Review Detail

 
Young Adult Nonfiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

sweeping universal contemplation on self, love and understanding

"The comfort of knowing"

The truth is, as interpreted in the poetic musings and documentations in David Levithan's verse novel, The Realm Of Possibility, the experience of comfort can never be actualized, but will be eternally desired and driven by the agonizing discomfort of the unknown; for there will always be discomfort in the infinite mass of the unknown as well as an ever-changing world determined never to be understood.

As despairing as that may sound, there is consolation in these revelations. Where Mr. Levithan truly shines is in how he beautifully articulates the uniform search within young people for a defining sense of self, identity and purpose. Yet, what is revealed through this collection of twenty disparate voices is not how small and insignificant each and every life is, but how far our very presence, just by our mere existence, will reach and inevitably deliver impact on others. Through the poetry, journal entries, songs and haiku of twenty individuals with several unifying themes, topics and emotions, the author discloses to the reader that even as we feel like we are completely alone and that no one notices, our words, our images, our actions and even inactions are endlessly consumed by those around us and will imminently have penetrating impact on the lives of others.

David Levithan has wholly captivated me emotionally, intellectually and creatively in this genre-bending novel that is, all at once, beautifully lyrical, stunningly engrossing, devastatingly haunting, eternally poignant and deeply resonate.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Megan Kelly Written by Megan Kelly
March 24, 2012
I agree with everything you say here. I loved this novel and read it in one sitting.
1 results - showing 1 - 1  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Temptation of Adam
 
4.3
"THE TEMPTATION OF ADAM focuses on Adam Hawthorne, a teen who has lost a lot. His mom and his older..."
Maybe In Paris
 
4.0
"Keira Braidwood's whole dream is to go to Paris. She's saved for this event and has images of the French..."
Timekeeper (Timekeeper #1)
 
4.7
"Tara Sim’s debut novel was a delightful, utterly unique tale with a steampunk twist. The story was magical, the characters..."
Love, Lucas
 
3.7
"LOVE, LUCAS by Chantele Sedgwick tells the story of Oakley Nelson in the time after she loses her best friend..."
Cheesus Was Here
 
5.0
"Delany's family has recently fallen apart. Her younger sister has recently passed away from cancer. Her father leaves town. Her..."
That Burning Summer
 
3.7
"Sixteen-year-old Peggy finds a young Polish airman named Henryk in July 1940 off the southern coast of England. Henryk..."
Black Flowers, White Lies
 
3.0
" Black Flowers, White Lies follows Ella as she struggles to accept her new family,..."
How to Make Out
 
3.7
"A fast-moving, thoroughly entertaining story about a teenage girl finding her way, making mistakes, and learning about life. Renley..."
Fear the Drowning Deep
 
5.0
"Bridey Corkill dreams of escaping her claustrophobic town next to the ocean. She’s hated the ocean since she was nine..."
Black Flowers, White Lies
 
3.0
"Ella Benton misses her father every day, even though he died when she was very young. She visits his grave..."
Fear the Drowning Deep
 
4.0
"Fear the Drowning Deep by Sarah Glenn Marsh is a captivating tale that plunges its readers into some of the..."
Avenging the Owl
 
4.3
"Avenging the Owl is a delightful story with an even more beautiful lesson for young readers. My first..."
Black Flowers, White Lies
 
4.0
" Ella still believes her dead father looks out for her. But her mother and BFF don't believe..."
Welcome to the Show: A Mickey Tussler Novel
 
3.0
"WELCOME TO THE SHOW by Frank Nappi is the third in the Mickey Tussler series featuring (you guessed it!) Mickey..."
Tone Deaf
 
4.3
"I have been hearing great things about this book from a few bloggers which made me both excited and intimidated..."
Liars and Losers Like Us
 
4.0
"What I Loved: If you’re a big fan of John Hughes films like The Breakfast Club and Pretty in Pink,..."
Wandering Wild
 
4.3
"I love when a book can show me a whole new world, and WANDERING WILD did just that with it’s..."
Roses: The Tales Trilogy, Book 1
 
4.3
"Rose Mannering has written a terrific retelling of BEAUTY AND THE BEAST that kept me flipping pages until I came..."
Wandering Wild
 
4.7
"What worked: Engaging glimpse into the life of Grifters mixed with forbidden love and hope. Sixteen-year-old Tal is a..."
The Taming of the Drew
 
4.0
""The Taming of the Drew" by Stephanie Kate Strohm is a quick, fun summer read. Cass, our lead character, has..."