Review Detail

 
Sign Language Featured
Young Adult Fiction
I wasn't sure what to expect when I first picked up 'Sign Language'. I thought it might be a bit too emotional for me to read, but Amy Ackley does an amazing job of adding just the right amount of emotion so that the reader doesn't feel like the book is "too" sad.

The book starts out when Abby is 12 and her father is ill. Abby's parents don't tell her the full truth as to why her dad is sick, but the reader can guess early on that he has cancer and it's not a good prognosis. As I watched Abby grow and mature, and sadly watch her father become sicker and sicker, I felt like I knew her life. I've never lost a close loved one to cancer, but I've lost loved ones and I've had to watch them slowly get worse. So, the part of the book where Abby is watching her dad become more sick and eventually pass away was heart wrenching.

Abby has an older brother, Josh, and an older half sister, Deanna. Josh still lives at home and is a typical teenage boy who doesn't really care about anyone else, however we get to see a softer side of Josh as his dad gets more sick. I loved that. Seeing Josh, a teenage boy, taking care of his father and giving of himself was such a wonderful thing to read. After their dad passes away, it was hard to read about how their mom struggles so hard and Josh and Abby are struggling, too. But, with the help of a few family members, mostly the three of them, and Spence, a neighbor and dear friend to Josh and Abby, they are able to come through as a stronger family.

Watching the relationship between Spence and Abby was so much fun. Abby is only 12 when the book starts and Spence is like an older brother to her. He spends lot of time with her and they hang out together, and the reader can immediately tell that he cares for her more than a friend. Watching Abby grow (the book ends when she is 17) and realize her true feelings for Spence throughout the book was satisfying. I absolutely loved their relationship and how they complimented each other so well.

This book is a must read. Absolutely heart breaking, yet heart warming at the same time and focuses so much on not only the loss of a parent, but the struggles of becoming a teenager. I cannot recommend this book enough and I'm looking forward to further books by this author!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Emotional read, but well worth it!

I wasn't sure what to expect when I first picked up 'Sign Language'. I thought it might be a bit too emotional for me to read, but Amy Ackley does an amazing job of adding just the right amount of emotion so that the reader doesn't feel like the book is "too" sad.

The book starts out when Abby is 12 and her father is ill. Abby's parents don't tell her the full truth as to why her dad is sick, but the reader can guess early on that he has cancer and it's not a good prognosis. As I watched Abby grow and mature, and sadly watch her father become sicker and sicker, I felt like I knew her life. I've never lost a close loved one to cancer, but I've lost loved ones and I've had to watch them slowly get worse. So, the part of the book where Abby is watching her dad become more sick and eventually pass away was heart wrenching.

Abby has an older brother, Josh, and an older half sister, Deanna. Josh still lives at home and is a typical teenage boy who doesn't really care about anyone else, however we get to see a softer side of Josh as his dad gets more sick. I loved that. Seeing Josh, a teenage boy, taking care of his father and giving of himself was such a wonderful thing to read. After their dad passes away, it was hard to read about how their mom struggles so hard and Josh and Abby are struggling, too. But, with the help of a few family members, mostly the three of them, and Spence, a neighbor and dear friend to Josh and Abby, they are able to come through as a stronger family.

Watching the relationship between Spence and Abby was so much fun. Abby is only 12 when the book starts and Spence is like an older brother to her. He spends lot of time with her and they hang out together, and the reader can immediately tell that he cares for her more than a friend. Watching Abby grow (the book ends when she is 17) and realize her true feelings for Spence throughout the book was satisfying. I absolutely loved their relationship and how they complimented each other so well.

This book is a must read. Absolutely heart breaking, yet heart warming at the same time and focuses so much on not only the loss of a parent, but the struggles of becoming a teenager. I cannot recommend this book enough and I'm looking forward to further books by this author!

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
Amy Ackley Written by Amy Ackley
February 02, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
1 results - showing 1 - 1
 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)