Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Superlunary Cinderella

After first hearing about this book from our school media specialists, I was intrigued. I had just finished The Grimm Legacy by Polly Shulman and Tales Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz and was looking for another "Fairy Tale" genre book. Cinder's plot line in parts is predictable,which allows the reader to make connections tonth characters. Cinder, cyborg and master mechanic, is a strong minded Cinderella. She has her evil stepmother, her legal guardian, and stepsisters.

However, Marissa Meyer adds her own twists. There are threats of plague haunting New Bejing and hundreds of people are dying. People are celebrating over a hundred years of peace after World War IV while trying to keep peace negotiations going with the ruler of Luna(the moon).

This book combines the romantic elements of the classic Cinderella tale, with the science fiction of Star Wars, and maybe a little bit of deception. It is a book I would recommend to all my middle school students, male and female alike. There is a little bit for everyone. A great read that keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Good Points
Strong heroine with some elements of a tragic hero.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

2 results - showing 1 - 2  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Megan Kelly Written by Megan Kelly
March 25, 2012
The cover of this book is so appealing! I'd love to check it out but may wait until closer to the second book's release date. I am already waiting for the next installment of so many other series!
Sasha Shamblen Written by Sasha Shamblen
May 03, 2013
Maybe Ill read it someday
2 results - showing 1 - 2  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Goose on a Farm
When Sophie and Goose go on a class trip to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears
Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)