Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Tree House Meets the White House

Jake and Annie are on a mission-- Teddy has put a spell on Merlin's penguin penny and needs Jack and Annie to break it by finding objects through history. They head out one morning before school and end up at the White House, where they need to meet with Lincoln. They meet two rowdy boys who say that they will introduce them to the president, but he ends up having to many meetings. Jack and Annie are sucked back into another place and meet a boy on a horse. Sam agrees to introduce them to Lincoln, but is injured at the mill. They take him back to his cabin and try to help him with his chores. When Sam's father comes home with a new stepmother and stepsiblings for Sam, he gives Jack and Annie a quill he uses for his school work. When the two travel back to the White House, Lincoln recognizes them as the children he met long ago, and Jack uses the quill to write an encouraging message to the president.
Strengths: This is a nice introduction to how hard Lincoln's boyhood was, and well as how busy he was as president.

Good Points
This is a nice introduction to how hard Lincoln's boyhood was, and well as how busy he was as president.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Melissa Written by Melissa
April 05, 2012
I enjoy how the author allows the reader to experience Abe Lincoln as the President as well as a child. If Jack and Annie had recognized him as a child or knew his siblings there would have been no story line. Most children who would be reading this book would not be familiar with Abe Lincoln's entire history, so I felt like it was a good introduction to who he was. I felt like it opened the door for conversation and curiosity for my 5 year old daughter.
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)