kaleb doesn't do something to dull his empathetic abilities, he gets an unending stream of everyone's most private emotions running straight into his brain.

But when Jack returns and the damage to the space-time continuum grows, a mysterious (and dangerous) organization threatens the Hourglass teens with unthinkable consequences if they can't find Jack and make things right. Kaleb chooses to step up to the plate.

I can't give away any other details without spoilers because this plot is a tightly woven gem full of twists and the kind of surprises that leave you gasping for breath as you frantically turn the page to see what happens next. I was kept on the edge of my seat the entire time.

The character and emotional arcs are just as polished and lovely as the plot. I love, love, LOVE Kaleb's voice. I mean love like ... maybe I'd even trade every pair of stilettos I own just for the chance to have lunch with him. The journey past the flirty Kaleb and deep into the damaged, self-destructive Kaleb is riveting, and I found myself cheering him on because I really wanted him to get his happily ever after.

The worldbuilding and setting are just as suberbly handled in TIMEPIECE as they were in HOURGLASS. I felt like I was living inside the story, and I appreciate that the physics Myra uses to support her time travel abilities is based on real science. I bought the premise of this book from the very first word.

TIMEPIECE is a heart-pounding thrill ride full of humor, emotional insight, and a heaping dose of heart. I highly recommend it.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Complete Package

Kaleb Ballard flirts, drinks, and self-destructs his way through life, and who could blame him? His mother is in a coma, thanks to Jack Landers, his father recently came back from the dead, but their relationship is strained, and if Kaleb doesn't do something to dull his empathetic abilities, he gets an unending stream of everyone's most private emotions running straight into his brain.

But when Jack returns and the damage to the space-time continuum grows, a mysterious (and dangerous) organization threatens the Hourglass teens with unthinkable consequences if they can't find Jack and make things right. Kaleb chooses to step up to the plate.

I can't give away any other details without spoilers because this plot is a tightly woven gem full of twists and the kind of surprises that leave you gasping for breath as you frantically turn the page to see what happens next. I was kept on the edge of my seat the entire time.

The character and emotional arcs are just as polished and lovely as the plot. I love, love, LOVE Kaleb's voice. I mean love like ... maybe I'd even trade every pair of stilettos I own just for the chance to have lunch with him. The journey past the flirty Kaleb and deep into the damaged, self-destructive Kaleb is riveting, and I found myself cheering him on because I really wanted him to get his happily ever after.

The worldbuilding and setting are just as suberbly handled in TIMEPIECE as they were in HOURGLASS. I felt like I was living inside the story, and I appreciate that the physics Myra uses to support her time travel abilities is based on real science. I bought the premise of this book from the very first word.

TIMEPIECE is a heart-pounding thrill ride full of humor, emotional insight, and a heaping dose of heart. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer Written by Claire Johnson, Staff Reviewer
April 30, 2012
I totally agree with you. TIMEPIECE feels real and I instantly felt a part of the story.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!     When high school senior Kelsey’s identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn’t know about the trag ...

  • Giveaway: Damage Done by Amanda Panitch (US & Canada Only)

    DAMAGE DONE by Amanda Panitch Release Date: 7/21/2015     About the Book Family can be a real killer. DAMAGE DONE is a gripping YA debut about a girl trying to escape the past. In this deliciously disturbing, heart-in-your-throat psychological thriller, the tru ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

      Column by Maurene Goo   Maybe it’s because Comic Con is around the corner, or just the general languor that settles in when it’s hot—but summer always makes me want to crack into a good graphic novel and just completely escape. So here ar ...

  • Giveaway: 5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O'Shea (US & Canada Only)

    5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O’Shea Release Date: 10/07/2015   About the Book They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds of Summer are more than just another boy band. Like ...

  • Giveaway: The Princess & the Pony by Kate Beaton (US Only)

    THE PRINCESS AND THE PONY by Kate Beaton In stores June 30th   About the Book Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse fit for a WARRIOR PRINCESS! But when the day arrives, she doesn't quite get the ...

  • Giveaway: The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson (US Only)

    The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson   Release Date: 6/30/15   About the Book Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from Brooklyn by their mother after she can no longe ...

  • Giveaway: Siren's Fury by Mary Weber (US Only)

    Siren’s Fury by Mary Weber Release Date: June 2, 2015   About the Book “I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But it’s no use. The curse I’ve spent my entire life abhorring—the thing I trained so hard to control—no ...

  • Giveaway: Paperweight by Meg Haston (US Only)

    PAPERWEIGHT by Meg Haston   Release Date: July 7, 2015   About the Book In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss. Seventeen-ye ...

  • Giveaway: Wanted Series by Erin Johnson (US Only)

    About the Books   WANTED: Grace and the Guiltless (Book 1) by Erin Johnson Release Date: August 1, 2014 As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride. Set in the Wild West, the book pigg ...

  • Giveaway: Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles (US & Canada Only)

    Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles Release Date: October 1, 2015     About the Book Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II, our modern technologies never evolved, and the Nazi ...

  • Giveaway: Alive by Chandler Baker (US Only)

    ALIVE   by Chandler Baker Release Date: June 9, 2015     About the Book Stella Cross's heart is poisoned. After years on the transplant waiting list, she's running out of hope that she'll ever see her eighteenth birthday. Then, miraculously, Stella re ...

  • Giveaway: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia (US & Canada Only)

    Made You Up by Francesca Zappia Release Date: May 19, 2015     About the Book Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to t ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
The first book in an epic new series for fans of The School for Good and Evil and The Land...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Paper in the Wind is a compassionate and riveting story depicting a single father’s dedication to his daughter. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. “You could almost imagine everything was like...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. With their own water and power supplies, fourteen...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Zane is not that interested in the Gollywhopper Games. He'd rather play football and is sure that he's headed straight...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chock-full of puzzles, riddles, and challenges for the reader to solve along with the main characters, this fast-paced companion to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
On his twelfth birthday, Archie Greene receives a mysterious package containing an ancient book in a language he doesn't recognize....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The life of Australian teen Gerald Wilkins changed forever when he inherited twenty billion pounds and a mystery to solve....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It's only been a month since Gerald Wilkins became the richest kid on earth and uncovered a plot of murder...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gerald Wilkins never considered himself a particularly exceptional thirteen-year-old. But that was before he inherited twenty billion pounds, a Caribbean...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Brendan Buckley is headed to middle school on a whole new adventure. When his alternative energy idea gets him paired...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Bobbie's hilariously bumbling efforts to save her brother's Christmas actually land him on Santa's Naughty List, she must travel...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Rory Rooney likes to be prepared for anything. That sort of planning pays off when you’re the smallest kid in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kid genius Kevin Brewer and his friends must defend Earth from an invasion of vengeful aliens in the second installment...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Aliens Attack! When science camp buddies Kevin, Warner, Tara, and TJ summon alien life to earth, they quickly find out...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It is 1895. Stan is on a mission to find his long-lost father in the logging camps of Michigan. And...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jimmy Bishop loves doing 3 things: 1) Laughing at funny dog videos online, 2) watching his favorite show (Stop! Police!)...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Keep calm and make it to prom night—without a legit panic attack. For seventeen-year-old Bree Hughes, it’s easier said than...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avatar meets The Terminator in this thrilling cyber-tech adventure. Crippled by muscular dystrophy, Adam spends his...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Narrated by an alternating unreliable group of teens, this dark thriller will have readers on the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)