Review Detail

Jake and Annie are on a mission-- Teddy has put a spell on Merlin's penguin penny and needs Jack and Annie to break it by finding objects through history. They head out one morning before school and end up at the White House, where they need to meet with Lincoln. They meet two rowdy boys who say that they will introduce them to the president, but he ends up having to many meetings. Jack and Annie are sucked back into another place and meet a boy on a horse. Sam agrees to introduce them to Lincoln, but is injured at the mill. They take him back to his cabin and try to help him with his chores. When Sam's father comes home with a new stepmother and stepsiblings for Sam, he gives Jack and Annie a quill he uses for his school work. When the two travel back to the White House, Lincoln recognizes them as the children he met long ago, and Jack uses the quill to write an encouraging message to the president.
Strengths: This is a nice introduction to how hard Lincoln's boyhood was, and well as how busy he was as president.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Tree House Meets the White House

Jake and Annie are on a mission-- Teddy has put a spell on Merlin's penguin penny and needs Jack and Annie to break it by finding objects through history. They head out one morning before school and end up at the White House, where they need to meet with Lincoln. They meet two rowdy boys who say that they will introduce them to the president, but he ends up having to many meetings. Jack and Annie are sucked back into another place and meet a boy on a horse. Sam agrees to introduce them to Lincoln, but is injured at the mill. They take him back to his cabin and try to help him with his chores. When Sam's father comes home with a new stepmother and stepsiblings for Sam, he gives Jack and Annie a quill he uses for his school work. When the two travel back to the White House, Lincoln recognizes them as the children he met long ago, and Jack uses the quill to write an encouraging message to the president.
Strengths: This is a nice introduction to how hard Lincoln's boyhood was, and well as how busy he was as president.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Melissa Written by Melissa
April 05, 2012
I enjoy how the author allows the reader to experience Abe Lincoln as the President as well as a child. If Jack and Annie had recognized him as a child or knew his siblings there would have been no story line. Most children who would be reading this book would not be familiar with Abe Lincoln's entire history, so I felt like it was a good introduction to who he was. I felt like it opened the door for conversation and curiosity for my 5 year old daughter.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)